We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cloister Ettal”

Benediktinerabtei Ettal
Ranked #3 of 7 things to do in Ettal
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cloister Ettal”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Amazing cathedral sized church high up in the Alps. None of these materials were here, they all had to be brought. It must have been such an understaking and the results are fabulous! The buildings are huge, but when you go into themain part of the church, it appears just as one small building. I'm not sure if the other buildings are off limits, or just not accessable from the main chapel. Anyway, it is beautiful! Plus, it's not every day that you can get a monk (and a cute one!) to serve you blueberry liquor!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank EconElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    73
    16
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Very rich and pleasant to visit. Sealing with lovely painting.

Outside scenery worth the stop and taking photos.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Atmospheric and Ancient Abbey in Bavarian Alps”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Very quiet and atmospheric Abbey and Cathedral in Ettal. We didn't see too many monks as they were probably all working away making their famous beers and liquors.
Cathedral very impressive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank David363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Beautifull, but better plan ahead”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We went to the monastery with getting a tour of the brewery there at the top of our agenda. When we arrived we learned that we needed to be part of a large group and make reservations long in advance to get a tour. We did not find that information in any of the materials we read in advance. Neverttheless, the monastery was beautiful. We walked through the inner courtyard and the the church itself. We also tried to sneak into the brewery or at least get someone to talk with us there. In the end, we walked around back and went to the facility where farmers bring there cheese just behind the back wall of the monastery. We'll plan better next time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NoPegasus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very impressive!”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

So much art in one place! Take your time to stroll around. Pictures are allowed as long as you stay behind the lines. The best way to see the ceiling is take a seat and lean backwards. Some advise: be quiet and do not disturb those who are praying.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Benediktinerabtei Ettal also viewed

Ettal, Upper Bavaria
 
 

Been to Benediktinerabtei Ettal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing