We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely, friendly, comfortable hotel”
Review of Villa Paula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Paula
Ranked #2 of 9 Okrug Gornji B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely, friendly, comfortable hotel”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We turned up at around 11 on a Sunday morning. The accommodation we had booked elsewhere was totally inadequate. Initially we were just looking for breakfast, having not eaten a full meal for getting on for 24 hours, and having just walked for an hour and a half looking for somewhere to get something to eat. We were intending to carry on to look for alternative accommodation.
The staff at Villa Paula provided us with breakfast, despite it being way past breakfast time and were very welcoming and friendly.
As we related our tale of woe, we were told that they did have room and after a short discussion we decided to move our accommodation to Villa Paula.
We were driven the 5km back to the inadequate apartment we had booked and picked up our bags.
Our room was spacious, well appointed, had plenty of storage space, was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Our holiday was saved!
One of the reasons we have returned to Croatia (this was our 6th holiday there) is that the people are so welcoming and friendly. We were made to feel so at home at Villa Paula that we don't think they could have done anything more for us. The standard here is so high that they will be a tough act to follow.
The beach is about 5 minutes away; it is very handy for the frequent boat service to Trogir; it has its own restaurant which is fine, but it is only a few minutes walk to plenty of other restaurants.
For cat lovers there is a lovely, friendly hotel cat too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CWP1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    13
    3
    5
    5
See reviews for
21
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have been to this Hotel for three consecutive years now, something we have never done before. The owners and staff are genuine people who take great care of you and are extremely helpful. They are relaxed, which makes everything feel like home from home.
The Hotel is in a great location, an area not spoilt by tourism at all. It is spotlessly clean, with a lovely outside terrace, and pool.
The food is wonderful, and plentiful, freshly cooked and at a good price.
As a small family who like quieter, unspoilt places to holiday, this fits the bill perfectly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 502Cooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIGAN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Anna Marie made our stay perfect, she was very helpful and gave us a great visit. Food brilliant, we ate breakfast and dinner. Pool area great but the beach is only 5 minutes walk away. Rooms were spotless with air conditioning and free mossi killers supplied by the Hotel. No stairs though so a long walk up with bags. Free wifi and car parking. A little built up around the area.
Trogir is a short drive away and you can get a water taxi to Split from there, which is all worth doing. Get a walking tour at Split as you learn a lot about the history.

Room Tip: Great family owned Hotel were you are made to feel very welcome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spugyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunboyne, Ireland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Home away from home..The rooms are spotless.!The service is exquisite. Excellent attention to details .Breakfast is perfect. Try the Corn bread its fantastic.Location is great just a short drive from Trogir.
Sabina, the manger, gives guests the personal touch.Just great!!!Everything just tip top perfect!If ever back in the area this is the place we will stay!

Room Tip: A room with a view might be worth the extra charge (If such charge exists) .Having a glass of local...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Villa paula is situated only few minutes walking from the beach.the beach is very near and clean,and it is npt very busy.we spend few days in this villa and had wonderful stay,staff is very good and food in restaurant

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mirwla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We have just come back from our first holiday in Croatia and will definitely be going back. The Villa Paula is very well positioned being close to the sea where there are plenty of nice places to swim and relax. It is a five minute walk to the water taxi (Trogir is beautiful!), to bars and nice restaurants. It is very well placed to visit the other side of the island so if you like quiet, secluded little coves for fantastic swimming just take a fifteen minute walk over the hill. It's stunning and the reason I'll be going back.

One of the best things about the hotel was Ann Marie! She works extremely hard but not only that she is very friendly and helpful too. She speaks excellent English, is very knowledgeable and will advise you if asked. We will be returning!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amandacorbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Me and my Boyfriend (age 23 & 21) Just came back from staying at Vila Paula for 5 nights. It was a fantastic holiday!
The staff at the hotel were very helpful and down to earth, in particular a girl who worked there (i think she was called ann marie :-))

The hotel was very clean and well decorated. Towels changed every day, beds made etc.
We had a good size balcony and we had a great view of the mountains surrounding the bay
Breakfast had a good selection. I think it was a swedish breakfast not english.

The hotel has everything in close proximity,
10min walk to a lovely gravel beach, small harbour where you can rent boats, bars along the beach, bakery, restraunts ( we loved Rarita in particular )
Also there are lots of tour stands along the harbour where you can organise a trip to various places and islands.
We went to KRKA national park which was a MUST DO. It is only about 1hr 30 mins away, but you get to stop at other pretty little towns on the way.
In krka there are beautiful waterfalls which you can swim next to! Its awesome!

From the harbour which is 10 min walk from the hotel you can catch a boat which goes to the nearest town called trogir. it is 20kunas per person per trip which is great value.
Trogir is a great place to visit, lots of good restaurants and gift shops.
The last boat back to okrug is about half 10
From trogir you can also catch another boat which goes to the city of split.
There is a lot to see and do here, I highly recommend visiting.

Tips:
**bring some wet shoes to wear in the sea as the gravel is quite sharp on your feet
**make sure you have a currency converter on your phone so you can easily see how much you are paying for something.
**bring comfy shoes to walk in if you visit krka
**if you visit split, check the times of the boats back, they finish quite early

Me and my boyfriend weren't sure what to expect of Croatia, but we are so glad we went!!
One of the best holidays we've had and I would deco recommend for young people who like relaxing holidays with lots to explore!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trixie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okrug Gornji
2.7 mi away
Hotel Vila Tina
Hotel Vila Tina
#1 of 3 in Arbanija
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Apartmani Slavica
#2 of 4 in Okrug Gornji
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Sveti Kriz
Hotel Sveti Kriz
#2 of 3 in Arbanija
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aparthotel Bellevue
Aparthotel Bellevue
#1 of 10 in Trogir
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brown Beach House Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Villa Katarina
Villa Katarina
#1 of 9 in Okrug Gornji
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Paula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Paula

Property: Villa Paula
Address: Ante Starcevica 17, Okrug Gornji, Ciovo Island 21223, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Ciovo Island > Okrug Gornji
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Okrug Gornji
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Paula 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star hotel,Villa Paula,is situated in Okrug Gornji on the island Ciovo,in the vicinity of Trogir. Modernly furnished and completely air-conditioned hotel offers a pleasant staying to its guests,during the whole year,mainly to business people,travellers, but also to families with children,as well as to small groups. If you have decided to spend your holidays in Dalmatia,Trogir is surely the best choice.Only 25 km far from Split,the Dalmatia capital,and 3 km from the airport,Trogir is situated at the crossroads of all roads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Paula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Paula Okrug Gornji, Croatia - Ciovo Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing