We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and excellent service!”
Review of BBM Cafe

BBM Cafe
Ranked #3 of 32 Restaurants in Salt Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Kempton Park, South Africa
2 reviews
“Good food and excellent service!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The quality of the food and service definitely was above average. Pizzas a winner! Our guests from Oberhausen, Germany, insisted we go back a couple of times and they did not disappoint on any level. The manager also assisted us without hesitation into sending an urgent email with a large programmed attachment...adjacent businesses just declined our request! Thank You once again! When rain came pouring down the staff immediately moved our table and made sure we stayed comfortable. Just the vibe, atmosphere and constant feet to this restaurant is a telling tale of a place much loved by visitors and the community! Thumbs up for exceeding our expectations!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    45
    16
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good quality food, no drinks menu, service "chance-able"”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The quality and portions of food served is good but theses is a lack of variety.......just the usual fare. There is also no drinks menu, one needs to kind of go through the list of what one feels like until you hit an item that they have in stock. The service is chance-able - sometimes it is good and at other times it is non existent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Babybumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa del Sol
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Pleasant cafe and very good food”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The staff are friendly and attentive and the food, whilst not very exciting, is very good. The salad that we shared as starter was excellent and the spare ribs to follow were excellent. Not expensive, and sensibly priced wines.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JeevesCostadelSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballito
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Appaling service”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Food is good (if a little on the pricey side) but service is shocking. There were only 4 tables the morning we went for breakfast..yet we waited almost 20 minutes to place a drinks order after being told our waitress was "Out" (What? and everyone else standing around are what? Only door people and dont serve tables?) when said waitress did arrive service was lack lustre to say the least... will give it a miss until they sort their staff issues.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth visiting Salt Rock just to eat here!”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Starving one morning my partner and I came across this small cafe and decided on the Eggs Benedict and freshly squeezed orange juice... DELICIOUS! We returned a few days later with family and I tried the Salmon pancake.. even more delicious! The cafe is well run and the food is excellent with reasonable prices. Can't wait for my next holiday in Ballito to visit this cafe again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marinaoreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BBM Cafe also viewed

Salt Rock, KwaZulu-Natal
Salt Rock, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Salt Rock, KwaZulu-Natal
Shaka's Rock, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to BBM Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing