We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't expect a traditional 4* hotel - this isn't one”
Review of Hotel Touring

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Touring
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Carpi
Certificate of Excellence
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Don't expect a traditional 4* hotel - this isn't one”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed here recently and would not rate it as a 4* - its a good 3*. Also don't expect a happy greeting on reception - you won't get it but its not only the hotel staff who are unfriendly, it seems to be an area thing. The only time the staff in the breakfast area smiled was when the manager walked in to get a coffee. As soon as he left the room the smiles dropped very quickly. The rooms are clean but with very hard beds and very flat pillows but they did provide us with more when we asked. The bathroom was clean with a powerful shower though the head could have done with the clean, the water jets came out at angles. Breakfast selection is very good though we din't have any of the hot food but the pastries were delicious. Shame the coffee came out of a machine but it was okay. Good free wi-fi. Overall the hotel was average, its just a shame no one smiled during the whole time we were there - and yes, we did smile at them, plenty of times, they looked at us as if we were mad :-). Also we had no "goodbye" when we checked out.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peacemakerukuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoMalavasi, Direttore at Hotel Touring, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your time writing a review,
We regret you felt the Hotel Staff and the whole area of Carpi unfriendly, we truly believe there might have been a misunderstanding. Hotel staff is always polite and friendly and always respect customer privacy and manners; as well as people from this area are well known for their excellent hospitality and warmness.

Hotel breakfast includes hot dishes also: in the buffet you can find scrambled eggs, eggs with bacon, and also request to the staff eggs bull's eggs, with or without ham, plain omelette or omeletthe with cheese or ham.
There is a self-service coffe machine and you can also order with no additional cost a coffee, a cappuccino to our breakfast room room staff. You must have had our wonderful cappuccino.

Thank you for the indication for the shower, it is important for us to know, this helps us to make a better service.

I’m sure for your next visit to sweep away this bad impression you had about the people living and working here.
Hope to see you soon.
Best regards
Marco Malavasi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    92
    27
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
37
10
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The room decor is very basic, but very neat and clean. Bathroom has only a shower. Good amount of international plugs. Aircon quiet and efficient. The free Wi-fi impressed me. The hair dryer is unfortunately one of those bathroom things! Cannot blow dry hair. No coffee inroom facilities and no room service. Very friendly front desk people. I ate at the close by , re artu, very good. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floristry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoMalavasi, Direttore at Hotel Touring, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your review, we are happy that you had a pleasant stay here with us.

The room service is available for the breakfast, for lunch and dinner, we are sorry that you could not use it.

We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Great room, spacious and very clean. Very comfortable but not suited for extended 'hang time' in the room. Wifi was strong throughout the building and I was able to get a password for free wifi on all 3 of my devices! Try getting that in the States... The customer service by the staff was also excellent. Unfortunately, my Italian is non-existent but all of the staff spoke English. The lounge area near the lobby was spacious and a great place to connect with people and have a drink before dinner. The restaurant was phenomenal with a wonderful outdoor eating area. The company I was visiting had never eaten there but vowed to return in the future. The location to other eating and drinking establishments near the enormous and beautiful Piazza Martiri is also a big plus. Finally, the train station was a two minute walk which makes for an easy trip to Modena or Montova. I visited Montova and didn't regret it for a second.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoMalavasi, Direttore at Hotel Touring, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear John,

We often host peoples who are traveling for business and for us it is even more important to make them feel relaxed, as if they were at home.

We are happy that your stay was enjoyable.

See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilassar de Mar, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

The location is nearby the city centre. Rooms are fair enough, clean and free Wifi access with excellent signal. Haven't been on the fitness centre but looks good. Kind service. bar is not too large but enough to have some quiet drink.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoMalavasi, Direttore at Hotel Touring, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Albert,
Thank you very much for your review, it was a pleasure for us to host you.
See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Most People know that I prefer the friendly atmosphere oh the "Boutique Hotels" - small and cozy.
But if you want luxury 4 stars . The Touring Hotel IS the MAX . Quiet elegance with thick walls. So you can use your wifi with passcode and chat til late or get up early, without disturbing the people next door. The hotel is Immaculately Clean with a nice comfy robe and thick towels + slippers.great bath products. The beds are v-e-R-y comfortable and spacious . I Have lived in Italy for 17+ years and have seen almost everything from " - 0 star to 5 +." Hotels Touring IS one of the best. I had a rehearsal that lasted til 12 midnight..not a problem...Great value. Great breakfast, alla Americana. Very friendly staff.. It IS one of the few Hotels standing after the earthquake..So Book early.. There IS a restaurant on the premises.

Room Tip: Within walking distance to the historic center, Italy's 3rd largest piazza ..Don't miss th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flo-towner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoMalavasi, Direttore at Hotel Touring, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Guest,
What can we say to thank you for this wonderful review?
We are very happy that you were so good here, and we hope to see you soon.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Just stayed at the Touring Hotel in Carpi, Italy. The hotel is very easy to find being on the corner of the street to the rail station and only one block away. This is a good hotel for the business person. The rooms are spacious; the rooms are clean; the bathrooms are generous in size. I stayed for a week and enjoyed a good breakfast each morning to set the day up right.
The hotel in very close to enerything including good restaurants and good entertaining venues. I am very impressed wit the helpfulness of the staff 24 hours. They were great in getting me away from the hotel on time very early in the morning to get the plane.
I will be staying here again whenever I have business in the area. In fact, I would drive from Bologna each night to stay here.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room on the upper levels facing the back. Less light from the street but you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoMalavasi, Direttore at Hotel Touring, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear Mr. Bruce,
Thank you very much for your review, we are very impressed and pleased by the fact that you would drive from Bologna to Carpi every day to be with us.
We hope to see you soon.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsens, Denmark
Level Contributor
285 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Have actually stayed here two times before getting time to review it. First time I had a room with relatively newly refurbished bathroom - the second time it was a smaller corner room (it also appeared i bit more busy) where the bathroom most likely was the original green-tiled.
Anyway the room was spotlessly clean and the bed gave an excellent sleep quality.
Since the facade is floodlighted, the blackout curtains is of good use. The double glazing provides excellent sound barrier, as the hotel faces the road.
The WiFi is free, but unfortunately limited to one device - but upon request late one evening, I god a second slip with access codes - this has of cause the implication, that you need to pair the devices with the correct codes.
Breakfast is excellent with a few choices of hot meals and many different types of bread and cereals, freshly made coffee per request (their caffé latte is excellent).
In connection with the hotel is a really good restaurant - Ristorante La Bottigliera - but this is a different story.
Originally there has been a bar in the lobby area, this has been closed, but it has partially been taken over by the restaurant, and later on my colleagues and I could get a cold beer from the reception - this is good service.
The hotel is really conveniently located near the beautiful main square in Carpi (a real beauty of a renaissance piazza flanked with a portico with 52 columns and the Palazzo dei Pio, which is now the town hall). Just in this area are a lot of fantastic shops and restaurants - and I would guess a lot more lively during summer than in wintertime.
But Turing is an excellent stay in Carpi - for both business and pleasure.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the yard do not have facade lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarsDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carpi
1.4 mi away
Hotel Carpi
Hotel Carpi
#2 of 3 in Carpi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gabarda Carpi Hotel
Gabarda Carpi Hotel
#3 of 3 in Carpi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Dei Medaglioni
Hotel Dei Medaglioni
#1 of 2 in Correggio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Modena District
6.5 mi away
Hotel Rosso Frizzante
Hotel Rosso Frizzante
#1 of 1 in Sorbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#2 of 2 in Correggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Touring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Touring

Property: Hotel Touring
Address: Viale Darfo Dallai 1, 41012, Carpi, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Modena > Carpi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Carpi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Touring 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Touring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Touring Hotel Carpi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing