We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Chant des Oiseaux
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

P&V was perfect for this part of our trip. With 2 teen age boys the two bedroom gave us enough space and was more comfortable than a hotel. Having a kitchen was great. Good breakfast and not rushed to start the day.
5 minute walk to Juno beach and center. Good place to visit D-Day beaches and memorials.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs

Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    433
    90
    8
    8
See reviews for
528
210
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rödeby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We (me and my three youngsters) stayed for three days at P&V in Courseilles. Clean, nice staff, a functioning kitchen and a good view. The receptionist told me on our arrival that there was nowhere to get grocerys on a sunday because everything was closed in the village. I didn´t believe him so I took the car for a trip in to the centre, and sure enough, the Carrefour was open and so was the local bakery. A good example of poor service ! The pool area and the swimmingpool close at 1800 ! Incredibly bad since we would have liked to take a swim in the evening. In daytime one is out sightseeing!


  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs

Helpful?
1 Thank Fotbollsfarsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esbjerg, Denmark
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Average hotel Close to Juno beach. Pool was ok, services should have included internet, but that did not work fore the appartement, and nobody knew how to fix it. Polight personal. Did not include soap, toiletpapir etc.??? - just not right.
Not any large bolls and not enough sheeds (reception closes at 19).
We will og somewhere else next time.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ldniko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
187 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

While this residence-type place is ideally located within walking distance of the Juno Beach center and other attractions, it is run in a disrespectful way. We were NOT advised in advance that we would have to pay to rent towels, obtain toilet paper, or soap. We did not expect to make our own beds. We were given linen that was too small for the beds and the duvets. There was only one flat sheet and one pillowcase per person. What is this? A Salvation Army shelter? The "beds" are basically camping cots and are extremely uncomfortable. The one in the living area was stained and looked very dirty. Covering it with one flat sheet to sleep on it make me cringe. We were charged 6 Euros to rent one small and one medium towel. When we asked about dish soap, we were told that we could purchase a kit that contained many things we did not need. They did not sell just dish soap. They also did not provide toilet paper. There was a remnant left on a roll when we got to the place (see the photo) and we had to buy more.

We were there at a totally lax time of year - there were less than a dozen cars in the parking lot. However, it appears parking could become a problem when the place is full since people typically took two spaces each to park a single car. Maybe it's a European thing. There was a washer and dryer on site and they worked. However, there is only one set for many units. I would not bank on doing my laundry here when the place is busy.

The pool area was dirty and a large puddle of slimy water lay right at the entrance so it was impossible to get into the pool area without wading through it. How clean is the pool? My guess is as clean as that slime in the puddle.

Finally, the worse offenders were the totally unhelpful, snotty kids this place hired to pass for service personnel. Aside from just standing around reading information that was posted (we can read, too), they could provide no useful information. All they could say was that we had to pay extra for everything. These include towels, soap, toilet paper, the use of the room safe, toaster, etc... Finally, they were not able to provide a receipt for our stay - only for the extras! They also lied when they informed us that the bill would be emailed to us. It is not.

We tried to contact the company but there is no contact information on the website - except a link for bookings. We tried the email address provided when we booked the place and it bounced back.

We stayed at several places during our weeks in France and this place was by far the one that had the worst quality/price ratio and customer service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dondedieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bicester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Brilliant location, close to village. The apartments had most things you would require & were comfortable although in both we had problems with the extractor fan - 1 wouldn;t turn on, the other wouldn;t turn off! The showers were not exactly powerful but did the job slowly...
Good secure parking which was important to us as we travelled by motorbike.
It would have been good if there was a little shop on site selling tea, coffee, milk etc like most self catering places do...
The leaflet was in French only so a little transation was required to understand the services on offer but reception was helpful.
We arrived very late & struggled to find anywhere to eat in the village after 9pm & no convenient supermarket opening late....eventually a kind restauranteur allowed us some simple food (salad, mussels, coffee - she even sold us some teabags!)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crendon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courseulles-sur-Mer
0.6 mi away
La Cremaillere
La Cremaillere
#1 of 2 in Courseulles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
9.8 mi away
La Villa Andry
La Villa Andry
#4 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#2 of 2 in Courseulles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Port Guillaume
22.4 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Village Club Normandy Garden
15.4 mi away
Hotel les bains de Cabourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Chant des Oiseaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Chant des Oiseaux

Property: Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Chant des Oiseaux
Address: Chemin de la Tuilerie, 14470 Courseulles-sur-Mer, France (Formerly Maeva Residence)
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Courseulles-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Courseulles-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Chant des Oiseaux 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Chant des Oiseaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing