We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of a serious upgrade throughout the entire hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Salt Rock
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The food is good and well presented on the buffet. The atmosphere in the dining room is somewhat lacking due to it being really old and somewhat 'tired'. The rooms are terrible! The furniture is old, the beds are uncomfortable, the bathrooms are old and inadequate and the bathroom wasn't properly cleaned which was rather off putting. That being said, the hotels location is excellent, the swimming pool area is great, the hotel is right on the beach with the waves crashing in the background, and the staff are generally friendly and most helpful. As I'm a frequent traveller and am fortunate to stay in numerous hotels, I feel that if money was spent on this hotel, it would be a first-class holiday destination due to its proximity to the beach and what it has to offer.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GusBehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed here about 6 years ago and it has since been nicely renovated.
The hotel has the most wonderful location on the beach and the views cannot be beaten.
Friendly helpful staff really makes the stay - The rooms are spacious, comfy beds, modernised bathrooms, the only criticism I would have is that the towels were a bit small and scratchy and the pillows were a bit hard. Otherwise we will go back

Room Tip: We had the honeymoon suite on the 6th floor - 613 nice and spacious with lounge sleeps 4-5 and small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crony-club
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

It was a very brave decision to go back to an Hotel that we had been to and enjoyed three months before. However we were in Kwa- Zulu Natal and had a week to spare so went back again
The last day of our previous visit saw the return to the Hotel of the General Manager and his obvious management style is "walk about management". Everyone had a smile on their faces and one always had a cheery good morning or whatever.. The room was three doors away from our previous room and fractionally smaller because the bathroom had been renovated. (I wonder if the architects who specify bathroom basins etc ever get to use them)- Impractical and the shallow basins forever splash out. Minor carping.
My wife has a serious garlic allergy but on our previous trip the message only seemed to have got through the the kitchen by the last day. This time, the Head Chef was waiting for us at reception and discussed with my wife her private menu for the next five days.
There were a couple of conferences at the Hotel and the participants exuberance lifted the ambiance in the evenings
The waves continued to crash outside our room as before and we felt fully at home
We availed of thee three days plus package and felt that we had good value for our money
The Hotel is well located and we had no trouble in finding our way to the Airport and to the City on one occasion. We will do it again
.

Room Tip: Last time we were in 306, this time 303 but on going renovations means that almost any room on this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erewhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

A great hotel, well priced with a very freindly atmosphere.
Situated on the beach with beautiful views of the ocean.
A good weekend get away,wholesome food that caters for all tastes.
Close to a large amount of golf courses, all within 30 Minutes drive!

As we got there early 08h00 am, the freindly staff put our luggage in safe keeping. We teed of at 11h00 am @ Mount Edgecomb golf course. On our return our luggage was safely in our room, with a large bucket of Ice & drinks that was arranged.

to sum up: Great family hotel, good food, relaxed atmosphere, Beautiful views, and good value for your money....

Room Tip: Room 101, 102 & 103, have a small kitchenette & a balcony that looks over the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J D v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We spent five nights at the Salt Rock Hotel and had a wonderful stay. The dinner, bed and breakfast option makes this a fantastic hotel for families. The food was tasty and although the waiters were laid back (as one would expect on the coast), they were helpful and friendly.

I stayed in this hotel as a child, and was happy to see that although the hotel has been renovated, you can still make out many of the original features, such as the slate patios. The hotel has the same family friendly, welcoming feeling I remember from my visits there as a child.

There are many lovely beaches a short walk or drive from the hotel, and the wonderful sea views from the hotel rooms are hard to beat. The rooms were comfortable, clean and tidy, and the gardens and grounds were well looked after. We look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: All rooms have great sea views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianneG007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My wife and I have just had a magnificent holiday at this hotel. It was ideal for us as it came at the end of a month travelling around and this promised us a rest in good surroundings.
This hotel dates back to the 1930's but has been expanded over the years and they are manfully upgrading the rooms as and when!
The public rooms cleverly guide you out to the great outdoors and it it truly great. There is a swathe of well- kept lawn directly outside the hotel and then direct access to a beach with the crashing Indian Ocean. The view is incomparable and must be the best on this coast
There are extensive shaded verandahs overlooking the well-established well-tended tropical gardens and one feels almost that you are in Malasia
The rooms -or the one we were in or saw- are spacious with air-conditioning and a fan . The bathroom had a shower over the bath but everything worked including the old-fashioned flushmaster toilet The passages and bathroom floors still have mosaics from the 60's but they are scrubbed and clean.
We booked in on a dinner, bed and breakfast rate and it suited us perfectly. Breakfast was the standard buffet which was comprehensive with juices, cereals, some continental items,and the usual hot dishes but one can just have toast and coffee if that is your choice. Supper is also a buffet with soup, some fish, always a curry dish-they are renowned for their curries-, a pasta dish rotated with a savoury dish and always a roast with desserts. The evening buffet could pall but it suited us for the four days and the chef strives to rotate dishes. There was a problem with their 'bain-maries ' one evening and the food was not as hot as it could have been but it was rectified as soon as reported
There is a lovely swimming pool in excellent condition and again set in a tropical situation within the precincts of the hotel thus allowing escape from any inclement weather.
The hotel is about 20 minutes north of the new King Shaka International Airport and we understand that a shuttle can be organised if you don't want to use a car at all
There is an adjoining caravan park (that we used in the 1970's that must have the best outlook in South Africa and well as a small timeshare segment..
Don't look for five star furnishings and fittings and a marbled reception hall-you are not going to find them. Similiarly, the staff are not what you would find in higher graded accommodation. They are willing and generally smiling It is an family hotel with a minimum of stated rules that allow the visitors to enjoy the holiday they have come for. Dress is casual
We will definitely go back soon

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor. All the rooms face the beach but these have balconies and you can sleep wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erewhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Our family has just spent 6 days at this hotel. We booked late (November for January), and we were looking for a fully inclusive holiday where we would not need to leave the hotel. It's is exactly what we got! Fortunately we had fantastic weather and we were able to spend it either on the beach or around the pool which is secluded from the the wind. The accommodation was comfortable, and perhaps we should have booked the rooms with air conditioning, as the weather was exceptionally hot! The food was old school buffet style and very tasty. Especially good was the daily selection of curries at the evening buffet. The hotel is full of families with hoards of children of varying age groups. We had a very comfortable stay. Thank you!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank GysMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salt Rock
18 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#3 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,205 reviews
18 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,973 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chaka's Rock Chalets
Chaka's Rock Chalets
#1 of 1 in Shaka's Rock
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
106 reviews
18 mi away
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
#9 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
327 reviews
18.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort

Address: Basill Hulett Drive, Salt Rock 4391, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Salt Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Salt Rock
Price Range: £103 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the gem of the Kwa Zulu-Natal Dolphin Coast, Salt Rock Resort, consisting of Salt Rock Hotel, Caravan Park, Salt Rock Palms Timeshare and Salt Rock Country Club. Salt Rock Resort is nestled amongst tropical palms on the golden shores of the warm and sparkling Indian Ocean. Salt Rock on the Dolphin Coast is home to hundreds of resident Bottlenose Dolphins and is a small resort 50km or 30 minutes north of Durban. Transfers from Durban International Airport are easily arranged. Salt Rock is surrounded by several world class golf courses. The largest shopping centre in the Southern hemisphere is a mere 20 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing