We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”

Victoria Inn & Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Roche
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victoria Inn & Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Roche
2 reviews
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Would recommend food lovely staff friendly and a warm welcome with a real log fire

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jenningfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    52
    14
    3
    9
See reviews for
41
52
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

stayed for one night when we dropped our son off at university. Large clean room. Friendly staff. walk directly into the victoria inn next door for a good meal. Ideal place for a short stay. Bit away from Cornwall scenic areas for a longer stop. Going again this weekend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Previous trips to this pub have seen an expensive menu in the past with no main meals priced below £15 however on this occasion prices had come down considerably and were now affordable.
Whilst the rest of my family went for the steak, ale and mushroom pie (£8.25), I went for the Pork Dijonnaise (£9.75).
The Pork Dijonnaise comprised of two fillets of Pork Loin chop in a Dijon mustard and white wine sauce with chopped onion. Vegetables included new potatoes, parsnip, carrot and sprouts. The size of the portion was very generous and I expect some people would have struggled to finish it all. The sauce was excellent and the vegetables cooked well, in particular the parsnips and sprouts which were not sharp, nor acidic.
My brother and father said the Tribute ale was good but I was driving so stuck with a softie.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thejimster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cahors, France
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

The Victoria Inn & the Travelodge Hotel next door are now two separate entities. Whilst booking into the hotel we stopped for lunch at the Victoria Inn and really wished we hadn't! The meal was described on the menu as a melange of various shellfish and fresh cod, whilst on the board in the bar, their fish was said to be "As fresh as it gets" ( an interesting 'weasel' phrase that means nothing) . Now, in Cornwall, where you're never more that a few miles from the coast, that ought to indicate 'Fresh Fish' - but not apparently at Roche. Whilst our mussels were really fresh, the shrimps were like rubber and obviously out of a freezer and the 'fresh cod' was left unskinned and cut up into tiny squares which were so tough as to render them uneatable. We each left virtually all that had been served to us. The staff were courteous & helpful but refused to accept that their 'fresh fish' was largely rubbish. If they were right, one can only wonder at just what had been done to the fish during its time in the kitchen! Avoid.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Franco4650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed at the adjoining Travelodge and ate here every night of our 4 night stay. We found staff to be courteous & helpful & the food to be good.

We were lucky enough to arrive on a Sunday & started with a great Sunday carvery.

The lasagna, fish & chips and steak and onion baguette were popular choices amongst our party and the Tribute ale was particularly popular with my husband :).

Tuesday night was quiz night & there was a really good atmosphere though tables were at a premium so it may be best to arrive early.

All in all the friendly atmosphere and good food contributed to a nice holiday

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

I do not fully understand the comments about poor service. This restaurant operates on an order from the bar and have it delivered to your table basis. Staff were perfectly pleasant although you do not deal with them to the same extent as if you were receing full table service. We had continental breakfasts on 2 days. These are excellent and vastly better than the pre-packed travelodge offering. The price of £5.00 is reduced to £4.50 if you pay in advance the night before.
We had dinner on one night. My wife had the carvery which is available on Sundays. The vegetables were excellent but the meat was a little cold and limited in quantity. I had a meal from the main menu which offers fairly average pub food at perhaps slightly more than average prices.

The Travelodge appears to be linked in with this review even though the reception at the travelodge claimed that it is a different company. The room at the travelodge was very basic. There are no drawers only open shelves and the 2 chairs are the plastic on metal framed type that you find in secondary schools. Even the toilet paper is of the cheapest type possible.

Room Tip: Look for somewhere more comfortable if you are staying more than 1 night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimjim47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

I have read of people who have left malicious posts on Trip Advisor to discredit a rival. I can only assume that the last comments come under that category as there comments are nothing like the service my wife and I received when we stayed there for 7 nights in early September.
The staff in both the Travelodge and Victoria Inn were friendly, polite and courteous at all times.
The food was lovely and hot and exactly what we ordered. We had no problems whatsoever with the waitress.
I note that one respondent says about the 'breakfast girls'. If that person had truly stayed there he would have known that there was only one person serving breakfast...and that wasn't always female either.
I seriously doubt if these people ever make a formal complaint because I doubt they ever stayed there.
It's about time Trip Advisor got the bottom of these malicious and erroneous posts that try to discredit a place.
This is not the first time we have seen absolutely rubbish complaints about a place that we know for a fact are totally untrue.
I'm pleased to see that the comments by DaleB79 are much closer to the truth than the rubbish posted by the two previous people.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sportsman0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roche
3.4 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
6.2 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Premier Inn Bodmin Hotel
16.3 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#1 of 1 in Threemilestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Bodmin Roche Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Inn & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Inn & Lodge

Property: Victoria Inn & Lodge
Address: Victoria Road | Roche, Roche PL26 8LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Roche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Roche
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Victoria Inn And Lodge
Victoria Hotel Roche
Cornwall Inn Victoria
Victoria Inn & Lodge Roche, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing