We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious home style food”

Trattoria da Paolino
Ranked #7 of 24 Restaurants in Panarea
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Paris, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious home style food”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Had a great lunch here, simple un-fussy food prepared in a very traditional Sicilian style, as Nonna would make it.
(As close to my Sicilian Nonnas cooking as I've ever had!)

I had grilled prawns which were fresh and cooked perfectly, the caponata is super tasty and their eggplant cake was surprisingly delicious also.

Seems more of a local haunt than a tourist trap, and it helps that it's hidden away from the main port.

If you can take the occasional screaming family arguments coming from kitchen with a grain of salt, then Trattoria Paolino's is a must when visiting Panarea.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank verve88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    87
    24
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our favourite!!”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Located up the hill, at the back of port area. Best value, great service, local atmosphere. Highly recommended

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Like in a movie”
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

Paolino is a character like out of a movie. When asked what is good he answered "everything", but then he agreed to choose a selection of pastas and fish for us. Our favourite was pasta with melanzane and ricotta. A true sicilian experience away from the gitzy restaurant with music down in the port

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vanni V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food, ok/bad service, ambience ok”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We ate here in May, which is off season for the island, so we were alone in the restaurant. We looked at the menu and I asked about the offer which had been on the notice board outside the trattoria at lunchtime (before the strong winds). Instead of telling us about the options on the set-price menu, the proprietor told us that the set price "touristica menu" included a pasta and a meat course. He then took away our menus and we were too tired to argue about it.

The antipasti consisted of some bruschetta which had obviously been in the fridge since the day before. When he brought us the pasta, it was over-cooked by Italian standards. The sauce was good however. The fish was very well cooked and well seasoned.

The two courses were 25 euros per person and were not huge. We felt the experience was expensive for that amount of food. The next day, when we walked past the restaurant, we were also frustrated to see that the "touristica menu" included fresh fruit for the 25 euros.

Overall we decided that this wasn't somewhere that we would return to and that we would have been better off returning to Angelena's in the port.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Il posto giusto”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We were there early in May. The island is quiet at that time of the year and Da Paolino was our favourite spot. The place was, as they say, real. A wonder. And every time at dinner a view on the little flames that spurted out of the Stromboli.

The hosts were wonderful people - everything we had there was excellent ...but let me recommend the Mille Baci and the melanzane pie. I still miss it. Lo consiglio anche io proprio a tutti.

Enjoy,

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria da Paolino also viewed

Panarea, Aeolian Islands
Panarea, Aeolian Islands
 
Panarea, Aeolian Islands
Panarea, Aeolian Islands
 

Been to Trattoria da Paolino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing