We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disgrace to a lovely region”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Les Sables d'Or
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stella-Plage
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I went to the Hotel Sables D'or on a school trip last June. This 'hotel' was supposed to be an upgrade from where we were previously supposed to be staying, but unless the other hotel was a landfill, there is no way this was an upgrade.
On arrival, the people there, who don't speak English, decided we had to wait on the coach for 75 mins, despite the fact we arrived 5 mins late. Check in took almost an hour and a half. It was at this time we began to notice the dilapidated building. Still, we had looked forward to this for months, so we ignored it as to keep positive.
Eventually, we got our room, to find the door falling apart. On opening the door, a terrible stench hit us. The carpet was red, but in areas it was so old, it had gone black. One of the lights in the bathroom above the sink didn't work. The bathroom stunk even worse than the main room. Mildew was present above the toilet, which didn't flush properly. More on the bathroom later.
Back in the main room, we decided to check the place out, as we had been told to report any problems to the teaching staff with us. We opened the wardrobe, which also stunk, and found that the middle shelf twirled round with the slightest touch. My cousin's French-English dictionary fell down the back of the wardrobe, so we pulled it forward to find dirty socks, hair grips and cobwebs behind the wardrobe. The desk was all scratched, as was the mirror on top of the desk. The chair was broken and worn. The curtains had a hole in them and were fading. The window ledge was so chipped and broken it was only half there. The radiator in the bedroom was hanging off while the bathroom radiator was rusty and had leaked, forming an orange stain on the floor below. There were also orange stains on the side of the wardrobe, the wall above the desk, the bathroom door and the shower tub.
We found a hole by the bathroom window where spiders were coming in and out, and the sealing on the windows were broken. The plug socket in the bathroom was hanging off (the teacher said it was the result of a bodge job). The shower didn't work, and kept falling down, so we just left it on the floor of the filthy tub. The shower wall was mouldy and unclean, and there was no frosted glass in the shower door or the window, meaning people could see right in from the street anyway. The corners were filled with cobwebs and filth, we kept shoes next to the bed so we wouldn't have to walk on the floor. The beds were comfortable but ridiculously narrow, and the pillows were hard as rocks. Apparently, the teaching staff had been told we couldn't touch the tiny TV's. The rooms were large enough but basic even for a 2-star. Our friends room had large gaps under and above the door. They had a large patch of the wall completely eroded and replaced with damp, causing the room to be filled with flies. Their shower tub did not drain properly, meaning they had to wait at least 5 mins after they were done in the shower before they could get out otherwise the bathroom floor would flood. Breakfast was ok, but the packed lunches were really bad, especially if you didn't like nuts, which a lot of people don't (I do, but my cousin is allergic, they didn't say the tiny cake slices were nutty and its only because I ate mine first that he knew not to eat it because of the nuts). We had tea at a local hotel restaurant, which was disgusting quality, but that's not to do with the hotel. The garden was just overgrown grass and weeds, with a plastic swing set and wooden stairs and platform (no slide) which looked about to come out of the ground. All in all, a disgrace to this lovely region of France.

Room Tip: If you have the misfortune of staying here, choose a second floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kalahari234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

Cosy beds, very quiet, spacious. It was posher than I expecte. Lovely food! A nice range of food for breakfast. Situated in a brilliant location ideal for going out for the day and going to the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hatrick_Hubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We booked late and found this hotel well situated and good value for money. It was close to main street, in a lovely quiet residential area. The staff were friendly, the room was clean, overlooking gardens, and beds were very comfortable. It was perfect for a couple of days in northern France, offering great value for our family of four, right next door to popular and more expensive Le Touquet.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lappy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

The food was absolutely horrible and only improved slightly to disgusting after complaints by teaching staff to the hotel owner.
The staff were friendly and visibly disgusted at the owners attitude towards school parties with the way they were treated and the food that was served.
While the children were working on projects and quietly talking amongst themselves in the room, the hotel owner again threatened them with garden sleeping and to keep the noise down.
Obviously the owner treats school parties as a cash cow and doesn't care.

This person should not be allowed to run this type of establishment

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeangasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

As part of a group of 5 friends using two cars, I chose this hotel because of ease of parking and it's proximity to Le Touquet, our original choice. We were all pleasantly surprised at it's quiet location in a very pleasant residential area. Just right for a few days break in northern France.
We stayed in one of the annexes occupying three of the four rooms. Our room (305) was quite large which compensated for the disappointing outlook (after all, we were only going to sleep in there). Let's say we didn't have to draw our curtains for privacy either. Could not fault the cleanliness of the room, bedlinen, shower room etc. Continental breakfast is the same as most B+B's in France - ham, cheese, bread, yoghurts, cereal, croissants, coffee, tea, juice.
You get what you pay for, a good 2* star, with friendly staff, comfortable beds and hot water on demand. Would stay there again if visiting that area. Our surprise find was Stella-Plage beach not far away. All our party were pleased and have given me the task of booking our next break together!
I was not aware that this was a dog-friendly hotel until we met the boxer mentioned on one review. However, at no time did we see any mess in the garden.

Room Tip: There are plans on the outside of the annexe that we stayed in showing the layout of the rooms. One...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Although the receptionist seemed friendly the Hotel lacked basics cleanliness, our room was tired, smelt of damp, sewerage and had stained bedsheets. Therefore we left the Hotel immediately upon arrival and checked into a competitive Hotel of which we have no complaints. Regrettably after notifying the Hotel reception of our disappointment and that we could not stay given the conditions the full hotel charge was still applied to my credit card

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed 2 nights on 26/27 July , 2 adults and 2 teenage boys, in a family room. A last minute booking but on the face of it a resonable deal, but I was a bit disappointed with the general standard of the hotel. Our room was just about big enough, based in an annexed building with its own front door. Despite it touching 30 degrees outside the radiator in the annexe entrance was belting out on full and woudn't turn off (one of the guest's comments in the book at Reception mentioned the heating not working earlier in the year - perhaps it's just an on/off switch) so the whole building was sweltering first night. Our bathroom, compact might describe it best, had no window and no ventilation. I'll leave the image and atmosphere to your imagination! Beds were comfortable enough, and breakfast was fine but I agree with another reviewer - a bit steep at €9. There is a pleasant garden with loungers and a swing for kids (it seems a family-oriented hotel) but there is a female boxer dog - friendly enough - who has done what dogs do around the gardens and it hasn't been cleaned up, so watch out if you have young kids crawling around. Having tried to watch the Olympic opening ceremony in the main bar we were ushered out at 11pm (10pm UK time - height of the action) as the girl was closing the bar - as in locking all the doors and going home. This was a problem as the door to the annexe wouldn't open, so there seems to be no-one around after 11. Brute force overcame the dodgy lock. Overall I thought the price (roughly £120 per night) was a bit much for the standard of the room and hotel generally, but with a bit more attention to detail it could be improved. This was a well-situated and quiet hotel, close enough to the main street but in a quiet side road. I would say it's a work in progress.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManofKent4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stella-Plage
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#4 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
769 reviews
1.5 mi away
Auberge de la Renaissance
5.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Berck sur Mer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Les Pelouses
Les Pelouses
#1 of 2 in Stella-Plage
77 reviews
2.1 mi away
Les Jardins D'Ulysse
Les Jardins D'Ulysse
#15 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
133 reviews
5.3 mi away
Neptune Hotel
Neptune Hotel
#2 of 10 in Berck
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Sables d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Sables d'Or

Address: 1184 avenue de la Concorde, 62780 Stella-Plage, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Stella-Plage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stella-Plage
Price Range: £42 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Les Sables d'Or 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hôtel des Sables d'Or est situé à Stella Plage. Devant vous, vous aurez le plaisir de contempler la forêt et les dunes ou encore notre jardin arboré et sa multitude de fleurs.Construit dans les années 1900, la bâtisse principale a vu défiler le 20ème siècle et la fin de la dernière rénovation date de cette année, loin des cubes de l'architecture moderne, nos chambres ont chacune leur forme et leur cachet. Les deux bâtisses du jardin, si elles sont plus récentes ont été aussi rénovées en 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Les Sables d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Sables d Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing