We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Camping Le Bois Coudrais is Fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Le Bois Coudrais

The Bakery
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Bakery
The bakery ground floor lounge/diner The Bakery double bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
The Bakery
The bakery ground floor lounge/diner
The Bakery double bedroom
The Bakery twin
The pool and gardens
Pool and campsite
All the gites
The cafe/pool terrace
The bar/cafe
Our animal enclosure
feeding time
Play area
Play area
new friends
One of our car rallies
The neighbours
Combourg, our nearest town
Medieval town of Dinan.
One of the beaches on the Emerald Coast
Pool, main house and gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Combourg, Ille-et-Vilaine, Brittany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris C
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Camping Le Bois Coudrais is Fantastic”
Reviewed 7 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

In the absence of a site specific for the camping, this is a review of the Camping at Le Bois Coudrais which is adjacent to the Gite's

This is the third time that we have visited Le Bois Coudrais.
Being close to St Malo we usually use this site as a stopover on our return to the UK after a month in the Vendee. This year we opted to spend 6 nights and explore the local area before returning home.
I am so glad we did. Claire and Philippe Ybert, the owners, are warm, friendly and very welcoming. Both work extremely hard in maintaining the high standards of the site. It is not common to see them cleaning and tidying the site in the early hours of the morning before most people are up and about. Their efforts are clearly demonstrated by the cleanliness of the Toilet/Shower Area and Washing Up areas on the site. Both areas can be very busy at peak times and occasionally a queue forms to use these facilities. This can be expected at peak times but generally speaking it does not cause a problem to the user. One minor point is the temperature of the water in the showers. When busy there is a tendency for the hot water to be luke warm. Moral of the story is to get in early to avoid the cooler shower. Personally I wasn’t too bothered about it as we tend to use the shower in our van at peak times or wait until things quieten down.
Pitches are adequate and will easily accommodate a caravan, awning and car. Pitch boundaries are separated by hedges and trees. There are no fully serviced pitches at this site but EHU’s are easily reached with the standard 25m power cable. Grey waste can be discharged into the hedges and there is a CDP located at the Toilet/Shower facilities. Clean water is not piped to individual pitches but is available at points around the site. Aqua Roll is essential.
There is a licensed bar in Reception and a small seating area outside. Meals can be ordered at reception and delivered to your pitch. Fresh bread can be ordered and collected from reception. Place your order the night before and it’s waiting for you the following morning. Got to say the Boulanger they use is fantastic. It’s the nicest bread we have eaten anywhere in France.
There is a swimming pool on-site, which is popular with adults and children alike. There are sun loungers and umbrellas around the pool so if you fancy a leisurely relax on site as opposed to a run out to the local beach you’ve got it.
The kids seem to enjoy collecting windfall apples from the tree outside reception and feeding them to the resident goats in their enclosure adjacent to the wooded camping area. Another source of amusement for the kids is the free range chickens that give you the occasional visit on your pitch.
I fail to find anything prejudicial to say about Le Bois Coudrais. It is a well-run child friendly site with a great customer focus. Ideally locate to explore the north east of Brittany and lower Normandy areas. “Would I return again? - Most certainly. In fact, subject to health and wealth, we’ve already booked for a longer stay next year.
A big thank you to Claire and Philippe. We really enjoyed our stay with you.
Regards
Chris

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FloraPost...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Family Holiday”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This is the second time we have stayed at Le Bois Coudrais, we were back by popular demand this year, and will be returning again next year. The children, and my husband and I, love it.

The campsite and gites are located near Cuguen, in the countryside. It is easy to find and the roads are good. The place is run by Claire and Philippe who are extremely friendly and helpful, and who work extremely hard to ensure the place is clean, welcoming, and that all requirements are provided for. They also have excellent local knowledge.

There is a link with a local boulangerie, so bread and croissants etc can be ordered each day and delivered freshly for breakfast the following morning.

There is a swimming pool which is the perfect size for lengths or just playing about in.

There are chickens and goats in a shady enclosure which the children love to feed and stroke.

The plots themselves are generous, some have electric hook ups and some don't, but all are within easy reach of the facilities, and it feels spacious.

If you have children, stay in "the field."

There is also a play area where the children can let off steam.

I really recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for the lovely review, looking forward to welcoming you again next year. Claire and Philippe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garycocs
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation, excellent value”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at Le Bois Coudrais, we would recommend it to all our friends. Clean, friendly staff, our daughter loved the animals. Great location.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
it-will-w...
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful week in the old bakery, the gite is compact but has everything you need. The pool was always well maintained and was checked by the owners on a regular basis. The campsite adjoining it was well maintained but these are set away from the gites. There was a lovely grass area where we could let our two young children play safely without worrying about them. Each gite had its own BBQ and outdoor seating area so you could chill out on an evening. The local towns had everything you needed and trips yo the coast are worth the effort. We loved the walled town of st malo and st luaire beach was beautiful. It was our first trip to france and we had such a wonderful time we are planning another trip for next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneBenLo...
Leek, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A perfect little place to stay”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A family of 3 - we stayed in the Bakery gite, it is small but has everything you need, double bedroom downstairs, twin beds in the 'loft' upstairs right under the roof. also on ground floor is small bathroom with shower, and the main kitchen / dining area with everything you need kitchen utensils etc. All very clean and with a lovely character to it. It's not sheer luxury, but it has a delightful charm and is a very comfortable place to stay. It has ample space for parking, a tiny fairly private garden area in-front of the bakery with table & chairs and a great BBQ which we cooked on every night and enjoyed the late evening sunshine. The shared facilities are perfect - especially the spotlessly clean and gorgeously warm pool! Great to have access to washing machine & dryer, and we loved having our fresh bakeries delivered every morning. The hosts were really lovely, very helpful, and the info available with ideas for walks, cycles rides on a big map on the wall was really useful. We were lucky with beautiful weather for our stay, and got out exploring the local area either by foot, bike or car every day - there is plenty to see and do in the locality within half hour drive. This was a real gem of a place to find, we loved our stay, and it is superb value for money, Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool
Liked least: the toilet! makes a fierce noise as it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy_Ande...
Lincoln, UK
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“An absolute gem”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the granary which sleeps 4 easily with a large living area down stairs. There was a good sized area outside the gite for bbq's and eating or enjoying the sun which we had plenty off! We definitely enjoyed the boulangerie delivering croissants and baguettes daily hence a good tally after 2 weeks. Claire and Philippe were always very friendly and their local knowledge was used regularly. The swimming pool was sed frequently and although unheated was great after a day in the sun. We also made good use of the cafe on site for ice creams, beer and the daily baked goodies! The kids made daily visits to feed the ducks, goats, geese and chickens althought the sheep seemed quite unfazed by the offer of bread. And on the way back we often spent time at the play area. The gite is in easy reach of dinard, dinan, mont st michel, st malo and countless beautiful beaches. We would strongly recommend this gite.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: What was not to like?
Liked least: The pillows! I am searching for something!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2013
Thank you for your kind review,
Just one thing, the pool heating switches on automatically when the water temperature drops below 27 degrees. With the wonderful summer we have had, the heating didn't need to top up that often.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie H
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful Family holiday location”
Reviewed 13 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We rented the four gites for one week and three for the second. They were all very clean and comfortable and well equiped. The pool was a great attraction for the youngsters, aged from 2 to 11. The owners Claire and Phillipe were most welcoming and helpful and enabled us to have a superb family celebration.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The French rural nature of the arrangemnet of the gites
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing