We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden cottage - Perfect stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salt Rock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bed & Breakfast by the Sea
Ranked #4 of 12 Salt Rock B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Garden cottage - Perfect stay!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed in the self catering Garden Cottage with my boyfriend over Christmas 2013 and returned in February after having such a lovely stay. The apartment had everything we needed and the terrace outside was great. It is described as not having a sea view but if you were stood up you could see the ocean and it was a lovely private area - great for braais!
Sue (owner) became like a second mum to us - helping with anything she could and nothing was too much trouble. We loved her and her husbands company but if your private people they will leave you to it and the accommodation is very private unlike some B & B's.
We walked to both Sheffield beach and Salt Rock from the apartment most days and both walks were pleasant. The area is really beautiful with lots of restaurants to try out. We saw a huge number of dolphins from Sue's balcony one morning which was a real treat - amazing!
We would go back in an instant if we visited the area again. A *

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mcmullenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

great location, stunning sea views and very pleasant host, namely Sue. Enjoyed our stay but have one complaint, stayed in the Blue Waters s/c room which their website says is a brand new 2 bedroom unit, not so maybe 10 years ago, so very misleading, even though the unit is clean, it is dated and weathered.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank falow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay, great apartment with stunning views of the beach and ocean. We saw six pods of Dolphins in one day.
Sue the owner was charming and couldn't do enough for us. Her husband Captain Dave, told us where to find Leopards when we went on Safari. We are defiantly going to return. A very memorable holiday. Five star.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Siggyclarkson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Amazing little get away for our 1st wedding anniversary! Beautiful room with stunning sea views, what a blessing to wake up to the sound of the surf on the rocks down in front! delicious breakfast served over looking the ocean. The wonderful owner Sue is such a delight and made our stay so special!!! we can't wait to go back for our next anniversary!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay. We were fully equipped in a private self catering flat with the most spectacular veiws. The highlight was the great breakfast that was served on a private deck with a beautiful ocean view, we saw whales and dolphins! We had a great host, very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We arrived fairly late coming straight from the airport which is an easy drive. A warm welcome was given by Sue our fantastic host. Beer wine and snacks were provided, most welcome. Great wi-fi access allowing us to check in at home. Even though it was dark the views down over to the sea were amazing sat out on the veranda. The views in the morning were even better, we had a lovely breakfast outside with eggs from the resident chickens. We were fortunate to see whales and dolphins go by. Easy to see from our elevated position. Nothing to fault the place, great place to start our hols and get some good advice. We have booked to come back for our last night as well!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Digory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbana, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

This is a lovely place, and well situated---either to avoid the crowds and noise of the city, or as a night-stop on the way to the KZN game parks. We were on our way to Hluhluwe-Imfolozi National Park.
Our party was in the suite above the garage, which has 2 en-suite bedrooms, plus lounge, and kitchen. It’s fully equipped with tea and coffee, a fridge, microwave, TV and DVD in the room, plus plates and cutlery. If the weather is good, there is a braai (barbecue) area by the pool that guests can use, then you wouldn’t need the kitchen. The balcony has stunning views down over the indigenous garden (with fragrant frangipani trees) to the sea and rocky beach.
Unfortunately, when we were there it was pouring so we could not eat outside, nor really enjoy the sea views much, although we could tell they were wonderful. The stairs up to the suite were very slippery in the rain, so we had to be careful.
Lock-up garage for guests cars is a great feature, for many reasons, not least of which are all the vervet monkeys that live around here---very mischievous creatures that try to get into everything.
If the weather is good, breakfast is served on the balcony overlooking the beach and many mornings you’ll see dolphins swim past. On rainy days, Sue serves breakfast inside (as was our case).
The breakfast was excellent: fruit, cereal, juices, joghurt; cooked eggs (fresh from her chickens running around on the grass outside), bacon, sausage, mushrooms and tomatoes; toast with home-made jam and marmalade; tea or coffee. Sue and her husband are wonderful hosts, who chatted about the local sights, life in South Africa etc, and made sure that we had everything that we needed.
We paid R450 pp for bed and fully cooked breakfast. No charge for kids under 5 years. But I think prices have increased a little very recently. 50% deposit required.
As you leave the highway for the Salt Rock/Sheffield Beach turn-off, there is a shopping mall, with a Super Spar, banks, a Topps Liquor Store, and a pleasant restaurant called BBM---where we ate, as it wasn’t possible to braai at our B&B. Some of us had the fish of the day, which was a local Red Roman. Delicious. Reasonably priced too.

It's about 15-20 minutes north of Durban’s King Shaka Airport. Take the N2 north to exit 214 and cross the bridge back over the highway towards Salt Rock. The web page gives full directions.
Contact Sue Stiles at bbsue@iafrica.com
Tel: +27 (0) 32 525 8079
Web: www.bbbythesea.com

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salt Rock
5.3 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ballito
381 reviews
2.6 mi away
Chaka's Rock Chalets
Chaka's Rock Chalets
#1 of 1 in Shaka's Rock
75 reviews
6.5 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Canelands Beach Club and Spa
0.7 mi away
The Saffron House
The Saffron House
#5 of 12 in Salt Rock
127 reviews
1.6 mi away
Zuider Zee Guest House
Zuider Zee Guest House
#1 of 12 in Salt Rock
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast by the Sea

Property: Bed & Breakfast by the Sea
Address: 16 Summit Road | Sheffield Beach, Salt Rock 4390, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Salt Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Rock
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing