We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Hotel Torrecerredo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Torrecerredo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This is a very nice hotel with the most wonderful service. The team could not do enough for us. I fully reccommend this hotel and the guided walks they offer. It is based in the heart of the Picos with easy access to the mountains and not far from the beach. They have links with many local businesses and helped to arrange some trips for us.

Thank you

Room Tip: Great view from the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2012

a very warm welcome... a basic but comfortable hotel with English proprietor. All staff most helpful. Wines exceptionally cheap and good value. Food plentiful and good. Some bedroom decoration and facilities a bit "unusual" but a great location and very good value.

If you are seriously fussy you may not like it but most people would be very happy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wheeler1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Stayed at Hotel Torrecerredo last week, couldn't fault area, hotel, staff. Food was out of this world, packed lunches excellent. Facilities for drying clothes, clothes washing service. Superb guide showed us spectacular and breathtaking parts of the Picos, knows everything about wildlife and wild flowers and also knew British equivalents.

Ann and Ray Schofield - Lancashire

Room Tip: Hotel very quiet during night - only used room for sleeping in spent most of time outdoors, evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I recently stayed here on an Exodus tour. The service and hospitality at this hotel are top notch. Everyone was most eager to meet our needs in a timely fashion. You cannot go wrong staying at the Hotel Torrecerredo.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Footsteps154949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Getting a grip on the aura of something as abstract as a one-star hotel is not simple and I realise it is foolish to continue. I had no intention ever of making a contribution to TripAdvisor.
This is it.
The difficulties of running such an establishment must be complex and bizarre if an upgrade to multiple stars is to be avoided and guests in the Posh, Rich and Boring categories be kept at bay.
At the time of our First Failed Visit (some years ago) we assumed they had forgotten the trivial detail of an approach road. That this was not the case and neither was the ancillary detail of a sign pointing up it, we discovered a year later – the unseen sign, at the time of First Failed Visit, being the subject of a political chainsaw attack hypothetically allied to, I suspect, the address on a brown envelope, the magnitude of its content, or the timing of its delivery.
During this, our First Successful Visit, a confusion of sensations intermingled with the rapid passage of time: enough English was spoken to render my 4 words of Spanish (tinto, habitacion, tirolina & I forget the other) to the realm of underuse; the uncomfortable mattress failed to keep me awake (I should add I’ve never yet found a comfortable one – anywhere); the no-choice with free booze menu was equally untaxing & relaxing; the free booze scenario almost slithered into the bar where no-one thought to write down consumption & a wide-of-the-mark guessed stab at its magnitude had to be made on departure: & someone unseen had the onerous task of positioning Pico Torrecerredo just outside the window every morning. I imagine it uncommon to name the highest peak in the local group after the hotel but suppose this occurred during that period when difficulty of access to either was of the same order of magnitude. Tarmac has helped smooth the passage up the hill (not yet the mountain – which probably requires a cable car boost, the dedication of a whole day & a Sherpa or so) and the owners have been known to guide convoys from as far off as Roscoff (on reflection, I recall this happening only during a later Successful Visit when the bad breath of an unpronounceable Viking volcano clipped airlines’ wings as airports filled with silent grounded planes & grew overcrowded with noisy ersatz passengers, many of whom took to the seas in mimicry of the Dark Age Viking invasions which, before the advent of inclusive tours, filled otherwise boring periods of history).
Over the years we have been provided with a small collection of biroprint drawings profoundly indicating salient waymarks on roundabout routes which might be trod primarily as a way of filling time between breakfast & dinner but incidentally entertaining exposure to things botanical, geological and the occasional hairy goat which may or may not be sononymically connected with the name of the local town (there is continuing discussion as to whether Arenas de Cabrales actually translates as Sandy Goats). While we wait for the inevitable increase in value on the world art circuits we have categorised them thus; a/ those we have done b/ those we intend to do but have been diverted from by follow-up suggestions, or c/ those we have done in 4 times the estimated time due to such exigencies as the only bridge being swept away, roads being closed to act as temporary stores for ‘Road Closed’ signs, surreptitiously placed bars or the serendipitous discovery of the Werewolf Orchid, known only to everyone else. Such events serve to update the mental databases kept by the proprietors which may, on occasion, be individually unique – and always worth comparing.
The longer routes have been stitched together into a book semi-authored by one of the proprietors which, by dint of a long print run, is currently (2012) available at reception. Those expecting a promotional bottle of cheap Cava brut nature on purchase of a copy must realise this only occurs on very auspicious occasions when a sizeable number of the duty Celtic Gods are not otherwise employed in propping up the Spanish economy.
In summary:
DISADVANTAGES:
gradual improvements may threaten an upgrade;
free booze has gone the way of all things;
ADVANTAGES:
a discount system historically related to time of advance booking but now triggered by return visits;
handy for varieties of activity including mountain rescue;
soda water is sometimes available for proper spritzers;
geographical location – provided you like mountains, rivers, caves, flora, fauna, history;
the right price;
staff – there are some
73 miles from Santander – tarmac all the way – just over an hour from Brittany Ferries parking spot

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Picos
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Basic, clean and friendly place to stay - ideal for walking in the Picos with great views of the mountains beyond. The bar has a pretty, flower filled terrace where we spent many a happy evening after dinner with other walkers.
I'm a little surprised at the comments from the Australian member who is complaining about the breakfast service. The reason for the delays was because members of their group were using the tea kettle to fill flasks (instead of asking the kitchen to do this for them) and the buffet was running out of food because so many of them were 'pocketing' the bread, ham, cheese and fruit to take out for their packed lunches! Beats paying for it I suppose. Before they came and after they left there was no problem at all.
None of our group had any problems with smell in the rooms even though we were there at the same time.
I recommend this hotel to anyone who requires good, reasonably priced accommodation in this beautiful walking area.

Room Tip: All rooms are blissfully quiet, some have views of the mountains and others overlook the meadows. Gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ho11yberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Have just spent a wonderful week being shown the beauties of the Picos de Europa. Hotel Torrecerredo is a great base with a superb view of the mountains to the south.

Pilar acted as guide for myself and friend and was full of interesting stories about the history and geography of this fascinating region. We walked at our own pace and had plenty of time to drink in the amazing scenery. May proved to be a perfect month to see the meadows and beech woods at their greenest. My abiding memory will be of the constant background music of the cow bells and the carpets of wild flowers.

There was no shortage of good food to keep us going (very generous portions and huge picnic sandwich!) and the staff looked after us very well. The room was also comfortable with plenty of hot water for that all important post walk shower.

It was hard to leave at the end of a very enjoyable week.

Room Tip: Rooms facing south have a great view of the mountains. In high summer facing north might be better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arenas de Cabrales
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rural El Torrejon
Hotel Rural El Torrejon
#9 of 9 in Arenas de Cabrales
227 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Picos de Europa
Hotel Picos de Europa
#3 of 9 in Arenas de Cabrales
208 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel La Casa de Juansabeli
Hotel La Casa de Juansabeli
#1 of 9 in Arenas de Cabrales
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arenas de Cabrales
Hotel Arenas de Cabrales
#6 of 9 in Arenas de Cabrales
98 reviews
3.3 mi away
Arcea Hotel Mirador de Cabrales
Arcea Hotel Mirador de Cabrales
#7 of 9 in Arenas de Cabrales
71 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Balcon de la Cuesta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torrecerredo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torrecerredo

Address: Barrio de Vega | Picos de Europa, 33554 Arenas de Cabrales, Cabrales Municipality, Spain
Region: Spain > Asturias > Cabrales Municipality > Arenas de Cabrales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Arenas de Cabrales
Price Range: £66 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Torrecerredo 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you like: small, owner-managed places brimming with character and run by caring, direct, unpretentious, humorous hosts, with great food, views, and wildlife, the lived-in, the unexpected, the artistic, and even the eccentric. We are for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Torrecerredo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Torrecerredo s l

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing