We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A baroque jewel”

Benediktinerabtei Ettal
Ranked #3 of 7 things to do in Ettal
Certificate of Excellence
Rivoli, Italy
Level Contributor
227 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“A baroque jewel”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We arrived on a sunny spring afternoon and the impressive dome suddenly appeared in front of us.The inside of the Abbey is lovely: it's all pastels, gold leaf and delicately carved cherubs.
If you are driving from Linderhof or Oberammergau, you can leave your car at the first parking on the left. It's free and it's really a very short walk to the church.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Patpet58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    72
    16
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Beautiful monastery surrounded by the Alps”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This monastery is a lot bigger than I thought it would be. Just as impressive as its mighty structures is the interior of the main chapel. It is too bad we could not access the brewery as it was closed. I think it is one of the "essential" visits while in Bavaria, alongside Neuschwanstein (obviously), Hohenschwangau, Oberammergau and Wieskirsche. I think one of the big pluses of visiting this place, other than the magnificent monastery itself, is the surrounding. On a clear day, you can take really great photos as the monastery is right up there at the Alps. Another big plus for me: it seems it receives little visitors, especially compared to Neuschwanstein.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HenryOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“beautiful!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Visit the church to see the statute of Virgin Mary that was brought from Italy and gifted by Ludwig in 1330.
The little store right in front of the monastery has a good selection of Ettal schnapps and some really soft and warm woolen socks (angora, lamb...etc).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Natalya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Benedictine Monastery "Benediktinerabtei Ettal"”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

While in Munich for the Oktoberfest, my very dear friends took me touring, and we stopped at the 'Benediktinerabtei Ettal' (Ettal Abbey a Benedictine Monastery) it is in a great little village of Ettal in Bavaria, Germany.
Entering the grounds is very impressive but entering the Benediktinerabtei was outstanding.
the decor was something one can take in by being there in person, it's gold masonry and architecture is so impressive.
One need to look up at the dome ceiling which is also so impressive.
It was well worth the visit, I can recommend it if you get a chance.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaptHarry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cloister Ettal”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Amazing cathedral sized church high up in the Alps. None of these materials were here, they all had to be brought. It must have been such an understaking and the results are fabulous! The buildings are huge, but when you go into themain part of the church, it appears just as one small building. I'm not sure if the other buildings are off limits, or just not accessable from the main chapel. Anyway, it is beautiful! Plus, it's not every day that you can get a monk (and a cute one!) to serve you blueberry liquor!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank EconElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Benediktinerabtei Ettal also viewed

Ettal, Upper Bavaria
 
 

Been to Benediktinerabtei Ettal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing