We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Paradiso dell'Etna
London
Level Contributor
112 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

Lovely hotel with bags of history, well run and friendly too!

Nice pool and small gardens.

Only downside is the distance away from town and other sights (apart from Mt Etna).

Decent restaurant too.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babylon1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    46
    16
    12
    6
See reviews for
26
39
4
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2009

I first went to Villa Paradiso Del Etna about 10 years ago and loved the charm, cleanliness, excellent service, really lovely food and the size of the hotel meant that there was a relaxed environment away from the maddening crowd. I loved it so much that when deciding where to spent my special birthday I of course chose the Villa Paradiso.
I was not disappointed - even down to the same charming restaurant manager. The Sicilian wines we tried were superb. A delight to be repeated I hope.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glentress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2008

We stayed 4 nights at Villa Paradiso while vacationing in Sicily.

The hotel is located in a rather insignificant and not very attractive town and on a main street, I would not advise to venture out side of the hotel’s gate with out a car. This hotel was a great base for our trips to the baroque city of Catania, Mt. Etna and the picturesque town of Taormina.

From what I understand the hotel is a renovated 1920’s villa and what a great restoration. The hotel is extremely charming with it’s pink stucco exterior that evokes an Old World feel. The gardens are enchanting with beautiful potted flowers and the small pool was a welcome sight for the hot days of Augusts.

Our room was rather small but elegantly furnished with period antiques and bright colored walls, all room have small balconies, ours had a view of the pool. The bathroom was ample size with sufficient amenities. My only complaint is that the rough bed linens and towels should be of a better quality for a 4 star hotel.

The buffet breakfast on the roof top terrace was satisfying with plenty of choices of juices, fruits, pastries and cereals. We also decided to have dinner at the villa one evening and the meal proved to be excellent but a bit pricey as expected with hotel dining. The dining room is elegant and romantic but dimmed lights would make the ambiance that much better.

I should add that the staff was very friendly and helpful even with the language barrier.

All in all I recommend this hotel to any one travelling to the area.


This review is the

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Linens, towels and the brightly lit dining room
  • Stayed August 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank seta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2008

We were staying here for a second time and again enjoyed our stay. The property is a charming Sicilian villa with views of Etna to the rear. There are pleasant gardens with palm trees and swimming pool. There are plenty of areas to sit in sun or shade. Great for relaxing or as a base for touring.

The hotel puts on a fair number of functions such as birthday parties and first communion celebrations but we did not generally find that these interfered with our comfort.

The hotel is tricky to find. There are several set of instructions on the web which are confusing. Coming from the airport, take tangenziale in direction of Messina/Taomina. Take the exit immediately after San Gregorio and immediately before the ALT station, which is labelled Paesi Etnei. You have to cross two lanes of traffic which are attempting to merge from the right. Follow the slip road and come to roundabout. At each roundabout , follow signs for Viagrande. You will pass Il Portali and Le Zagare commercial centres. Eventually reach roundabout with right fork to Acibonaccorsi but continue towards Viagrande. Hotel is 400 yards up from roundabout on the left. Be warned that Sicilian driving is very scary for UK drivers and priority at roundabouts is variable.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rogwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2007

We booked this hotel because it was listed in Frommer's Sicily guidebook as being close to the airport. What a joke. We arrived at the Catania airport late in the evening, our flight from Rome having been delayed and our luggage lost. (The luggage service at Catania airport said the next day "Your bag is probably here and it is probably not here." Later they said they had lost it. We went to the airport the next day, and it was sitting right there with about 10 other "lost" bags. Apparently the lady was not inclined to simply look at the name tags on ten bags.)

Anyway, it was about 10 p.m. when we started to find this hotel, using the directions that they provided us, which consisted of two sentences, one of which said "Follow the yellow signs to the hotel." Well, guess what, there were no yellow signs to the hotel. We drove around and around in circles looking for yellow signs, and there were none, at least none you could see at night. The area was totally shut down, no one on the street to ask. Our GPS unit was sending us in even more cicles. Finally we pulled into a self sevice, unattended gas station. By now it was 11 p.m. and the whole area was deserted. A guy pulled up in another car, and we asked him, in our faulty Italian, if he knew where the hotel was. He seemed to tell us he would go with us, and we declined. He clarified that we would follow him, so we did, following him down about 20 different winding roads, alleys, etc. until about 15 minutes later we arrived at the hotel. We would have NEVER found it without the help of this good Samaritan.

When we arrived at the hotel, we picked up their brochure. It had the same 2-sentence description that had been emailed to us. This is the EXACT description as Frommer's had - in other words, Frommer's did not verify that the hotel was close to the airport - it just accepted the faulty information provided by the hotel. On our way home, we chose a hotel that was INDEED close to the airport - 5 minutes away. It was a dump but at least it did not misrepresent its location.

The hotel was quite nice. The night we arrived late, we were kept up until 1 a.m., however, due to a 18th birthday party in the garden. We had jet lag and this was not a welcome thing. But the front desk staff was very nice, and we forgave this. The hotel itself is quite lovely and we would stay there again now that we know where it is!

  • Liked — Lovely old building and nice gardens
  • Disliked — Hard to find
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BookWriter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2006

A 3 star hotel at 5 star prices. We stayed in this hotel in August 2006 for 2 nights. originally the plan was to stay 4 nights.
Rooms: small, cheap furnishing, very small bathroom
Restaurant: Bad food for expensive prices, under flouresant lights, plastic tableware- Yes they have live Music
Breakfast- Absoulutely awful

Location: Hotel is in an very unattractive area, gardens are very small, YES it has a nice view of Etna as well as next doors gardens, plastic swimming pools

BE CAREFUL: Everysunday in August , there is a Disco in the garden, finishes at 3AM, impossible to sleep

Overall: AVIOD it at all cost

B.Balci

  • Liked — running away from it
  • Disliked — staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Dont go
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank balci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2006

My husband and I discovered this wonderful hotel on the outskirts of Catania, very aptly named Villa Paradiso dell’Etna, a beautiful retreat in the countryside at the foot of Mt. Etna. The hospitality is warm and genuine, what one comes to expect in Sicily. Each bedroom is charmingly unique and breakfast is served on its rooftop terrace, glass-enclosed and cheerful, with a stunning view of Mt. Etna. Its renowned restaurant, named “La Pigna” offers a creative cuisine based on traditional recipes.

It is about thirty minutes from Catania center, but we chose it knowing that we would enjoy a break from the cities and we were not disappointed. It makes a good base to explore the slopes of Mt. Etna, day trip to Catania or Taormina, or just to relax in the villa’s lovely gardens.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sempreingiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Giovanni la Punta
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Itria
Grand Hotel Villa Itria
#1 of 1 in Viagrande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
4.3 mi away
Airone City Hotel
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 50 in Catania
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
2.6 mi away
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel
#1 of 2 in San Giovanni la Punta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Villa Del Bosco Hotel
Villa Del Bosco Hotel
#16 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
4.1 mi away
4 Spa Resort Hotel
4 Spa Resort Hotel
#3 of 11 in Aci Castello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
40.9 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Paradiso dell'Etna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Paradiso dell'Etna

Property: Villa Paradiso dell'Etna
Address: Via Per Viagrande 37, 95037 San Giovanni la Punta, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > San Giovanni la Punta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in San Giovanni la Punta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Paradiso dell'Etna 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Paradiso dell'Etna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Paradiso Dell`Etna Hotel Catania
Hotel Paradiso Dell Etna
Paradiso Dell Etna Hotel
Villa Paradiso Dell'Etna Province Of Catania, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing