We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Falfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The hotel was conveniently located close to the motorway. We were staying overnight for a wedding in Slimbridge and although we were unable to access the room at 12.00 when we arrived we were able to check in and the staff offered to keep our suitcase and put it in the room later that day. The room was adequate and breakfast buffet offering a range of options. There was a pleasant outside seating area.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are next to the main road although it is not particularly busy but it could be qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie_lonsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the many positive comments with regard to the staff and our breakfasts which we are delighted with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    244
    96
    28
    18
See reviews for
95
318
18
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Had an overnight stay a few weeks ago and found the hotel to be very good. the bedroom was lovely and very clean and the hospitality tray adequately stocked. The bed was also very comfortable. The bathroom could probably benefit from an update but I understand this is in the process of being attended to. We had breakfast in the morning and it was lovely - and hot! All in all I think it was very good value for money and we would definitely stay in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank sheenawm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time out to write a review. We of course are delighted that your stay with us met all your requirements and your positive comments regarding the staff and breakfast in particular are much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed overnight at The Gable and initial thoughts were what a nice hotel. The room was spacious and comfortable, then you find there's no sugar, two milk cartoons and only one hot chocolate - plenty of coffee and tea. The reception gave extra supplies when requested and a welcomed fan as no air conditioning. My wife smokes and she was forced to indulge in her habit well away from the hotel entrance - not very happy in the rain. The menu at dinner was good, as was the food, but again let down by the poor service. The same can be said for breakfast, and having expressed our concerns and received an apology, the receptionist then presented me with a bill - for another room. Quick apology again and on our way to Cheddar Gorge.
We would return thinking small errors occur, but the smoking exclusion zone needs a rethink.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road are noisy, but our room 212 was conveniently at the top of the stairs close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review because comments from our customers and guests whether they are positive or negative are very important to us and can highlight weaknesses in our team, service or quality that we can then address and work on for the future.
We will certainly be working on the shortcomings you have highlighted and hope that you will visit us again in the future to see the improvements we are making.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Hotel was ideally located just off the M5. We booked with a special offer in a magazine. Good location for visiting Berkeley Castle and Slimbridge. Room was spacious and clean but the bathroom needed updating. We understand they are in the process of this. Staff were very friendly and food was good. Overall we enjoyed the weekend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Many thanks for the feedback following your recent stay with us. We are pleased you found the location convenient for both the M5 and the places you were visiting and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We found an amazing deal and stayed one night to break our journey to Devon. Our twin room was clean and tidy as was the bathroom/shower. We thought the room a little dated but we were only there for one night and as I said a good deal. The beds were comfortable and as it was a warm night we opened the window (no air con) only to hear the traffic on the A38 (room faced the road). We shut the window and survived. The breakfast next morning was excellent and such a choice. Staff all very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the A38
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank SandraRuth55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Many thanks for posting a review following your recent stay with us. We are so pleased that you found everything clean, comfortable and to your satisfaction. Thank you also for the kind comments regarding the breakfast and the friendly helpful staff. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

we chose the gables for our wedding reception because of the amazing deals they had going, but it was money well spent, the staff were very attentive to everyone, nothing was too much trouble. the food was great, and the rooms were comfortable after the party finished. the function room looked fantastic with its low lighting and romantic atmosphere. I couldn't fault this place if I tried, thanks very much for making our day that much easier. rich and katie

Room Tip: the higher priced rooms have hot tub baths, and four poster beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rbrisland1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for the lovely review and the 5 star rating you have given us. Despite the appalling weather when you arrived we were all so pleased that things brightened up later for your special day. It was a pleasure to look after you and your guests and we wish you every happiness for your future together.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falfield
1.1 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
3.9 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol (Alveston) Hotel
10.8 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.9 mi away
Alveston House Hotel
Alveston House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Alveston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel
Address: Bristol Road, Falfield GL12 8DL, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Falfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Falfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western The Gables Hotel is situated in rural South Gloucestershire, just half a mile off junction 14 of the M5 and within easy reach of a host of attractions including Bristol, the Slimbridge Wildfowl Trust and Berkeley Castle. There are 46 well equipped comfortable bedrooms and a spacious Brasserie and Bar where you can enjoy a drink, snack, afternoon tea or meal at any time of day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HRS, Priceline, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Falfield
Falfield Best Western
BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel Falfield, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing