We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVED IT!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gramont
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gascony French Cookery School
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“LOVED IT!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We just completed the 6 day cookery school with David and Vikki-- celebrating our 40 years of togetherness in cooking. We could NOT be more delighted with the school, the location, learning, and most of all the FUN we had! First, the accommodations were delightful. Second, David and Vikki were such charming hosts it made the trip fabulous. And third, David and Barnard (the chef who runs the local Auberge) share such passion for cooking and food it was a joy to learn their styles and techniques! We have cooked for years, and done cookery schools before-- this one, was so full of fun that we learned things we never knew we didn't know! Perfect in every way! In fact, we have already recommended it to others --REALLY!!!

Room Tip: The location is charming-- at the foot of a 13th Century Chateau. The view-- amazing! They have a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
22
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Just back from a fabulous week. David, Vikki and Bernard were all so welcoming and the cooking instruction was superb. I managed to achieve some great results, with a little help. Really great cooking and serving tips. Already booked a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent three days. Definitely to be recommended, especially for anyone that wants a cookery course where you don't just stand and watch someone else do it all. David and Bernard really looked after us and we will be back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank D and S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Region of Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I will just add to the many glowing reviews. You will learn new skills and those skills won't involve spending hundreds on new kitchen equipment. You will prepare and eat delicious food, be surrounded by breathtaking scenery and leave thanking yourself for booking this amazing experience.
Thanks David, Vikki and Bernard!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Gramont Village alone is worth a weekend stay, the cookery school on top of this made it exceptional. David went out of his way to make me feel welcome and relaxed. The tuition from both David and Bernard was detailed, professional, approachable and most importantly very enjoyable. Covered an extensive amount of things in such a short time yet never felt like hard work. Am sure I am not the first to say I wish I had gone for one of the longer courses! Perfect weekend to relax and yet come away with a whole new skill set.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KieranJWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

I spent a wonderful week at the Gascony Cookery School in August 2013 while on long service leave in France. There were just 6 of us on the course of varying abilities but all were catered for. The course was exceptionally well run – cooking mainly in the mornings (beginning right on 9am!) and then guided visits in the afternoons. I loved visiting the various local villages, markets, wineries etc. I was travelling everywhere by train so this was a great way to see places which otherwise are too difficult to reach without a car. I would thoroughly recommend this course.

Anne Melbourne Australia

Room Tip: All rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazza60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

If you are looking for a hands-on, intimate and professional cookery course with fantastic chefs in an idyllic location then look no further than The Gascony French Cookery School. The chefs, David and Bernard, deliver expert tuition to small groups of students with a lot of one-to-one guidance. You are taken step by step through many traditional recipes and everyone in the group produces their own dishes. This course is very hands-on and I came away with many new skills and am really enjoying putting them into practice in my own kitchen. Being able to eat the fruits of our labour at the end of the day with my fellow classmates was the perfect end to each day. Vikki & David are wonderful hosts and the accommodation is fantastic, very spacious with all the modern amenities that you could require. With the school being located in the beautiful Gascon countryside there are spectacular views to appreciate with a glass of wine and many wonderful places to visit. A truly fantastic experience, thank you!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Gascony French Cookery School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gascony French Cookery School

Property: The Gascony French Cookery School
Address: Le Petit Feuillant, 82120 Gramont, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Tarn-et-Garonne > Gramont
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Gramont
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
David and Vikki Chance would like to welcome you to their French Cookery School and chambres d’hotes situated in the peaceful village of Gramont. A wonderful place to learn the unique skills of French cooking in an authentic and charming rustic environment. The historic village of Gramont is situated in Gascony, a region famed for its food and wine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Gascony French Cookery School France/Gramont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing