We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Pecherie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Pecherie
Certificate of Excellence
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Unusual having the rooms in a different building (about 400 m away from reception and the restaurant), but, none the less they were very good. Service was excellent, the evening meal one of the best I have ever had. Don't expect to lose weight dining here.
One downside to the room we had, it was on the third floor and there is no lift. Make sure you mention if you have a mobility problem.
We went off season and I'd imagine it would be very busy in the high season.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 'annex' do not have a lift so make sure to ask for a ground floor room should y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack_and_Amber2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    63
    28
    14
    2
See reviews for
15
129
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

A small, quirky hotel with an excellent restaurant. Great location (free parking) on a quiet square close to the beach. Its an old building with some add-ons so no surprise to find tight stairs, low ceilings etc. Although on the Normandy beaches circuit, Courseulles seems to cater mostly for French visitors and that is true of La Pecherie also.

Its main business is the restaurant, On a quiet Monday evening in mid October, it was doing good business - almost all French patrons. No sign of the notorious maitresse described in other reviews and the staff we met were charming and helpful.

Dinner - mostly seafood as you would expect - was exceptional and breakfast was excellent too. A genuine French experience and good value.

Room Tip: Its a small hotel; don't expect a palace. It is also in France; expect to be dealing with peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

We were very dissapointed with this hotel , prompting me for the first time to write a bad review of a hotel. Our room was tiny, we had no where to put our case except the floor, which meant climbing over it to get out of bed. The toilet was a no bigger than a cupboard, which really meant you had to leave the door open! The bathroom was a bigger cupboard, and no door, and so small you had nowhere to put your toiletries. It had a good shower. The room had shutters instead of curtains, which you could only close if the windows were shut, which made it unbareably hot during the night. We could not leave the shutters open as we overlooked the resturant below which looked directly into the room. We paid 110 euros for this room, which was way over it's worth. We had good value and good rooms for the rest of our stay in France, which made me realise, you should always check the room before you pay!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbie1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

A interesting stay in a quaint hotel with good views over the town. Handy to the beach and boat basin and priced very well.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HokiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC Canada
Level Contributor
225 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel is ideally located only a short walk away from the harbour and beach. The restaurant is good and you can dine inside or outside on the terrace. Our room was a good size. All rooms appear to be on the front of the hotel so they overlook the street (which is quiet at night) and also the terrace. This can be poor if you wish to retire early as the noise of people talking and the taped music drifts up into the rooms. As well, it is a wooden structure so if you are not on the top floor you most certainly will hear the people above you. Our breakfast was minimal compared to other places we stayed in on our 3 week trip in France. No cold meats, cheese or breakfast cereal-- just bread and croissant. Orange juice and coffee were good.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor to avoid noise from people above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljlp55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

We stayed one night at La Pecherie in late April 2011 and came away very impressed. At first glance we weren't sure about the hotel as the building is older and seemed a little rickety. The receptionist led us up to the top floor and down a hallway that we couldn't even stand up straight in, and we were really wondering what we had gotten ourselves into. Imagine our amazement when she opened the door and we saw our home for the night: a surprisingly large, very comfortable room with dormer windows and a fantastic view towards the beach! Everything was spotless and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom and shower were the biggest we had in any or our hotel rooms during our 2 week vacation in France, and there was plenty of hot water. We didn't watch TV at all, but the room was equipped with a very nice flat screen.

We decided to eat dinner that night at the restaurant downstairs, and the experience did nothing to dampen our enthusiasm about this hotel. It's not the cheapest place in town, but the food is excellent! My wife had the menu "Au fil des saisons" at 29 euros, and it was amazing. The meat dish came sizzling on top of a hot rock placed in her plate, and was incredible to look at as it tasted. My dessert included a mind-blowing fruit medley that came in a bowl made of apple slices held together with sugar. Amazing!

The hotel and area are very quiet and we had a great sleep. The only drawback I could imagine was that the floor was quite creaky. It didn't bother us any but I can imagine it may have been a little noisy in the room below us when we were walking around. Courseulles-sur-Mer is a sleepy little town. Even though we told them when we checked in that we would be leaving early in the morning, when we awoke at 7 am the place was dark, the front doors locked, and not a soul to be found anywhere. We were able to get out a side door to take our luggage to the car, but had to wait until 8 am for someone to show up so we could pay our bill!

All in all, it was a great little place to spend the night and I would not hesitate to stay here again if we ever make it back to Courseulles!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ailleurs75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courseulles-sur-Mer
0.1 mi away
La Cremaillere
La Cremaillere
#1 of 2 in Courseulles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#2 of 2 in Courseulles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Saint Aubin
Hotel Restaurant Le Saint Aubin
#1 of 4 in Saint-Aubin-Sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Le Beau Rivage
Le Beau Rivage
#1 of 2 in Luc-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
3.1 mi away
Le Clos Normand
Le Clos Normand
#2 of 4 in Saint-Aubin-Sur-Mer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
15.0 mi away
Hotel les bains de Cabourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pecherie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pecherie

Property: Hotel La Pecherie
Address: 7 Place du 6 Juin, 14470 Courseulles-sur-Mer, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Courseulles-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Courseulles-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Pecherie 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel restaurant La Pecherie is an old seaside inn completely renovated, 3-star since 2011 by the Ministry of Tourism. This is one of the oldest commerce in Courseulles sur mer without having changed name since 1981, nearly 30 years on from father to son Is location is unique because it is located 100 meters from the beach, the marina and downtown. Ambiance and decor immerse you in an unusual atmosphere where the customer has his place very rapidly in a friendly and comfortable atmosphere. A canopy style 1900 "Old Paris" performed by master craftsmen Illuminate the property for the delight of customers. His table is defined by a traditional kitchen where wild fish (Bar, turbot, sole, cod, place ...) Are present in will of tides and winds. Shellfish and seafood are also waiting for you. The classics are there for many years, kidney and sweetbreads casserole with pommeau cream sauce, bar in salt crust, grilled langoustines on stone, roasted camenbert in Calvados crust, the list is long. Certified Maitre restaurateur, this label provides a guarantee to our customers on our professional rigor and homemade dishes since many years. Renovated ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Pecherie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing