We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful surrounding, quiet restful sleep, good breakfast...”
Review of Hotel Blaue Gams

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Blaue Gams
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ettal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I have been here about 5 times over the years. Inexpensive, nice, clean. View of the monastery and village, great hikes all around, close to Oberammergau, Linderhof Castle and Garmisch. I have been there with friends and my teenage grandchildren, everyone enjoyed it. Good restaurant on premises, plenty of parking. Satisfying breakfast selections, good coffee, fresh rolls, fruit, etc. you have a choice, stay in the older part with quaint furniture or the new hotel next door with balconies, elevators etc., a couple of Euros more, still moderate prices, ESP. For this scenic area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dreambunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

Nice Bavarian style hotel, all wood with a view over the little Ettal village. The hotel has a restaurant, which unfortunately does not seem to serve the local kloyster beer. We got a room in the guesthouse side of the property, with a balcony facing the mountain. It was clean, two separate beds, the bathroom (2 points) was ok. Overall, a good value for money deal - Make sure you visit the local basilica and kloyster where they brew the Ettaler beer!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatteoS_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This hotel has the feel of a grand country club, but is very peacefully located and quiet. The rooms were spacious and clean. It is located in the midst of the wilderness, next to a monastery. We walked through the woods to the town of Oberamergauer, attended a service at the monastery, and were able to easily drive to the Ludwig castles. Dinner in the restaurant was wonderful and affordable!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Very nice hotel with options to just stay there: nice Little restaurant romos, big terrasse with panoramic view, cosy rooms. Lots of possibilities for walking, sightseeing, relaxing. I highly recommend the "Vesper" in the catedral daily at 18:00 hours, where you may enjoy the chants of the monks of the monastery. The village of Ettal is very small, but anyway you will find nice restaurants for food and beverage.

Room Tip: If you like relaxing and quite places, this is your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hanimro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We were in this hotel last year and this year we are planning to go again. I recomend this hotel because of good price and quality.

Breakfast were perfect and delicious. We were in restaurant for a dinner and beer too. Everything was great !

Nature and mountains around hotel were amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Overall there was nothing really wrong with our stay there but.... I personally think that this hotel is in need of a renovation, especially the bathrooms. We didn't like the menu on offer so we walked down the hill to another restaurant. I suspect that there are nicer hotels in the area which are in better shape than this one.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyDinks69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This hotel was lovely with lots of charm and appeal. It was clean and comfortable with lovely views of the village of Ettal. The breakfast was good. Internet access would have been nice.

Room Tip: We faced the hillside, which was green, lush, private and very quiet. Our family had a room facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kdnwbrry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ettal
2.1 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#1 of 25 in Oberammergau
294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Klosterhotel Ludwig der Bayer
5 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Wittelsbach
Hotel Wittelsbach
#2 of 25 in Oberammergau
283 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Arnika
Hotel Arnika
#13 of 25 in Oberammergau
134 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kopa
Hotel Kopa
#5 of 25 in Oberammergau
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blaue Gams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blaue Gams

Address: Vogelherdweg 12, 82488 Ettal, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Ettal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ettal
Price Range: £67 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blaue Gams 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Blaue Gams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing