We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a great stay here”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Pecherie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Pecherie
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Had a great stay here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Spent 3 nights here over last weekend. Actually had rooms in the Manoir, just 300 metres or so around the corner. The rooms were compact but very nicely decorated and fitted out. We enjoyed the private parking and the quiet little park area behind the Manoir. Had dinner at La Pecherie on our first night and it was very good indeed. Would definiteley recommend this place, but note that the "ground floor" rooms in the Manoir have a small flight of steps to reach them.

Room Tip: Didn't see the rooms in the main hotel, but our rooms in Le Manoir were very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerfidiousAlgernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    64
    29
    14
    3
See reviews for
15
134
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Loved this hotel & would have liked to have stayed more than one night! The decor was quirky & unusual - our room was large & comfortable over looking the front of the hotel. We ate in the restaurant & the food was superb, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

good clean room, good shower and cleaned very well. Had a days use of the town bikes for free. Easy to park near for free. The restaurant was good but the drinks pricey, other restaurants offered better value, but no complaints on the food and service. Did not have breakfasts but they appeared on the bill, which they took off after i pointed this out.
Lovely little town, great market on Friday morning. if you like fish and seafood, place to go.Bit pricey at the hotel but good. hard bed but king size and could be noisy outside on the street, but France lost the football one night, so maybe that had something to do with it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerry2671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Rooms are either in the main hotel (very close to the beach) or in Le Manoir, a very French, impressive, attractive, old but tastefully modernised house about four minutes stroll away in a side street.

Our room was at Le Manoir. From the outside, the building is full of charm. We noticed it got lots of admiring glances and attention from passers-by, they think it is an expensive, impressive private house. Inside has been completely refurbished and modernised, but tastefully. Beware that there is no lift - to get to the top rooms you use a squeaky, old, steep wooden staircase. While part of the fun and OK for most people, these stairs are not suitable for the disabled, the very old, infirm etc, so be careful when booking.

Plenty of private, free parking right in the enclosed front of Le Manoir. There is a quiet back garden with lawn, trees, chairs and recliners. It feels like your own house!

No staff at Le Manoir. You get a code to open the front door and another for your room. This caused us no problems.

Despite being allocated the very top room, Le Grenier ("The Attic"), we formed the impression that it was the biggest in Le Manoir. We managed to peep into some of the other rooms during the week and they do seem smaller, sometimes very small.

Our quirky attic room appeared to be soundproofed, as we heard no noise from other rooms. A very adequate double bed plus one single (although that may have been specially put in for us, as we asked for two beds if possible). Good quality bed linen, comfortable beds. Two comfortable armchairs, a coffee table plus a foldaway table - all very useful. The usual inadequate lighting, although pretty. Bedside and overhead lights. A good TV showing only French channels. Excellent, free WiFi in the room and at the main hotel. Can't understand why someone else complains about the WiFi facilities!

In adjoining room, a modern toilet / wash room leading to a large, excellent shower room with a great twin shower (options of powered hand-held or soft overhead showers). Plenty of hot water.

Maid service every day - rooms cleaned, beds made, fresh towels, soaps and shower gels. No complaints about the cleanliness.

Our only annoyance is that there were insufficient drawers / cupboards for all our clothing. This would be be no problem for one or two nights, but we stayed a week.

Someone on here complains about 'piped music'. Rather unfair! There is no piped music in the rooms, only very soft music on the staircase / hall. No problem at all.

Staff were friendly and helpful. One man in particular speaks excellent English. A lovely lady on duty each morning at breakfast - not much English, but she is eager to help and will bring a hot chocolate drink on request. Comprehensive French buffet breakfast (12 Euros): a variety of cereals, yoghurt, ham, cheese, croissants, bread, jams, orange juice (canned), apples, mixed fruit (canned), coffee, tea, hot chocolate.

Whenever and wherever we stay, I always work out the bill before leaving. It's amazing how often the hotel gets it wrong! Sure enough, we were overcharged for the room and for the number of breakfasts taken. But immediately and without fuss, the owner (young man, always wore a scarf) checked, apologised and amended the bill. I am sure they were genuine errors.

This hotel is very close to the beach, the town and all the activities without being noisy. About 15 minutes walk or five minutes drive to the Juno Beach Centre (Canadian war museum, worth a visit). Courselles is a quiet seaside resort, not for those who want to go wild. Good, sandy beach. Plenty of good restaurants, lots of nice sea food.

We think they have really tried to make this a nice hotel. We would go again - but be aware of those stairs at Le Manoir!

Room Tip: Some rooms in Le Manoir seemed small. The top room (Le Grenier) was big enough, but the stairs could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sansmate80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

as our last stay after 3 weeks in Europe we were promised an upgrade and compliementary drinks on arrival ..........on arrival we were directed to a annexe to the hotel and a tiny room , very hot , poor internet connection, a cupboard for a loo and an odd bathroom ..... plus piped music! . We ate in the main hotel restaurant on the first night and the food was good but we felt rather overegged ! ...... better smaller restaurants in this pretty normandie village ...............

Room Tip: the annexe rooms are tiny , hot and have the smallest bathrooms every - not ideal !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

we stayed here for one night on route to Caen ferry port. The gentleman on Reception explained that they were full in the actual hotel but had a room in an annexe up the road. He went on to tell us that the room was small which didn't worry us because it was going to be for one night. We were pleasantly surprised - yes, the room WAS small but decorated beautifully and spotlessly clean (Sud). Free wifi was a welcome surprise and he only charged us 67 euros including tax. The next day I went to pay the bill and was once again impressed how attentive and friendly he was.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena3287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Unusual having the rooms in a different building (about 400 m away from reception and the restaurant), but, none the less they were very good. Service was excellent, the evening meal one of the best I have ever had. Don't expect to lose weight dining here.
One downside to the room we had, it was on the third floor and there is no lift. Make sure you mention if you have a mobility problem.
We went off season and I'd imagine it would be very busy in the high season.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 'annex' do not have a lift so make sure to ask for a ground floor room should y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack_and_Amber2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courseulles-sur-Mer
0.1 mi away
La Cremaillere
La Cremaillere
#1 of 2 in Courseulles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#2 of 2 in Courseulles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Saint Aubin
Hotel Restaurant Le Saint Aubin
#1 of 4 in Saint-Aubin-Sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ferme de la Ranconniere
4.9 mi away
Le Beau Rivage
Le Beau Rivage
#1 of 2 in Luc-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
#1 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pecherie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pecherie

Property: Hotel La Pecherie
Address: 7 Place du 6 Juin, 14470 Courseulles-sur-Mer, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Courseulles-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Courseulles-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Pecherie 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel restaurant La Pecherie is an old seaside inn completely renovated, 3-star since 2011 by the Ministry of Tourism. This is one of the oldest commerce in Courseulles sur mer without having changed name since 1981, nearly 30 years on from father to son Is location is unique because it is located 100 meters from the beach, the marina and downtown. Ambiance and decor immerse you in an unusual atmosphere where the customer has his place very rapidly in a friendly and comfortable atmosphere. A canopy style 1900 "Old Paris" performed by master craftsmen Illuminate the property for the delight of customers. His table is defined by a traditional kitchen where wild fish (Bar, turbot, sole, cod, place ...) Are present in will of tides and winds. Shellfish and seafood are also waiting for you. The classics are there for many years, kidney and sweetbreads casserole with pommeau cream sauce, bar in salt crust, grilled langoustines on stone, roasted camenbert in Calvados crust, the list is long. Certified Maitre restaurateur, this label provides a guarantee to our customers on our professional rigor and homemade dishes since many years. Renovated ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Pecherie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing