We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COULD NOT BE BETTER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Les Sables d'Or
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stella-Plage
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“COULD NOT BE BETTER”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I stayed at the Sables D'or the weekend of the final run off of the 2012 French Presidential Elections. To say the staff were helpful is an understatement. I single out Jessica for praise. Not only is her English reasonable, when you get into conversations with her, she is charming in her manners and helpful in every way. My two friends and I were originally booked for 1 night only but we stayed for an additional 2 nights as we were so happy with the location, rooms, service and staff.

This was in spite of some drunken "Clown" setting off the fire alarm and waking the whole hotel at 01.00. whilst trying to have a "sly smoke in his bedroom." Fortunately there was no fire but it did confirm that in the event of a real emergency, the fire alarm systems do work.

The downside, is the hotel does not have an on site chef/kitchen at present. Whether this will change, remains to be observed. I however, will return very soon to somewhere I am happy with and know what I am getting for my money.

There is no swimming pool at this hotel and no facility to say this in the review check boxes.

JOHN BURROWS (PRESTON)

Room Tip: Rooms in the annexe tend toi be quieter than main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JOHN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    93
    44
    24
    42
See reviews for
86
85
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Copthorne
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Going by the reviews I'd read I thought this was going to be ok. The room pictures looked promising but our room should be used for the cleaners. It was small and the view was of the fire escapes and roof. The room was next to the staircase and all you could hear in the evenings was the sound of stomping feet, suffice to say that not a lot of sleep was had. There was no tea/coffee facilities and a sign advising you not to use your own !. Breakfast was sufficient but have had better elsewhere and at 9 euros each quite expensive, and they charge the kids. We had a major issue leaving early as they charged us for the full stay and at 90 euros a night, very expensive for a 2 star hotel. Hotel had no restaurant and there are limited restaurants in Stella Plage itself.

Room Tip: Any room away from the staircase but the it's a lottery which room you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Squiffy1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stella-Plage hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Pleasant enough simple hotel, clean, nice breakfast, family run and very helpful. Bit surprised by busfull of English school children, we should have read "tripadvisor for that one!, but they were well catered for and gave us no trouble. No teamaking facilities which is always a dissapointment in any hotel. Most of the area "closed" as off season but that was our fault for going in March! Lovely beaches around and enough places open to eat or drink if limited. No lift in hotel, 2 floors to carry luggage.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alysonteapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

In complete contrast to most of the reviews here (several of which I note are from children), we WILL go to this hotel again, in fact we've already booked. Last year was MY first time but we were with a school which has used the hotel many times and their staff are on good terms with the hotel staff.

Our pupils were already aware of the rules of the hotel and we saw no problem with these - they are, after all, for the safety and well-being of all those on the premises. Some of the complaints I have found on here are frankly ludicrous:
- Moderate the volume of your voices, especially in the evenings? God forbid you should
consider anyone else in the hotel!
- Fed up of drinking water? Words fail me on this one.
- Didn't like the continental breakfast? Er - clue in the name, it's not a British fry-up. I'm
amazed at how many people expect to be served the same as they would eat at home
when they are abroad. Yes there were some odd food combinations, but we ate what we
liked and left what we didn't. Not difficult, except for our fussy eaters.
- Can't change the TV channel? - it was all in French anyway, and to be honest our lot were
too tired to bother with TV!
- Can't get wifi access? What did we do before wifi / Internet? Without, that's what! The world
won't end because you can't go on Facebook...
- Small rooms and tiny bathrooms? If you want 5 star, pay 5 star prices...

We also knew about the 10 Euros deposit against breakage / damage, and this was factored into our trip costs. The week before our visit there had been a party of school children (not British thank goodness) who had caused a LOT of damage; this meant two of our staff had to share a room as several were out of action whilst repairs were being made. The manageress was in tears as she told us about this.

None of us had damaged plugs (May 2011) so I can only assume the damage was done after we left. I would have made a big fuss about allowing pupils to use rooms where there were any risks.
The only problem we had with the hotel is that they just could not cater for a pupil with severe allergies - even though we had explained fully (in fluent French) that he would need alternatives and could we please not have any nut products in our meals or packed lunches, we still had to check everything that was offered. However, this seems to be an issue throughout France. They weren't too good with our vegetarians either.

I'm really sorry that other people hated this hotel but it seems only fair to present the other side of the story. At the end of the day you get what you pay for, and as far as we were concerned it was clean warm and comfortable. We had no complaints from our pupils.

Room Tip: Some are larger than others. There was a good one with a separate seating area - it had a sofa in it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KayW988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Having read some horror reviews on Trip Advisor last week regarding this hotel, I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel, staff and services. The staff were both polite and professional taking time to ensure that we were happy with our stay. The room was excellent value for the two star price and was spotless. The continental breakfast was great with a a decent choice of food. Fellow Brits remember that not everybody eats cooked breakfast! This hotel outstripped a two star hotel recently used in Suffolk on all fronts. I would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Stay here in june with 43 pupils aged 9-11 +4 teachers+deputy head.NEVER have we ever delt with owners like it. we arrived early and had to wait on the bus For over an hour then to have to wait even longer while the owner gave each child a big list of rules then to be told to pay 10euros each child deposit. hotel looks great until you take a better look but still we was happy to enjoy our trip until the next day of get up to breakfast to be greated by an angry man (owner) shouting at the children in french.when we asked what the problem was? the man kept shouting and walked off .It got so bad that we hated going back after a fab day out and took the children out down the beach till late as possible to avoid the owners. one day it rained so we came back to the hotel in the afternoon.went to go into our room but the owner wouldnt give us the keys said we were not allowed in the hotel till later that day. so we had to eat our lunch on the bus because we wasnt allowed the Hotels packed lunch on thir premises !! As teachers this put a lot of stress on us that we had NEVER had on other trips before. we tried to keep a lot of it from the children.on the last day the owner claimed that the children had put black marks onthe door and a few other things.... the woman owner then wanted to charge 80euros the deputy took picture and said that they had been there before us and would not pay they owner then said she would call the police! we said ok then but after us calling our tour rep and then getting intouch with owner we did not see any police!! I have read the other reviews by other schools and can confirm that this is NOT THE HOTEL FOR CHILDREN .I am now looking at next year school visit and will be checked out hotel reviews before we book

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham uk
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

my daughter stayed here with her school not one of them were fed well cramped bed rooms very poor bedrooms most of the plugs in bedroom did not work there where made to stay on the bus when they arrive for about 75 mins the food was dreadful they treated the children like second class citizens made them pay 10 euro deposit each some got this money back some did not one poor lad did not get his back because he had been sick are children not allowed to be ill now over all the children had a good time out and about and all the other places where fine just the hotel was the problem. look at the photos this was the meal one night french food i don't think so

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moboDurhamUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stella-Plage
0.5 mi away
Les Pelouses
Les Pelouses
#1 of 2 in Stella-Plage
58 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#4 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
720 reviews
5.3 mi away
Neptune Hotel
Neptune Hotel
#2 of 10 in Berck
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Novotel Thalassa Le Touquet
Novotel Thalassa Le Touquet
#11 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
1,688 reviews
1.5 mi away
Auberge de la Renaissance
5.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Berck sur Mer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Sables d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Sables d'Or

Property: Hotel Les Sables d'Or
Address: 1184 avenue de la Concorde, 62780 Stella-Plage, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Stella-Plage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stella-Plage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Les Sables d'Or 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hôtel des Sables d'Or est situé à Stella Plage. Devant vous, vous aurez le plaisir de contempler la forêt et les dunes ou encore notre jardin arboré et sa multitude de fleurs.Construit dans les années 1900, la bâtisse principale a vu défiler le 20ème siècle et la fin de la dernière rénovation date de cette année, loin des cubes de l'architecture moderne, nos chambres ont chacune leur forme et leur cachet. Les deux bâtisses du jardin, si elles sont plus récentes ont été aussi rénovées en 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Les Sables d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Sables d Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing