We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel with fab location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arcea Hotel Mirador de Cabrales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is one of the entrances to the Garganta de Cares (although it's better to start the walk from the other end in Cain de Valdeon - less uphill and more spectacular) and also Bulnes. The hotel is OK and is almost certainly the best option in this otherwise nothing of a town. Basically it's the car park for the two main attractions, and there is precious little else. Lots of nice river rushing noise at night, and otherwise quiet as there's nothing here. Staff seem very chaotic here - takes ages to check in or out and often there's no one around.
Very nice food and lots of it in the restaurant below, but the service is slow and dreadful - whether you are there for dinner or breakfast. Mind you, you get the same surly slow service at the other place to eat, so there's not much choice.
I would not stay here again unless I wanted to come back to the two main walks - for that it is an excellent location - but if you want charm or service in your hotels, look elsewhere!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for Arcea Hotel Mirador de Cabrales
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

Theres not much in Poncebos at the northern end of the Cares gorge walk, compared with Cain at the southern end. This hotel looked the nicest and was clean and comfortable. Food is served in the restaurant on the ground floor - the menu Asturias is good value and the local beer is good. Breakfast was disappointing - but the coffee good.

The room and bathroom were of average size but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AR-Greenwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We (2 from Denmark) stayed at this hotel on the 19/7 and 20/7 2012.

We found that this hotel is very tidy and clean.

The two ladies (the staff) were friendly and very helpful. They made sandwiches for us for walking the Rio Cares route.

During the night you can hear the pleasing sound of Rio Cares outside the window.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2008

Stayed here 5/9/07 for one night. Room 114. Paid 63 Euro prpn room only. Booked at the hotel on arrival in Poncebos.

Small hotel in a tiny village, dramatic setting among tall mountains. The views from our room were outstanding - make sure to get a room with a view. The room was quite plain but adequate and spacious. Good bathroom with bath. Price is quite cheap for Europe, but more expensive for Northern Spain - but the view is worth paying for. Ideal location - many good walks including the Carres Gorge. Evening meal, which included Asturias beans and kid, in the bar/restaurant was one of the most memorable of the holiday. We could not have breakfast as we had not booked it, we thought we had, but this was probably a language misunderstanding, the staff did not speak English and our Spanish is limited.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Martin_from_Duffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nerearte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alba G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ElisaMar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arenas de Cabrales
3.2 mi away
Hotel Naranjo de Bulnes
Hotel Naranjo de Bulnes
#6 of 9 in Arenas de Cabrales
87 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Picos de Europa
Hotel Picos de Europa
#4 of 9 in Arenas de Cabrales
201 reviews
3.4 mi away
Villa de Cabrales Hotel-Apartamentos
Villa de Cabrales Hotel-Apartame...
#8 of 9 in Arenas de Cabrales
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Parador de Fuente De
Parador de Fuente De
#1 of 2 in Fuente De
743 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel La Casa de Juansabeli
Hotel La Casa de Juansabeli
#1 of 9 in Arenas de Cabrales
164 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Torrecerredo
Hotel Torrecerredo
#2 of 9 in Arenas de Cabrales
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcea Hotel Mirador de Cabrales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcea Hotel Mirador de Cabrales

Address: Aldea Poncebos s/n, 33554 Arenas de Cabrales, Cabrales Municipality, Spain
Region: Spain > Asturias > Cabrales Municipality > Arenas de Cabrales
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Arenas de Cabrales
Price Range: £36 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Arcea Hotel Mirador de Cabrales 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arcea Hotel Mirador de Cabrales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing