We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a curry!”

Coco's Buffet & Carvery Dining Room
Ranked #13 of 32 Restaurants in Salt Rock
Restaurant details
Gordon's Bay, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a curry!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had a late lunch at the restaurant and was really blown away by the aroma as we were seated and the taste lived of the mutton curry we all enjoyed completely lived up to the aroma. Also a great location with a view over the beach and tidal pool.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fanus E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

A huge variety to choose from - literally something for everyone. Everything was delicious and wholesome. The bar staff were always in the dining room waiting at our "beck and call" to take drinks orders! Nathi and Raymond have an awesome team of staff

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Babybumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A huge variety to choose from”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

A huge variety to choose from. Everything was delicious and wholesome. The only downfall was the lack of soft drinks to be served or offered, only water was available.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Babybumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballito
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A great place...except if youre a local”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I'm not normally a driven to bad mouth local business...but after numerous attempts to contact management of this facility..maybe this will make them wake up and take note...We regularly take friends and out of town visitors to this establishment, the view is to die for, its a great family atmosphere and the service is attentive and the food edible.Its the one place we take everyone who visits us to show off the KZN North Coast at its best...Imagine our horror when we tried to go in for dinner one evening and were physically man handled by security when we tried to gain access.We were very rudely informed by a belligerent security guard that the hotel was closed for season...Whilst i can understand that popular places are busy over December....it might pay to remember who supports you and keeps you going once the crowds have gone??? A telephone call to try and make a reservation was met by a very rude receptionist who was slammed the phone down on us...we'll be taking our guests elsewhere from now onwards....

    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lunch at Salt Rock Hotel”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Had lunch with the family at the Salt Rock Hotel on Sunday 8th Sept 2013. It was arguably one of the best meals we've had this year. The service was awesome - not the normal searching-for-help when needed and not the 'in-your-face' alternative that is often the case, the balance was great. My daughter asked for something that wasn't on the menu and the waiter went to great lengths to try and accommodate her. The chef even came out of the kitchen to apologize that it was too short notice and then about 10 minutes later brought out a 'freebie' sample of what else he could do!
The curried beef and chicken dishes were excellent
Would recommend this venue to anybody staying in the area or passing by.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruiselite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coco's Buffet & Carvery Dining Room also viewed

Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
Salt Rock, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Salt Rock, KwaZulu-Natal
Salt Rock, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Coco's Buffet & Carvery Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing