We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday and food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Salt Rock
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is our second visit to this hotel and we had another great holiday. The food is excellent and of a great variety and is included in your stay, breakfast and dinner, lunch and drinks are extra. All the rooms have a fantastic sea view and it's wonderful to hear the waves crashing down at night. My children, now 11 and 13 had a great time and love the freedom of walking around by themselves. The rooms, we stayed on the top floor do need a revamp and the cupboards are looking a bit old but the beds and bedding are great. The room was cleaned everyday and you can get beach towels every day from the laundry. Salt rock hotel is very good value for money and it's great to have two meals included, and to have food of a high quality we will definitely be back for a third time

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank DeanSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and was impressed, especially with the location and view. Although the hotel is now pretty dated, there are improvements happening. We stayed in one of the updated deluxe rooms and it was very good, bright and new. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location on the beach with all sea views, rock swimming pools and miles of beaches were great. Timeshare also seems to be excellent. Will return for sure.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms have lots of space, you can choose a balcony or patio. (patio recommended for smoke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vwjohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have been coming to this hotel for many years and although we keep thinking we should go somewhere else next time we want a beach holiday we keep returning to the Salt Rock. There is no hotel so perfectly located - literally on the beach - and even in season is very well priced particularly when you take advantage of their full board option. Whilst it's true that the hotel needs some serious repairs and maintenance, the staff make up for it. Always friendly and accommodating they are the reason the hotel is so wonderful.The fact that there are staff members including waiters who have worked there for thirty years tells one that this is a consistently happy place. As this is a hotel which caters for families don't expect peace and quiet in season. Ask for rooms that do not overlook the deck. The higher rooms on the far end are also much quieter. Do book for the Sunday lunch buffet - it's a very we'll attended and boisterous affair frequented by the town's locals. The daily curries on the pool menu are also not to be missed.
We will be going again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelling_Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

this place was a blight on our south african holiday.
The location is fantastic but the hotel is really jaded and is desperately seeking repairs alongwith a professional management.The apparently newly renovated rooms had tiles to remind you of a hospital on the floor.The power kept tripping and was rectified after a few hours only.
The tv and ac remotes are handed to you when you check in which I found worrying testifying to the nature of their regular occupants.
The attitude of the staff esp at the bar needs to be worked on by the management( Which looks dicey anyway).
all in a very mediocre experience.

Room Tip: Ask for newly renovated rooms if u still decide to go there..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shyboy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

This is our fifth stay and everything is reassuringly the same. This is a great little family hotel with all you need for a comfortable stay. Location is unbeatable with beach and ocean pool plus big hotel pool. Our main thing is that the kids simply love being here!

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Richard_Fyffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a great resort for anyone looking to take time out in a relaxed atmosphere - right on the beachfront. The location of the hotel is ideal, with Salt Rock Beach just a two minute walk from hotel (or a 30 second drive.) The hotel itself is wonderful, with great wooden and African décor in the lounge and dining area. There's a deck at the hotel which offers the most breathtaking view of the sea - which is literally right at your doorstep. You can have lunch or coffee on the deck, or can opt to read a book. The rooms are of a good size, and although some of them look a bit dated in terms of their décor, they have all the amenities you need. I have stayed here twice, and both times the room I have stayed in has had the most amazing view of the sea, with the sound of the waves greeting you as you wake up and head off to sleep. The hotel has a large pool, and the area around the pool is very chilled. Breakfast and dinner (both of which are a buffet) are served daily, with a great variety of food. The omelettes at breakfast were sublime. The hotel is famous for their curries - which are to die for. Staff were extremely helpful throughout our stay, and were more than happy to assist us when we had requests.

Room Tip: Judging by the layout of the hotel, all rooms have some view of the sea. The higher up you are, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gabriella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, the hotel is just on the beach, has great views from the balconies and a lovely tidal pool on the beach. The rooms however leave a lot to be desired, we had ants in our room and several calls to the reception to help were unattended. Finally after two trips, someone attended and tried to make temp repairs to the hole in the wall to stop the ants coming in.
Some of their practices need to be re-tuned with the times, one of the rare hotels, which hand over the A/C and TV remotes whilst check-in and ask for a deposit. The hotel also could not provide any electrical adapters. No room service as well.

Food and service in restaurant was average.

If you staying there, go only for the location. Plan not to stay much in the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mehul_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salt Rock
1.1 mi away
Chaka's Rock Chalets
Chaka's Rock Chalets
#1 of 1 in Shaka's Rock
95 reviews
3.7 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#3 of 7 in Ballito
414 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,882 reviews
18.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
413 reviews
5.0 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort

Address: Basill Hulett Drive, Salt Rock 4391, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Salt Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Salt Rock
Price Range: £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the gem of the Kwa Zulu-Natal Dolphin Coast, Salt Rock Resort, consisting of Salt Rock Hotel, Caravan Park, Salt Rock Palms Timeshare and Salt Rock Country Club. Salt Rock Resort is nestled amongst tropical palms on the golden shores of the warm and sparkling Indian Ocean. Salt Rock on the Dolphin Coast is home to hundreds of resident Bottlenose Dolphins and is a small resort 50km or 30 minutes north of Durban. Transfers from Durban International Airport are easily arranged. Salt Rock is surrounded by several world class golf courses. The largest shopping centre in the Southern hemisphere is a mere 20 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing