We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic week!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gramont
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gascony French Cookery School
Melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic week!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I was lucky enough to do the 6 day program earlier this month. It was a fantastic week!
I have left with new skills in the kitchen, an increased appetite for French food and the most wonderful memories of Gramont and its surrounding areas.
David and Vikki are fantastic hosts and really make you feel at home while staying at their absolutely beautiful property. The rooms are very comfortable and wonderfully furnished! The view is... well too nice for words! Bernard was also fantastic, it was great to see his kitchen and learn some of the dishes he serves in his restaurant.
The balance of cooking, eating and activities is wonderful. I would recommend to anyone wanting to learn new cooking skills, eat great food, meet fantastic people and have a fun week in France!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TammyPeacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
23
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We just completed the 6 day cookery school with David and Vikki-- celebrating our 40 years of togetherness in cooking. We could NOT be more delighted with the school, the location, learning, and most of all the FUN we had! First, the accommodations were delightful. Second, David and Vikki were such charming hosts it made the trip fabulous. And third, David and Barnard (the chef who runs the local Auberge) share such passion for cooking and food it was a joy to learn their styles and techniques! We have cooked for years, and done cookery schools before-- this one, was so full of fun that we learned things we never knew we didn't know! Perfect in every way! In fact, we have already recommended it to others --REALLY!!!

Room Tip: The location is charming-- at the foot of a 13th Century Chateau. The view-- amazing! They have a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Just back from a fabulous week. David, Vikki and Bernard were all so welcoming and the cooking instruction was superb. I managed to achieve some great results, with a little help. Really great cooking and serving tips. Already booked a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent three days. Definitely to be recommended, especially for anyone that wants a cookery course where you don't just stand and watch someone else do it all. David and Bernard really looked after us and we will be back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank D and S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Region of Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I will just add to the many glowing reviews. You will learn new skills and those skills won't involve spending hundreds on new kitchen equipment. You will prepare and eat delicious food, be surrounded by breathtaking scenery and leave thanking yourself for booking this amazing experience.
Thanks David, Vikki and Bernard!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Gramont Village alone is worth a weekend stay, the cookery school on top of this made it exceptional. David went out of his way to make me feel welcome and relaxed. The tuition from both David and Bernard was detailed, professional, approachable and most importantly very enjoyable. Covered an extensive amount of things in such a short time yet never felt like hard work. Am sure I am not the first to say I wish I had gone for one of the longer courses! Perfect weekend to relax and yet come away with a whole new skill set.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KieranJWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I spent a wonderful week at the Gascony Cookery School in August 2013 while on long service leave in France. There were just 6 of us on the course of varying abilities but all were catered for. The course was exceptionally well run – cooking mainly in the mornings (beginning right on 9am!) and then guided visits in the afternoons. I loved visiting the various local villages, markets, wineries etc. I was travelling everywhere by train so this was a great way to see places which otherwise are too difficult to reach without a car. I would thoroughly recommend this course.

Anne Melbourne Australia

Room Tip: All rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazza60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Gascony French Cookery School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gascony French Cookery School

Property: The Gascony French Cookery School
Address: Le Petit Feuillant, 82120 Gramont, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Tarn-et-Garonne > Gramont
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Gramont
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
David and Vikki Chance would like to welcome you to their French Cookery School and chambres d’hotes situated in the peaceful village of Gramont. A wonderful place to learn the unique skills of French cooking in an authentic and charming rustic environment. The historic village of Gramont is situated in Gascony, a region famed for its food and wine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Gascony French Cookery School France/Gramont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing