We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nature getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zuider Zee Guest House
Ranked #1 of 12 Salt Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Nature getaway”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

The stay in Zuider Zee was very pleasant. The room was spacious, well equipped and had a beautiful view of the sea.
Sitting on a terrace was a pleasure, we were surrounded by beautiful nature, cute monkies and starry sky in the night whilst enjoying a braai.
Definitely would stay again and recommond to friends and family.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Philippe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    45
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
52
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We overnighted at Zuiderzee and the place was neat and clean with prompt and professional service from start to finish. Great seaview from the TreeTops unit. Well priced, good value for money. Breakfast optional.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nathali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this lovely guest house for just the single night. We were welcomed by a very friendly informative owner who was happy to look after our every need even though we hadn't pre booked and turned up at almost 10pm

We were given a log cabin that was equipped with everything you could possibly need... Cooker, iron, microwave etc. very spacious and extremely good value for money.

A clean, well kept swimming pool is also available on site 24 hours a day.

We woke up to find 20 - 30 monkey almost touching distance from our balcony.

Great location if you dont mind being a little drive away from the ocean. Not ideal for those with a phobia of creepy crawlies as we came across, lizards, spiders, moths and mosquitos but all in all a great place to stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy85Chester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one week over Christmas. The log cabin was comfortable and clean. My only little complain was that one of the bedrooms didn't have a door but only curtain. I guess it's ok if you travel with kids but for 2 couples - not the best. But everybody was friendly and helpful and we would stay again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algarve, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Zuider Zee was an ideal location for our last couple of days in South Africa. The room was comfy with easy access to everywhere we needed to go and walking distance to beaches and restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mtunzini
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The service was excellent - friendly and very accommodating, we were made to feel at home. The room was clean, but it's might be time for an upgrade on linen. The view is stunning seaview. It is ideally situated in close proximity to the beach and only 4km from central Ballito and restuarants!The security of the property was a comforting factor that it is remote controlled.Will most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorschoten, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay in the Zuiderzee Guesthouse. We received a warm welcome from the owners. We had a great view on the Indian Ocean from the Tree tops cabin and we were able to relax and wind down during our stay. It's a great place for self-catering and they serve an excellent breakfast as well,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cees70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salt Rock
1.1 mi away
Chaka's Rock Chalets
Chaka's Rock Chalets
#1 of 1 in Shaka's Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Petite Provence B&B
Petite Provence B&B
#3 of 12 in Salt Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Villa Jaime
Villa Jaime
#4 of 16 in Ballito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canelands Beach Club and Spa
2.6 mi away
Beach Forest Lodge
Beach Forest Lodge
#2 of 16 in Ballito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zuider Zee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zuider Zee Guest House

Property: Zuider Zee Guest House
Address: 55 Fairway Drive | Near Ballito, Salt Rock 4391, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Salt Rock
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Zuider Zee Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zuider Zee Guest House offers four Comfortable Private Guest rooms with en suite bathrooms, B&B or Self catering, and two Self catering Log Cabins. Enjoy the panoramic sea views overlooking the valley below and the beach of Salt Rock embracing the warm Indian Ocean. All the Rooms have their own individual character in style and decor, DSTV, Ceiling fans, fully kitted out Kitchenettes and verandas with Braai/BBQ facilities, Serviced daily , and offering home-away-from-home’ European Hospitality. WiFi Hotspot. .English and Dutch spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Zuider Zee Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing