We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Salt Rock
Reviewed 7 April 2011

We only stayed at Salt Rock Hotel because the place we are usually going to in Salt Rock was fully booked. But we did not regret the stay as we enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. The Hotel is not new and has somehow an old fashioned atmosphere. The lady receptionists were very friendly and helpful which contributed to the feeling that we were welcome. The setting is superbe since the hotel is just at the beach with direct access to it. The only two things I did not like was that down at the lawn there were no garden loungers and sun umbrellas. There is only a rustique bar which was mostly closed late afternoon and evening where you can sit in massive wooden chairs. But you cannot sunbath on the lawn with sea view because of the lack of loungers. There are enough loungers at the quite nice pool. The second thing was that in the evening you can only have dinner buffet style. If you are not very hungry they are not able to prepare a light meal like a salat or chips. They instead advise to go to the restaurants nearby (like the German Siggi's). Otherwise, fine place. Could be a little bit cheaper though.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laulalei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2011

This hotel was our first stop at the start of a 2 week holiday in S Africa. We got there tired & sticky after a flight from London, to be greated by a beautifully warm evening and the sound of the waves crashing on the beach. We had a good sized room looking out to sea & immediately opened the windows so we could hear the surf. The room waslight and bright and a good size though nothing amazing, but had everything we needed. Not the prettiest of buildings from the outside, there was loads of space downstairs with various eating areas, bar, pool, nice reception & direct access to the beach. DON'T SWIM THERE - I nearly lost my husband to the rip tide on the bathing beach to the right. Very dangerous undertow.
The staff and owners were very friendly, the food was surprisingly good for a buffet/carvery, plentiful good breakfasts and a nice snack lunch around the pool. What more could one ask for?

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubblesEastCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Great food, grate vibe and a wonderful time. Service was tops and all the staff were very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tygerbergzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

We had a great stay in the Salt Rock Hotel in the week before Christmas. It isn't the smartest hotel in the world, but our deluxe family room was spacious, the hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly. The food was good - especially the curries - and there was a big enough selection not to get bored with the buffet after a week. The sea views are lovely, and we were lucky enough to see dolphins surfing during our stay. The hotel caters well for families with small children. The pool area is protected and pleasant on windy days. The smaller tidal pool to the north of the hotel was perfect for small children. The two weddings on the beach during our stay added to the entertainment. We had a medical emergency while in the hotel, and the staff were very helpful. We'll be back...

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RivaAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Set right on the ocean with great location,views and amenities,this was my best hotel experience to date.Staff are friendly and the service is great.During my two month stay my room was always clean and the bed extremely comfortable.I most enjoy the healthy variety of food on the breakfast and dinner buffet menus and the comfortable seating in the dining areas and lounges.Easy access to the beach for a short walk is a real treat.I will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flanegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

This is a lovely old grand hotel (it must be over 60years old) it has recently been refurbished but still retains the old grace and character. The position is brilliant, right on the beach, and every room has a fantastic seaveiw. The food was good, with an entusiastic chef who was putting out nice buffets.
If you are looking for something chic, modern and up market, this hotel is not for you, but I would strongly recommend it for good value, comfort and good old fashioned quality. We enjoyed our 4 night stay very much.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Juper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salt Rock
18 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#3 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,205 reviews
18 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,970 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chaka's Rock Chalets
Chaka's Rock Chalets
#1 of 1 in Shaka's Rock
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
106 reviews
18 mi away
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
#9 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
327 reviews
18.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort

Address: Basill Hulett Drive, Salt Rock 4391, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Salt Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Salt Rock
Price Range: £103 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the gem of the Kwa Zulu-Natal Dolphin Coast, Salt Rock Resort, consisting of Salt Rock Hotel, Caravan Park, Salt Rock Palms Timeshare and Salt Rock Country Club. Salt Rock Resort is nestled amongst tropical palms on the golden shores of the warm and sparkling Indian Ocean. Salt Rock on the Dolphin Coast is home to hundreds of resident Bottlenose Dolphins and is a small resort 50km or 30 minutes north of Durban. Transfers from Durban International Airport are easily arranged. Salt Rock is surrounded by several world class golf courses. The largest shopping centre in the Southern hemisphere is a mere 20 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing