We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Petite Provence B&B
Ranked #3 of 12 Salt Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Clean, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. I will definitely choose this B&B again. The owners and staff are very friendly and flexible. The breakfast was outstanding, and the accommodation very comfortable.
I especially like the fact that it is close to the airport and major shopping centers, but not in the busy bustle of Durban. The atmosphere is quite and serene.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colignym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here on our wedding night and the night after. We booked the cigale room as other reviews seemed to indicate it had the most privacy, and a nice deck sitting area outside that the others didn't.

Overall it was a nice stay and while the weather wasn't nice enough for us to use the pool and the outside area, the breakfast was great and it was nice and quiet.

Unfortunately, as some of the other reviewers pointed out, the bed seemed to sink in the middle which made sleeping a little uncomfortable.

I also got 3 bad electrical shocks while in the shower - enough to make my arm hurt for a while after. There's clearly an earthing problem there. I informed the owner about it, but he kinda just shrugged and said "sorry, we've tried to have that fixed, but never been able to get it right".

All in all though, it's a nice place and it's quiet, with good breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PetiteProvence, Owner at Petite Provence B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

thank you for your detailed review, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay altogether.
Regarding the shower problem, we had received a complaint about a tingling on the tap before and sent the electrician to fix it, thinking all was sorted, we were taken by surprise hearing the problem was still there, so we have now completely re-wired the room last week.
We have never got complaints that we know about the mattress in the Cigale room, it is a top of the range Queen of Dreams mattress, only 1yr old and has a 20yr guarantee, so we will take it up with the manufacturer, thank you for bringing the problem to our attention.
The previous comments about beds were about the creaking antique 4 poster bed in the honeymoon suite but that has been sorted a while ago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at Petite Provence in the Laurier room. The whole establishment is like stepping into the South of France - the gardens are absolutely stunning, beautiful palm trees and with a very good pool. There are ample comfy sunbeds set under the trees so no need for extra umbrellas. It is very tranquil and relaxing and one could spend the whole day here. Our room was comfortable and very rustic although a little disjointed as you had to cross a little passage (all totally private though) to reach the enormous en-suite bathroom with a good shower and windows that open - lovely. We had a small kitchenette with a microwave and fridge which were very handy. Breakfast is taken outside on the terrace and is very good. Walking to the beach is easy as it is only a short 5 minute stroll through the adjoining park. Once there you can walk along to the tidal pool which is very popular with bathers. For eating out you can visit Siggi's - a German pub and restaurant or try a curry or buffet at the Salt Rock Hotel.
The shopping mall at Tiffany's in Salt Rock is good - excellent supermarket and try Burndale just over the N2 towards Umhali if you want to visit a craft/pottery centre. it is a nice place for a coffee or light lunch.
The King Shaka Airport is only a 15 min drive away and you only go through 1 toll en-route.
Salt Rock is a quiet but relaxing place to stay so try to book Petite Provence if in the area - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sybil21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My wife and I spent the second half of our honeymoon in the honeymoon suite of Petite Provence. The whole building is stunningly finished. We felt very welcome upon arrival. It is walking distance from a great strip of beach. The breakfast was simply amazing. I think we over-ate almost every morning because there are so many delicious foods on have every day (the custom eggs, the flapjacks, the croissants ...). Next to that the pool is very nice and a good size. Finally, the staff is very friendly and professional. We have travelled quite a bit and were both very impressed with the staff.

Two downsides: First, the B&B (esp. from the honeymoon suite) does not have a nice view, which is a pity being so close to the sea. Second, the bed was very squeaky. The slightest movement made a loud noise. That is not nice for sleeping, or other honeymoon activities :D. In spite of this, we highly recommend Petite Provence.

Room Tip: Besides the squeaky bed, the honeymoon suite is just stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jobthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed at Petite Provence for 6 nights.The place is really beautiful with a nice garden including a little swimingpool. The location is greate not far from the beach. The breakfast was delicious and the staff and owner was very friendly. The area around was very safe.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toen-VBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at Petite Provence for 2 nights.The place is really beautiful and located within walking distance from the beach. Our room had a little kitchenette and mini fridge which was quite handy. The beds were comfy and provided a peaceful nights sleep. The breakfast was delicious and the staff very friendly!

Although everything wasn't perfect (had a power outage and main light flickered when on) I recommend it and would most likely return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annemi41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Very beautiful and romantic decorated bedrooms with kitchenette and terasse. The breakfast was really great, the staff and the owner very kind and professional. The beach and some restaurants in walking distance, the area was very safe. We had a great dinner in the Canelands Beach Club. It's located directly at the beach with a beautiful sea view and the staff opened the kitchen earlier for only us. Alltogether a great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salt Rock
0.8 mi away
Chaka's Rock Chalets
Chaka's Rock Chalets
#1 of 1 in Shaka's Rock
95 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#3 of 7 in Ballito
415 reviews
4.7 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Canelands Beach Club and Spa
1.1 mi away
The Saffron House
The Saffron House
#5 of 12 in Salt Rock
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zuider Zee Guest House
Zuider Zee Guest House
#1 of 12 in Salt Rock
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petite Provence B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petite Provence B&B

Address: 7 Umdoni Road, Salt Rock 4391, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Salt Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Rock
Price Range: £77 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Petite Provence B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy this unique French style Guest House, with splashing of lavender, the colors, and hospitality typical of Provence in the South of France, and year-round African sunshine. The best of both worlds! Petite Provence B&B is situated in Ballito-Salt Rock, 30 min drive from Umhlanga, Durban North, half-way between Umfolozi Game Reserve and Durban Airport. Our 4 charming en-suite rooms are equipped with air-conditioned, DStv, Wi-Fi, fridge and hospitality tray (kitchenette "on request"), crisp white linen, beach towels, patio and unique French touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Petite Provence B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing