We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money, friendly staff, loud music 18 hr's a day, AC expensive”
Review of Lunamar Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Armutalan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lunamar Apartments
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Armutalan
Reviewed 23 September 2010

We booked our inclusive with Thomas Cook and all flights, transfers etc went very well. Pay the few bob extra for meals and full weight allowance if you can. The shopping is good in Marmaris and you will need the packing space on the way back. Lunamar was very good for the price we paid. It is 20 min from the beach and town but mini buses are frequent-thought for a family of 4 it does add up over 14 days. The reception staff (Habib in particular) are very good and curious. The Hotel Shop is expensive compared to the local supermarket. There is a brilliant supermarket down the hill close to bus terminus but it is hidden ask for BIM -it is below ground level and just behind the bus terminus but not easy to find. ask any local.

The room cleaning is the best I ever had including many 5 star hotels. The only negative comment is the ground were not as well maintained as it could be. The lawn next to the pool was long when we arrived and in two weeks it was not mowed. I have to mention I complained twice with no avail. If you like loud club music from 10h00-24h00 then you will love it, The music is so loud that you can't shut it out even with closed windows and doors. We adapted quickly and either attended the bar area or went out till 24h00.

If budget is a concern we had just £700 cash for 4 of us (2 adults and 2 grown up teenagers) for 14 days and we managed. We ate out 7 times for no more than TL50 for the family per meal including drinks -you must bargain hard but it is doable. The other meals we either had on boat excursions and we cooked a couple of times. Included in the budget we did a Turkish Bath and Massage for TL20 pp. Don't do at Lunamar, they charge TL30-40, Visited to the Turtle Beach by luxury cruise liner, visited the Tombs and Mud Baths, did a day boat cruse, Evening Cruse, one whole day with the family at Aqua Adventures water park etc and £100 of shopping for both our girls each. It is cheap and you can't better it. You can buy your excursions much cheaper in town from a reputable broker that from Tomas Cook at the hotel. Again you must bargain and if necessary shop around.

Tip: Go to Kippa on the 1st day of arrival and buy a stand up fan for £15 (TL30). It will help sleeping at night. Temperatures were 38 -52 C during our stay (27 Aug - 10 Sept 2010) and remained about 40 at night. AC is expensive at £70 pw. Save the money and flog the fan to someone who arrive a day before you leave..or just bless someone by leaving it behind

The hill is really not so bad as many complain. I am 50 and my wife 47 and once a day is no problem. It is downhill to town/beach. Come back after dark when not so hot.

I don't rate the restaurants down the hill. For the same money you can eat in Millionaires lane in the habor front. If you like good Chinese, there is a Chinese Indian Cusuine Restaurant where you can eat as much as you like for TL15pp. There 20 different Chinese and Indian dishes. The Mini bus stop for it is Club Vega. About 2 mile from Lunamar on bus rout 2 to town. Don't miss this bargain!

Brand-name T-Shirts, jumpers, hoody's, swimming trunks, fake Brand watches, -bags , --designer glasses are available every were. As a yard stick you can get most things at 50% if you bargain hard and are prepared to walk to another stall if they turn you down. In the end you will get your bargain or will be called back with an acceptance of your offer.

If we have £3000-4000 for a holiday we will go back to Marmaris and book into a 5 star hotel. If not we will be back at Lunamar. Our holiday for four people, for 14 day in total was just £1800. GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY!

Regards

Peter

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2010

I booked this hotel based on all the rave reviews on tripadvisor and agree with some of them..... the hotel staff are all really friendly and helpful (Nicky particularly), the place is kept very clean and the apartments are spacious with 2 good pools.
However, the hotel is further out of town than suggested with a 20+ minute bus ride to get you to the beach. Not a major issue as such, as they are very cheap at 1.50L and run regularly until 01.00a.m. BUT you do have to face that hill each time you come back (although it's not really that bad!).
The biggest issue for me was the noise..... the bar had VERY LOUD music daily from mid-day to mid-night (thankfully law requires them to turn it off at mid-night). It gets to night club levels and is constant. All rooms are close to the pool/bar so you have no chance of getting away from it, even if you close all your doors. I was really surprised that this was not mentioned in previous reviews and wonder if it's something new?
Lunamar really reflects the Marmaris resort itself, it is loud and largely Anglofied. If you want home from home and enjoy loud music I would recommend you book here. If you want relaxation and authentic Turkey this is NOT the place for you.
Outside of the hotel, best place to eat - Le Kebab - it's in walking distance and we were the only tourists in the restaurant! Great excursion was the VIP Gulet - lovely day on the sea going to several lovely bays.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank max4004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

the lunamar is 1 of the best hotels i have stayed in. the staff are friendly and polite ,the food is as good as anywhere in marmaris, the only downside is the hill, some reviewers say its not that bad but believe me it is, i only walked up it once after that i got taxis, which arnt as cheap as they used to be, marmaris is not as cheap as it was, but still better value than spain, dalaman airport is charging anyone who has overwheight luggage four of us had no hand luggage and where 2 kilos over in our cases an had to pay 24 pounds, never had to pay before, so if you are going to the lunamar be prepared for the hill, the rest you will enjoy, great holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyphillips1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

we stayed at the lunamar last year it was great and we returned this year all 2gether there was 22 of us who all met last year. we were reconised by the staff straight away which is very nice. it was reachin 57 degrees which was very hot indeed but with it bein on a hill we had the breeze. i would nt recommend this hotel 4 the youngesters who want 2 party its really for familes and couples as it is a 5min bus ride into the town. do not eat at mustis its dreadful food i recommend the white lion u get the 3 bus get off at agua park cheap food great people there. and also violets which is in the square and they ave brown sauce which is a must 4 my boys only place that had it.if u go on trips c nicky in the shop on site but do not let hotel no as she will get into trouble do NOT book with thomas cook as they r a total ripOFF. i can honestly say we will be returnin 2 the lunamar and a special ty 2 micheal the head waiter and paul lopez and the other staff great time c u next year

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna_daveNed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

I have to say that i dont have one negative thing to say about lunamar...fair enough there is a hill going up2 it but its not to bad and u can get a taxi rite to the door if you wish...the cocktails were lovely (esp the lunamar special) and the local beer was great and the prices were very good. There is a highly recommended tatooest on site whos tatoos wer very good and the place was spotless and hygenic...there is also a salon, internet, spa and gift shop all reasonable priced.we missed most of the nite entertainment as wee took the wee bus into marmaris for food and drinks. this bus is cheap only 1.50lira and only takes 5minutes to the center of marmaris...our rooms at the lunamar were sooooo clean and big...and our bed was layed out with nice designs and flower petals...the staff are really friendly and repectful, if u dnt want to eat at the hotel u are not pestered or made to feel as though u have to. They make sure ur stay is enjoyable and look after their guests well. i will deffinatly be returning to the lunamar next year :) thanks

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paintld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

to who ever bad mouthed lunamar and its tattooist is hating because they didnt get their own way (spoilt) ive been here many times and not once have had anything to complain about my mum had a few tattoos from here and felt very relaxed and as for the tattoos they was beautiful ive had my belly button pierced and the level of hygene is outstanding. there are two main restaurants just outside lunamar one is musties which is well over priced for its quality and as for the second restaurant it should be closed down due to lack of hygene, trust me i should no as ive got food poisioning on two seperate occasions at carols and they wont accept any responsibility for it. as for lunamar the rooms are very clean the staff leaves your bed made with decorative flower petals. there is a wide range of food for everyone to eat at lunamar which is very fairly priced and is 5 star you also dont have to stay at lunamar to eat or drink so if your passing please drop in they will fill your tummy plus you dont feel your waiting hours on end for it. every one who works here is very respectful and incredably friendly the manerger is a diamond he goes out of his way on a daily bases to make your stay the best one you would ever have and will do anything to help you. the entertainment is blinding suitable for all ages e.g snake show, belly dancers, break dancers, turkish dancing, fire show, micheal jackson tribute, magic man and much more put it this way lunamar apartments is the place to be all year round !!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank w00dyw00dpecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Wow what an amazing holiday ...great apartments great food the staff are really helpful ...weve been to marmaris several times and will defo be coming back to the lunimar ... all of us (there were 8 ) had tattoos to remember our holiday much cheaper than back here in england...There are lots of places to eat around armutalan but for quality food and good prices we ate at the lunimar ...And they make wicked cocktails

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickyfunmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armutalan hotels
0.7 mi away
Kervansaray Marmaris
Kervansaray Marmaris
#6 of 27 in Armutalan
1,575 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cosmopolitan Resort Hotel
Cosmopolitan Resort Hotel
#8 of 27 in Armutalan
898 reviews
1.1 mi away
Club Atrium Apartments
Club Atrium Apartments
#1 of 27 in Armutalan
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Club Sunsmile
Club Sunsmile
#2 of 27 in Armutalan
597 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pineta Park Deluxe Hotel
Pineta Park Deluxe Hotel
#23 of 27 in Armutalan
1,909 reviews
0.6 mi away
Club Alpina Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lunamar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lunamar Apartments

Address: Sinan Mah. 52. Sok. No: 43, Armutalan 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Armutalan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Armutalan
Number of rooms: 70
Also Known As:
Lunamar Apartments Hotel Armutalan
Lunamar Apartments Hotel Marmaris
Lunamar Apartments Turkey/Armutalan
Lunamar Apartments Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing