We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best 2 star hotel in Spain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Rural El Torrejon
Reviewed 8 June 2013

OK, maybe I don't have a lot of data points to support that statement, but this hotel is an absolute delight. It is in perfect condition, which is to say it looks brand new, but with classic, old hotel charm, it's crisp and clean, the craftmanship in the millwork (cupboard doors, etc) is a site to behold. Just fabulous. The grounds had lovely gardens, the backrooms have views of the Picos (see photo). The host was very friendly, although with pretty limited English (glad I studied some Spanish!).

The breakfast isn't much, but we simply supplemented with yogurt and the incredible artisanal cheese locally available.

Since we were there in low season (mid-May), I was all set to negotiate the price, but at 45 Euros per night, it was already a steal, and I didn't have the heart to given that there was only one other room taken!

Would love to spend more time in the Picos, and stay here.

Room Tip: Room at the back has the views of the Picos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tashasmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

This hotel was absolutely wonderful. I stayed for 4 nights while exploring the Picos De Europa. The staff is wonderful and very helpful. My room was beautiful, clean and comfortable. The price couldn't be beat! Every morning I got to wake up looking at the mountains. It was easy to find good meals in the small town of Arenas. With a rental car I was able to explore the national park and take several hikes. This was a vacation that I will never forget and may have to repeat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HodgeAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Spent four nights in this hotel-- it was one of the best hotel stays I´ve had. The space itself is very warm and inviting, perfectly clean and comfortable, and the central location is difficult to beat. Arenas de Cabrales is a perfect base for exploring the Picos de Europa, as well as the rest of Asturias.

The staff is very friendly and helpful, as well. El Torrejón was like a home away from home! I wouldn´t hesitate to recommend this place to anyone of any age.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sriley3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2008

El Torrejon is the perfect hotel for walkers and wildlife lovers who are looking for reasonably cheap accommodation without any lack of comfort. In spite of our inability to speak Spanish the staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. Our room was clean, well furnished and had a view from one of its two good sized windows which could best be described as fantastic. I am fifty nine and I have not experienced a better view of a rural scene from any hotel I have stayed in.
The hotel does not provide meals other than a basic breakfast of coffee, cake and toast but two minutes away, in the centre of Arenas, there are several bars capable of providing hungry customers with a bit of protein.
Arenas is a busy village in August but a pleasant one. It is also handy not only for 'The Picos' but also for the hills to the north where pretty stone built villages nestle in craggy limestone gorges. Nearby griffon vultures nest. For those eating out in the evenings in Arenas the village could be a vegetarian's nightmare.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RamblerSuffolk_UK_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2005

We stayed here while hiking in the Picos del Europa and basing ourselves in Arenas de Cabrales. This hotel had beautifully decorated and spotless rooms, each one different from the next. This hotel is off the main street in the small town and borders on farm land that runs into the mountains. It's quiet and peaceful, with the sounds of goat's bells ringing. It's a short walk to the main street and the restaurants, shops, etc, and close to hiking trails. The off-season rate was 35 euros, including breakfast. The host is friendly and the staff was also very nice.

1  Thank LostLagoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank sandra t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Cristina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arenas de Cabrales hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Picos de Europa
Hotel Picos de Europa
#3 of 9 in Arenas de Cabrales
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arenas de Cabrales
Hotel Arenas de Cabrales
#6 of 9 in Arenas de Cabrales
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Torrecerredo
Hotel Torrecerredo
#2 of 9 in Arenas de Cabrales
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Casa de Juansabeli
Hotel La Casa de Juansabeli
#1 of 9 in Arenas de Cabrales
170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Naranjo de Bulnes
Hotel Naranjo de Bulnes
#5 of 9 in Arenas de Cabrales
87 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arcea Hotel Mirador de Cabrales
Arcea Hotel Mirador de Cabrales
#7 of 9 in Arenas de Cabrales
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rural El Torrejon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rural El Torrejon

Address: Arenas de Cabrales | Cabrales Asturias, 33555 Arenas de Cabrales, Cabrales Municipality, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Asturias > Cabrales Municipality > Arenas de Cabrales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Arenas de Cabrales
Price Range: £43 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rural El Torrejon 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
En una zona tranquila de Arenas de Cabrales, puerta de los Picos de Europa, te ofrecemos nuestro alojamiento rural.Nuestro Hotel en Arenas de Cabrales, inaugurado en el verano de 2012, una casona a orillas del rio Cares, con una extensa finca poblada por castanos milenarios. La finca conserva tambien los restos de un antiguo molino.Disfrute de nuestras instalaciones, asi como de nuestro servicio y atencion de los que estamos trabajando en esta su casa, para que tanto su estancia en el hotel como en nuestro pueblo sea lo mas placentera y se lleve para siempre el mejor recuerdo, tanto del establecimiento y personal.El pueblo de Arenas, asi como todo el municipio, le invitan a descubrir un paisaje que desafia las leyes de la naturaleza, un tesoro botanico, un prodigio geologico y un reto a la imaginacion. Tan insolito y unico, como son los picos de Europa, y playas preciosas del litoral Cantabrico, muy cercano a nuestra casa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Rural El Torrejon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing