We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in Cabrales”
Review of Hotel Torrecerredo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Torrecerredo
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in Cabrales”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Really nice place to stay near Piqos de Europa! Nice people, clean rooms, fantastic nature with picturesque views. The kitchen has vegetarian menu. Staff speaks English. Nearby is a cheese museum. You can even ask for a bicycle if you need to.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mishablank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    38
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
30
93
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Very much enjoyed my stay at Hotel Torrecerredo. I was one of 14 with an Exodus group and stayed for a week. Loved the informality and genuine friendliness of the owners, Pilar and Jim. They were very keen on all of us having a good time and along with their excellent team looked after us well. The rooms were spotless. I loved opening my windows in the morning and qazing at the views and listening to the cow bells. Being a bit out of town adds to it's uniqueness from other hotels in the area - but its nice to be close enough to the village to make the odd trip down.
Great breakfasts with the best poached eggs I have had in a long time. Am planning to return with my family - who would especially enjoy the canoeing!

Room Tip: I like the second floor at the back - looking out onto the meadows and hills - No 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmskiCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This is a very nice hotel with the most wonderful service. The team could not do enough for us. I fully reccommend this hotel and the guided walks they offer. It is based in the heart of the Picos with easy access to the mountains and not far from the beach. They have links with many local businesses and helped to arrange some trips for us.

Thank you

Room Tip: Great view from the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs UK
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

a very warm welcome... a basic but comfortable hotel with English proprietor. All staff most helpful. Wines exceptionally cheap and good value. Food plentiful and good. Some bedroom decoration and facilities a bit "unusual" but a great location and very good value.

If you are seriously fussy you may not like it but most people would be very happy.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wheeler1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Stayed at Hotel Torrecerredo last week, couldn't fault area, hotel, staff. Food was out of this world, packed lunches excellent. Facilities for drying clothes, clothes washing service. Superb guide showed us spectacular and breathtaking parts of the Picos, knows everything about wildlife and wild flowers and also knew British equivalents.

Ann and Ray Schofield - Lancashire

Room Tip: Hotel very quiet during night - only used room for sleeping in spent most of time outdoors, evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I recently stayed here on an Exodus tour. The service and hospitality at this hotel are top notch. Everyone was most eager to meet our needs in a timely fashion. You cannot go wrong staying at the Hotel Torrecerredo.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Footsteps154949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manaccan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Getting a grip on the aura of something as abstract as a one-star hotel is not simple and I realise it is foolish to continue. I had no intention ever of making a contribution to TripAdvisor.
This is it.
The difficulties of running such an establishment must be complex and bizarre if an upgrade to multiple stars is to be avoided and guests in the Posh, Rich and Boring categories be kept at bay.
At the time of our First Failed Visit (some years ago) we assumed they had forgotten the trivial detail of an approach road. That this was not the case and neither was the ancillary detail of a sign pointing up it, we discovered a year later – the unseen sign, at the time of First Failed Visit, being the subject of a political chainsaw attack hypothetically allied to, I suspect, the address on a brown envelope, the magnitude of its content, or the timing of its delivery.
During this, our First Successful Visit, a confusion of sensations intermingled with the rapid passage of time: enough English was spoken to render my 4 words of Spanish (tinto, habitacion, tirolina & I forget the other) to the realm of underuse; the uncomfortable mattress failed to keep me awake (I should add I’ve never yet found a comfortable one – anywhere); the no-choice with free booze menu was equally untaxing & relaxing; the free booze scenario almost slithered into the bar where no-one thought to write down consumption & a wide-of-the-mark guessed stab at its magnitude had to be made on departure: & someone unseen had the onerous task of positioning Pico Torrecerredo just outside the window every morning. I imagine it uncommon to name the highest peak in the local group after the hotel but suppose this occurred during that period when difficulty of access to either was of the same order of magnitude. Tarmac has helped smooth the passage up the hill (not yet the mountain – which probably requires a cable car boost, the dedication of a whole day & a Sherpa or so) and the owners have been known to guide convoys from as far off as Roscoff (on reflection, I recall this happening only during a later Successful Visit when the bad breath of an unpronounceable Viking volcano clipped airlines’ wings as airports filled with silent grounded planes & grew overcrowded with noisy ersatz passengers, many of whom took to the seas in mimicry of the Dark Age Viking invasions which, before the advent of inclusive tours, filled otherwise boring periods of history).
Over the years we have been provided with a small collection of biroprint drawings profoundly indicating salient waymarks on roundabout routes which might be trod primarily as a way of filling time between breakfast & dinner but incidentally entertaining exposure to things botanical, geological and the occasional hairy goat which may or may not be sononymically connected with the name of the local town (there is continuing discussion as to whether Arenas de Cabrales actually translates as Sandy Goats). While we wait for the inevitable increase in value on the world art circuits we have categorised them thus; a/ those we have done b/ those we intend to do but have been diverted from by follow-up suggestions, or c/ those we have done in 4 times the estimated time due to such exigencies as the only bridge being swept away, roads being closed to act as temporary stores for ‘Road Closed’ signs, surreptitiously placed bars or the serendipitous discovery of the Werewolf Orchid, known only to everyone else. Such events serve to update the mental databases kept by the proprietors which may, on occasion, be individually unique – and always worth comparing.
The longer routes have been stitched together into a book semi-authored by one of the proprietors which, by dint of a long print run, is currently (2012) available at reception. Those expecting a promotional bottle of cheap Cava brut nature on purchase of a copy must realise this only occurs on very auspicious occasions when a sizeable number of the duty Celtic Gods are not otherwise employed in propping up the Spanish economy.
In summary:
DISADVANTAGES:
gradual improvements may threaten an upgrade;
free booze has gone the way of all things;
ADVANTAGES:
a discount system historically related to time of advance booking but now triggered by return visits;
handy for varieties of activity including mountain rescue;
soda water is sometimes available for proper spritzers;
geographical location – provided you like mountains, rivers, caves, flora, fauna, history;
the right price;
staff – there are some
73 miles from Santander – tarmac all the way – just over an hour from Brittany Ferries parking spot

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Picos
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arenas de Cabrales
0.3 mi away
Hotel Naranjo de Bulnes
Hotel Naranjo de Bulnes
#6 of 9 in Arenas de Cabrales
82 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Picos de Europa
Hotel Picos de Europa
#4 of 9 in Arenas de Cabrales
191 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel La Casa de Juansabeli
Hotel La Casa de Juansabeli
#1 of 9 in Arenas de Cabrales
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rural El Torrejon
Hotel Rural El Torrejon
#9 of 9 in Arenas de Cabrales
210 reviews
3.3 mi away
Arcea Hotel Mirador de Cabrales
Arcea Hotel Mirador de Cabrales
#7 of 9 in Arenas de Cabrales
63 reviews
11.2 mi away
Parador de Fuente De
Parador de Fuente De
#1 of 2 in Fuente De
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torrecerredo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torrecerredo

Property: Hotel Torrecerredo
Address: Barrio de Vega | Picos de Europa, 33554 Arenas de Cabrales, Cabrales Municipality, Spain
Region: Spain > Asturias > Cabrales Municipality > Arenas de Cabrales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Arenas de Cabrales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Torrecerredo 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you like: small, owner-managed places brimming with character and run by caring, direct, unpretentious, humorous hosts, with great food, views, and wildlife, the lived-in, the unexpected, the artistic, and even the eccentric. We are for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Torrecerredo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Torrecerredo s l

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing