We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Salt Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Still wonderful”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have been coming to this hotel for many years and although we keep thinking we should go somewhere else next time we want a beach holiday we keep returning to the Salt Rock. There is no hotel so perfectly located - literally on the beach - and even in season is very well priced particularly when you take advantage of their full board option. Whilst it's true that the hotel needs some serious repairs and maintenance, the staff make up for it. Always friendly and accommodating they are the reason the hotel is so wonderful.The fact that there are staff members including waiters who have worked there for thirty years tells one that this is a consistently happy place. As this is a hotel which caters for families don't expect peace and quiet in season. Ask for rooms that do not overlook the deck. The higher rooms on the far end are also much quieter. Do book for the Sunday lunch buffet - it's a very we'll attended and boisterous affair frequented by the town's locals. The daily curries on the pool menu are also not to be missed.
We will be going again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    62
    26
    8
    2
See reviews for
49
47
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
india
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

this place was a blight on our south african holiday.
The location is fantastic but the hotel is really jaded and is desperately seeking repairs alongwith a professional management.The apparently newly renovated rooms had tiles to remind you of a hospital on the floor.The power kept tripping and was rectified after a few hours only.
The tv and ac remotes are handed to you when you check in which I found worrying testifying to the nature of their regular occupants.
The attitude of the staff esp at the bar needs to be worked on by the management( Which looks dicey anyway).
all in a very mediocre experience.

Room Tip: Ask for newly renovated rooms if u still decide to go there..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shyboy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

This is our fifth stay and everything is reassuringly the same. This is a great little family hotel with all you need for a comfortable stay. Location is unbeatable with beach and ocean pool plus big hotel pool. Our main thing is that the kids simply love being here!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard_Fyffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a great resort for anyone looking to take time out in a relaxed atmosphere - right on the beachfront. The location of the hotel is ideal, with Salt Rock Beach just a two minute walk from hotel (or a 30 second drive.) The hotel itself is wonderful, with great wooden and African décor in the lounge and dining area. There's a deck at the hotel which offers the most breathtaking view of the sea - which is literally right at your doorstep. You can have lunch or coffee on the deck, or can opt to read a book. The rooms are of a good size, and although some of them look a bit dated in terms of their décor, they have all the amenities you need. I have stayed here twice, and both times the room I have stayed in has had the most amazing view of the sea, with the sound of the waves greeting you as you wake up and head off to sleep. The hotel has a large pool, and the area around the pool is very chilled. Breakfast and dinner (both of which are a buffet) are served daily, with a great variety of food. The omelettes at breakfast were sublime. The hotel is famous for their curries - which are to die for. Staff were extremely helpful throughout our stay, and were more than happy to assist us when we had requests.

Room Tip: Judging by the layout of the hotel, all rooms have some view of the sea. The higher up you are, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabriella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, the hotel is just on the beach, has great views from the balconies and a lovely tidal pool on the beach. The rooms however leave a lot to be desired, we had ants in our room and several calls to the reception to help were unattended. Finally after two trips, someone attended and tried to make temp repairs to the hole in the wall to stop the ants coming in.
Some of their practices need to be re-tuned with the times, one of the rare hotels, which hand over the A/C and TV remotes whilst check-in and ask for a deposit. The hotel also could not provide any electrical adapters. No room service as well.

Food and service in restaurant was average.

If you staying there, go only for the location. Plan not to stay much in the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mehul_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This was our second two week stay at this fabulous hotel and it keeps getting better with time even though the service, food, staff etc are already top notch. The chefs went the extra mile to cater for my vegetarian diet (even enquiring as to what my likes are), the food was absolutely superb with lots of choices, the ladies at the spa provided the most delicious massages, the floor walkers, reception staff, pool area staff and restaurant staff were friendly, efficient and professional. No request was too much. The hotel works like clockwork! We arrived as guests and left feeling as though we were part of the hotel "family"! This could certainly become our home away from home. We will definitely make a third stay in the near future. We went home feeling as though we had been away for a month, did not have to lift a finger or worry about a thing! A BIG thank you to Simon and his team of elves!

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea but the best rooms are on the first floor. They are the biggest, have private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babybumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
413 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The resort has wonderful sea views and has easy close access to beach and the tidal pool. Elderly people will enjoy the tidal pool as well as everyone else.Decor is rustic and resort is relaxed and fun.Not too many activities like other hotels but amenities are sufficient

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flitz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salt Rock
1.1 mi away
Chaka's Rock Chalets
Chaka's Rock Chalets
#1 of 1 in Shaka's Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,719 reviews
3.8 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ballito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
5.0 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
3.3 mi away
Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort

Property: Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Address: Basill Hulett Drive, Salt Rock 4391, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Salt Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Salt Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the gem of the Kwa Zulu-Natal Dolphin Coast, Salt Rock Resort, consisting of Salt Rock Hotel, Caravan Park, Salt Rock Palms Timeshare and Salt Rock Country Club. Salt Rock Resort is nestled amongst tropical palms on the golden shores of the warm and sparkling Indian Ocean. Salt Rock on the Dolphin Coast is home to hundreds of resident Bottlenose Dolphins and is a small resort 50km or 30 minutes north of Durban. Transfers from Durban International Airport are easily arranged. Salt Rock is surrounded by several world class golf courses. The largest shopping centre in the Southern hemisphere is a mere 20 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing