We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shearings, you are right on the button.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa delle Rose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa delle Rose
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Arco
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Shearings, you are right on the button.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was our first time on a Shearings Holiday and we were very impressed, we thoroughly enjoyed the nine day tour and we cannot recommend Shearings highly enough.
The 3* Hotel Villa Delle Rose has come in for some criticism on holiday forums, perhaps unfairly. If you have only ever stayed in 5* hotels, you will be disappointed. If you expect a full English cooked breakfast every morning, you will be disappointed. If you want chips with every meal, you will be disappointed. If however, you have stayed in 3* hotels before, it will hold no surprises. As many reviewers have mentioned the hotel is clean, in a good location, the food is okay and there is enough to eat and, being all inclusive, you don’t have to get your wallet out every five minutes to pay for drinks or have a large bar bill to settle at the end of the week, but it is a 3* budget hotel so do not go with unrealistic expectations.
We could find very little information on the actual journey to Lake Garda and this is the part of the holiday I would like to concentrate on for anyone considering booking this tour, as this in our opinion was the only downside of the holiday and may have some relevance to people with certain medical conditions.
We were picked up at 11.00 on the Saturday morning and after travelling through the night, arrived in Arco more than 24 hours later on the Sunday morning. The route, which AA Route Planner estimates as over 950 miles from our original pick-up point, took us through France and into Switzerland before dropping down into Italy. Compared to the UK, the continental roads are almost empty, which means they do not have the volume of traffic that warrants keeping the services open 24/7 and although there were frequent stops for toilets and a dinner stop about 21.00 it was not possible to purchase food at any services between 22.00 and 06.00. You therefore need to take this into consideration before travelling and bring your own food or purchase food to see you through to the following morning. Also, trying to get the standard eight hours overnight sleep is virtually impossible in the confines of a cramped coach seat with limited legroom, so we arrived at our breakfast stop in Switzerland; tired, irritable, hungry and with swollen ankles and backache, not the best way to start your holiday.
You can expect to spend a lot of time on coaches. For example, if you are travelling from the north of England and go on all five of the excursions you could be looking at clocking up almost 3,000 miles in nine days before you finally return home.
So you may ask “would you do it again?” Yes, most definitely! It was a wonderful holiday and because we were better prepared for the overnight journey home, this time via Austria, Germany, Luxembourg and Belgium it was not quite so bad as the incoming trip. Plus, on this return route several of the services were open through the night and you could buy sandwiches and snacks, however remember to keep some loose change with you as there was often a charge to use the toilets at many of the services. And of course, we were rewarded with some breathtaking scenery as we crossed The Alps and made our way back towards Calais. There were many upsides during the holiday, which far outweighed the downsides; great value for money, excellent excursions (three of which are included in the price of the tour), Venice, gondola ride, guided walking tours, boat trips (don’t miss the speedboat trip at Sirmione) and not forgetting our two fantastic coach drivers. So yes, I would have no hesitation booking with Shearings again, although in the future we are more likely to consider trips that have an overnight stop when travelling this sort of distance, even though it may be a little more expensive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank oakies42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    65
    84
    70
    89
See reviews for
65
176
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
balderton in england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Me and my mum went to this hotel with shearings in may. The hotel really does have the potential to do well but fails so far. one good thing is the location. The food is lovely but there was plenty of complaints that people felt patronised the fact it was like school dinners having to ask the chef what dish you want and then him giving you a child portion meaning you have to keep going up for more. people would be more happy if it was a help your self buffet with more choice!

Being in a all inclusive hotel before in my time, i am used to more variety of drinks rather then just white, red wine and 1 kind of beer which you have to pour yourself.

The main thing what let the hotel down was the staff! they can be so rude and it takes a miracle for them to smile!..just a smile and a 'good morning' would be a start to success.

The rooms were always spotless and the rest of the hotel was clean. we arrived on the 4th may and the outside pool wasn't even full. they was still grouting the tiles!

i have been to many countries but the reason this holiday has been one of the best was because of the people we met. if it wasn't for our group of people we sat with every night then they would be no entertainment or things to do.

i would defiantly return to italy and the area but unfortunately not this hotel unless things start to change. it could be a really nice hotel if they put there mind to it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nathan0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is the worst hotel I have every stayed in. Although our roonm was large & clean there isn't anything good I can say about it. The staff were indifferent to the point of rudeness. Nowhere comfortable to sit in the evenings. Hallways pitch black. Lights on a very short timer. Food , when it didn't run out was served on cold plates, meagre portions and hardly any variation. Couldn't get a tea or coffee after ten o'clock.. I would not stay here again if they offered me a free holiday..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Disappointed626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arco hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel last week on a Shearings coach holiday, with some trepidation judging by previous reviews. However, we must concur with the most recent reviews; the hotel is very nice. Everything is spotlessly clean, and the rooms serviced every day. Staffing is sparse but it was easy to find someone, and service was good at dinner time. There is not really any bar except for the (serve yourself) free drinks. Breakfast is a typical continental buffet, lunch a salad buffet, dinner starts with a salad buffet and then a choice of soup or pasta, then fish or meat with a different pasta and or potato, finishing with a typical minimal continental dessert. The two main dinner courses are served to you at a servery; you can broadly have what you want, how much you want, and it is hot, although the plates are not heated. The food is nice, Italian with Austrian influences, typical of the area.

The hotel is in a good position a short walk from the town centre. Arco is a nice, reasonable sized town with some interesting old streets, palaces and churches. There is plenty of walking in the area, on the flat or into the hills, down to the lake at Torbole or Riva, and a good bus service to the lake.

Our drivers, Lee and Valdech, not the usual ones on this tour, were very capable and entertaining, helpful and informative. All in all an excellent week. We would be very happy to return to the area and the hotel.

Room Tip: Most rooms have balconies, view of mountains from rooms on the South/West side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank paulandvalerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.E.Lincs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We have recently had the good fortune of staying here. The location of this hotel is second to none The staff, especially Lorenza, was wonderful and helpful at all times. The food was good as was the free bar although the drinks were a bit on the "weak" side. the bathroom linen was changed every day and the bed linen twice a week. Everywhere was lovely and clean.
All in all a very enjoyable holiday

Pat Room 208

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AdrianandPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We have just returned from a 9 day all inclusive holiday with Shearings.

The hotel is situated close to residential properties but this does not impact on the quiteness of this hotel.

The hotel room we stayed in large spaicious with shower. The room was cleaned every day and fresh towels. The TV does not have english programmes but as we were out everyday this did not worry us.

The food was plenty full with lots of cereal, eggs cold meats for breakfast and at least 4 different choices on a evening meal. The food was basic and could have been slightly warmer but was still enjoyable.

The reception area has plenty of seating and the drinks were available from arrival to 1pm on day of departure.

There is a indoor swimming pool and sauna which can be used by the guests of the hotel.

As we went early in the year there was no seating area outside for us to sit as the weather was well into the 20's but all we did was take chairs outside and the staff did not have a problem with this.

The staff at the hotel was always avialable and happy to help with any issues or problems that occured.

After reading previous reports I would happily stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Just come back from all inclusive holiday with Shearings.For the price paid cannot complain.There are far worst hotels than this one.Town of Arco very nice good views of mountains from hotel.Met some good people John and Donna. Overall very good holiday. From M&N

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicoledoas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arco
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pace
Hotel Pace
#2 of 14 in Arco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hotel Internazionale
Hotel Internazionale
#25 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
7.5 mi away
Centro Vacanze La Limonaia
Centro Vacanze La Limonaia
#37 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
3.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Mulino
Hotel Villa Mulino
#4 of 48 in Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hotel la Rotonda
Hotel la Rotonda
#1 of 1 in Gardola
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Hotel Il Vigneto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa delle Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa delle Rose

Property: Villa delle Rose
Address: Via Santa Caterina 4/P, 38062, Arco, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Arco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Arco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa delle Rose 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern- relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa delle Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Delle Rose Hotel Riva Del Garda
Hotel Delle Rose
Villa Delle Rose Arco, Italy - Nago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing