We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Falfield
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Overnight Stay”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Had an overnight stay a few weeks ago and found the hotel to be very good. the bedroom was lovely and very clean and the hospitality tray adequately stocked. The bed was also very comfortable. The bathroom could probably benefit from an update but I understand this is in the process of being attended to. We had breakfast in the morning and it was lovely - and hot! All in all I think it was very good value for money and we would definitely stay in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank sheenawm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time out to write a review. We of course are delighted that your stay with us met all your requirements and your positive comments regarding the staff and breakfast in particular are much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    256
    105
    29
    18
See reviews for
99
336
19
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed overnight at The Gable and initial thoughts were what a nice hotel. The room was spacious and comfortable, then you find there's no sugar, two milk cartoons and only one hot chocolate - plenty of coffee and tea. The reception gave extra supplies when requested and a welcomed fan as no air conditioning. My wife smokes and she was forced to indulge in her habit well away from the hotel entrance - not very happy in the rain. The menu at dinner was good, as was the food, but again let down by the poor service. The same can be said for breakfast, and having expressed our concerns and received an apology, the receptionist then presented me with a bill - for another room. Quick apology again and on our way to Cheddar Gorge.
We would return thinking small errors occur, but the smoking exclusion zone needs a rethink.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road are noisy, but our room 212 was conveniently at the top of the stairs close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review because comments from our customers and guests whether they are positive or negative are very important to us and can highlight weaknesses in our team, service or quality that we can then address and work on for the future.
We will certainly be working on the shortcomings you have highlighted and hope that you will visit us again in the future to see the improvements we are making.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Hotel was ideally located just off the M5. We booked with a special offer in a magazine. Good location for visiting Berkeley Castle and Slimbridge. Room was spacious and clean but the bathroom needed updating. We understand they are in the process of this. Staff were very friendly and food was good. Overall we enjoyed the weekend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Many thanks for the feedback following your recent stay with us. We are pleased you found the location convenient for both the M5 and the places you were visiting and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We found an amazing deal and stayed one night to break our journey to Devon. Our twin room was clean and tidy as was the bathroom/shower. We thought the room a little dated but we were only there for one night and as I said a good deal. The beds were comfortable and as it was a warm night we opened the window (no air con) only to hear the traffic on the A38 (room faced the road). We shut the window and survived. The breakfast next morning was excellent and such a choice. Staff all very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the A38
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank SandraRuth55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Many thanks for posting a review following your recent stay with us. We are so pleased that you found everything clean, comfortable and to your satisfaction. Thank you also for the kind comments regarding the breakfast and the friendly helpful staff. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

we chose the gables for our wedding reception because of the amazing deals they had going, but it was money well spent, the staff were very attentive to everyone, nothing was too much trouble. the food was great, and the rooms were comfortable after the party finished. the function room looked fantastic with its low lighting and romantic atmosphere. I couldn't fault this place if I tried, thanks very much for making our day that much easier. rich and katie

Room Tip: the higher priced rooms have hot tub baths, and four poster beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbrisland1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for the lovely review and the 5 star rating you have given us. Despite the appalling weather when you arrived we were all so pleased that things brightened up later for your special day. It was a pleasure to look after you and your guests and we wish you every happiness for your future together.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We recently stayed at the Best Western Gables Hotel at Falfield as we had reason to be in Bristol for the weekend and having obtained a good deal at this hotel, it was only a few miles back into Bristol centre. We enjoyed our stay overall I suppose. Obviously not the hotels fault but it was very hot at the time and with no air-con or fan in the room and with windows that would only open a fraction it made for a sticky night's sleep. You also have to bear in mind the hotels proximity to the main A38 road and it could get a bit noisy with the window open if you sleep lightly.

The hotel room was the normal fairly standard fair - forgettable after a while. It looked like so many other hotel rooms and lacked any individuality. It was clean and tidy with plenty of power points, a hairdryer, a large wardrobe area, luggage rack, tea/coffee making facilities, clock, TV and 2 chairs. There was no fridge in the room. Free Wi-Fi was included. In the bathroom, soap/shower gel/shampoo was provided.

All the staff we came into contact with were welcoming and courteous and we had no complaints there at all.

We stayed on a deal that included the overnight stay, an evening meal and breakfast for two the following morning. Upon arrival we were also given a voucher allowing us to stay again at the same rate on another occasion and we are highly likely to take up this offer.

Our stay was alright. The evening meal was alright and the breakfast buffet was alright. The restaurant was reasonably priced and the prices of drinks struck me as pretty good too. Here lays the small problem though as it was just alright and nothing was exceptional. You have to take into account the very good value you get for your money at this hotel. We would be unlikely to pay any more though as I'm sure you could get better elsewhere for just slightly more money.

We will certainly stay here again but only at the right price or on a good deal. It will be far more welcoming when it is cold outside and lovely and warm inside. A fan in the room would be a nice addition for the summer months.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us here at The Gables. All feedback is shared with the team members here at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future when we will certainly be trying to improve, taking on board the comments you have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falfield
1.1 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,450 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
406 reviews
3.9 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Alveston House Hotel
Alveston House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Alveston
350 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotton-under-Edge
144 reviews
9.8 mi away
Travelodge Stonehouse
Travelodge Stonehouse
#2 of 2 in Stonehouse
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel

Property: Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
Address: Bristol Road, Falfield GL12 8DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Falfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Falfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western The Gables Hotel is situated in rural South Gloucestershire, just half a mile off junction 14 of the M5 and within easy reach of a host of attractions including Bristol, the Slimbridge Wildfowl Trust and Berkeley Castle. There are 46 well equipped comfortable bedrooms and a spacious Brasserie and Bar where you can enjoy a drink, snack, afternoon tea or meal at any time of day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Falfield
Falfield Best Western
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel Falfield, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing