We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of both worlds - modern hotel in the heart of the old city”
Review of Garni On The Rock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garni On The Rock
Ranked #2 of 27 Arco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

On the Rock is a great little hotel. The rooms are incredibly clean, contemporary and comfortable. The artwork throughout the hotel is beautiful. The climbing wall .. well, who doesn't love a hotel with a bouldering room built into the rock?? There's a outdoor jacuzzi as well. Beds are comfortable. The AC is centrally controlled but it seemed to be set to a comfortable temperature. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast was quite nice with lots of wholesome options for a day's adventure. There's even a public room with books and activities for kids. This is a great base to explore the Arco and the surrounding region.

Room Tip: Room 20 is quite large and comfortable with a sofa. The shower (with glass walls) is a little more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jparnell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

On The Rock was great - super friendly service, accommodating and lovely. Rooms modern, stylish and clean. Great location in Arco. Breakfast amazing - great for fuelling up for day long activities, and great place to return to and relax in.

The climbing wall & outdoor jacuzzi were a bonus, they had wifi and a chill out area. Gorgeous balcony to have breakfast on...

Stress free, definitely recommend if you want a base for daily hiking/other activities, etc

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebecca_g2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I found this place by chance and am very happy that booked it . I was on a road trip through Europe and needed good place to stay overnight and park the car on . This newly constructed hotel 's lovely, clean, modern with the little thoughtful details . Very friendly staff and owner couple .
The breakfast was good but no omelette or scrambled eggs.
Ok working wifi and cozy spa area. Note however that in the evening it's close at the reception, so check into late, contact them in advance.
The only downside is that the hotel is located on a little side street from the pedestrian zone and can not be located via GPS (nor via Google map) so call them o ask for exact drivning direction in case you come with a car. There are only 4-5 small parking spaces outside the hotel entrance, but otherwise there is large parking if you're not afraid to leave the car there (I had a lot of luggage in the back seat so I did not want to leave it on the large parking lot). Worth also know that the road to the hotel car park is via a small gate so you have a really large car, it may be difficult to get into or out :)
Otherwise it's a great place that I will surely come back to if they maintain the same price level.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ballerina_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Garni on the Rock is a very relaxing and welcoming hotel. The rooms are a little small but laid out very well and feel modern and fresh.

The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast supplied was ideal for a day out exploring.

My only complaint was that the aircon was set to heat the rooms, was centrally controlled and because the room was so well insulated it was scorching at night time (23c) meaning that we had to have the windows open. This let in a lot of road noise and stopped us getting the excellent nights sleep the room and bed warranted.

We would certainly go back

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Following our great stay at On The Rock earlier this year, we chose the hotel as the base for our wedding. All our guests are raving about the great design of the hotel, the beautiful modern rooms, the large breakfast selection and of course the unique hotel bouldering wall.

We can't thank Nicola and especially Paolo enough for all their help and outstanding service.... They have played an enormous part in our fairytale wedding!

Room Tip: We like the ones with the balcony getting the morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank himalheidi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

What a great place! "On the rock" is no exaggeration. We enjoyed our three nights enourmosly. The hotel is brandnew. Rooms are not very spacious but very good set up in a modern design. Staff is superfriendly and very helpful with tipps. Breakfast is a joy with fresh fruit and berries. They also have an excellent coffee-machine for cappuchino. We enjoyed breakfast with the rising sun on the terrace - really joyful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomBoogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We join the very long list of travellers fanatical about Garni On the Rock in Arco. We stayed for a week in Aug 2013 and the staff were as enthusiastic at the beginning of our stay as at the end. Always a great welcome and extremely efficient service even if the query wasn't strictly within their duties. Nothing was any trouble. Paulo and Cristina are fab, helping climbing fanatic student son find accommodation for his next visit; to suit his budget when Bank of Mum and Dad not coughing up. The hotel was full, we got the last two double bedrooms, but there was no sense it was busy. It was quiet and tranquill and peace could be had in rooftop garden by jacuzzi if unlucky enough not to have terrace or balcony. The rooms, with ensuite shower rooms, were very clean and well maintained, cleaned every day. Pets are allowed but absolutely no evidence of them having been in the rooms. Usually family allergies would play up if furry friends had been within 200 yards of room. No such problem. Breakfast super, varied and plentiful. Coffee was splendid. There was no rushing or queuing or fuss, even check in and out times not adhered too strictly. All restaurant recommendations were fab and Cristina happily phoned reservations through. We climbed, canyoned and sailed. And did it all again. Dinner was had in one of the many delightful restaurants and ice cream for pudding! Every night. Easy, simple and so relaxing. Arco is a mountain bikers and climbers paradise, with some culture thrown in. We rented a car expecting to explore more of the Lake and region but Arco and it's activities took up a lot of our attention. Although Torbole got a couple of visits and sailing was done on the lake at Navene. The owners, Nicholai and Aurelia do a fantastic job, the hotel is a fabulous find, hanging onto the rock. We will be back to enjoy their superb hospitality very soon.

Room Tip: We were very late booking and had no options, a private balcony or terrace would have been my prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linton2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arco
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pace
Hotel Pace
#2 of 14 in Arco
154 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#3 of 33 in Torbole
1,087 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Benaco
Hotel Benaco
#10 of 33 in Torbole
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Park Hotel Il Vigneto
3.4 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
629 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Italia Rooms Suites Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garni On The Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garni On The Rock

Address: Vicolo Ere 23, 38062, Arco, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Arco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Arco
Price Range: £94 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garni On The Rock 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Garni On The Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing