We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice”
Review of Hotel de Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This place is across the road from the beach and is very nice. The hotel has ample parking and a very nice restaurant. The staff is very helpful and to the point when we arrived showed us a few room and let us pick which one we wanted. The food at the restaurant is very good, but just like all of France is a little pricey compared to North America. Because the place is near the ocean it is on a main road and is a little noisy until 11:00 PM

Room Tip: get a room overlooking the ocean on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tomj895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel in May 2011. I had chosen this hotel due to it's location and we were not disappointed. When we arrived, we were promptly greeted and checked in. As we had been traveling by train, the hostess said she would keep the restaurant open for us. We went up a small flight of stairs to our room. The room was perfect for us. Small and very convenient, very clean. In the restaurant, we were able to order from the menu and had the seafood. It was very good. We also had the breakfast which was simple and fine for us.

They did have internet service that was a little hard to work because of the french Keyboard. But the lady at the front desk was very helpful with it.

On a historical note: this hotel was the original location for the German headquarters during the occupation, then taken over by the Allies after the invasion.

I couldn't have asked for a better location as it is right there on Juno beach. I also had the opportunity to walk 1 hr up the beach to Bernierer-sur-Mer to Canada House. I very much enjoyed the walk and the scenery. Juno Beach Center is also not far from the hotel.

I would definately recommend this hotel to stay in Courseulles-sur-Mer. Also, there was an open air market going on the Saturday Morning. It was so nice to walk in and out of the stalls , smelling the fresh bakery, the fresh fish, fruit and vegetables. I was able to purchase jewellery made out of amber with REAL shells, bugs and sea life from the sea. A very unique place to find that unique gift that no one else has.

If I was to come back to the area, this is where i would stay.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FtMacTompkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Having pre-booked, we had a confusing time when we checked in as they couldn't find our booking. Eventually we were given a room. We had asked for a 'grand lit' but the bed was small and the room pokey, rather grubby and the bathroom was shabby and we had to re-attach the loo seat! The room heater smelled as though it was about to catch fire, so we switched it off. The receptionist was off-hand. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Party39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

I visited the hoel at the start of the low season in early October 2011. I initially booked the hotel on line after searching for an Hotel with ' Frenchness '.
I went with my brother on a boys own type adventure - We're in our 50's.. and the criteria had to be sea view.. close to the town and a decent restaraunt.
We were not dissappointed in any way.
The room was comfortable and superclean. The bathroom was perfect.. the tv choices ok. Crisp sheets and opening french doors on to the balcony overlooking the sea. Beautiful air at night after what was for both myself and my brother the reald about this Gem of an Hotel.

Both evening we ate in the restaraunt situated just adjacent to reception.
We ate from the chefs Menu Gourmand and on the second evening a choice from the menu Gourmand & A la Carte.
The seafood friccasee with snail butter wowed both of us as a starter. Mark, my brother had lamb shank which just melted in the mouth. My Coquilles as a main were peerless. Acreme brulee seemed an honest choice for pud.. after the obligatory selection of local cheese... Now i know Creme Brulee isn't difficult.. but when its perfect- thats the difference. The House Red wine by the caraffe was excellent and good value.
Right then, first night over.. but then the second night capped it all...
Coquilles with a foies gras crust.? Breathtaking.. My brother was simply lost for words..
Mains.. A perfect fillet steak.. with a potato gratin, with a calvados mushroom and cream/garlic centre... We looked at each other like idiots throughout.. smiling and enjoying every mouthful.
Perfect Pear tarte tatin with caramel ice cream left him delerious..
The restaraunt was warm, cosy and personal. The service was superb and efficient.
Retiring to the foyer for a coffee and a debrief... to congratulate ourselves on this gem of a find.. the Manager and Owner Monsieur Michelle Bellemere appeared with a digestif for us on the house.. Beautiful Calvados served from what i can only describe as a Gothic looking bottle....

Monsiear & Madame Bellemere desreve to be very proud of their Hotel.. their waiting staff.... and without a shadow of doubt - their Chefs. Bravo !!

We both agreed that it would be a good idea for us to return in the summer to experience the full effect of Courselles sur Mer and its ' Environs ' !!

Quite simply.. as long as it was open.. and the restaraunt was taking bookings Anytime would be good enough.

Genuinely a hidden Gem and a guilty pleasure.

Thank you so much for an amazing experience.

Room Tip: Just email ahead with your room requirements and the reply will be sooooooo Quick! Impressed !
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
3  Thank nigelharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Nice family run hotel well situated with it's own restaurant but plenty of others right next door, so some good choice. Juno Beach is a couple of minutes walk from the hotel as is the Juno Centre. Easy to reach other D Day locations.

The staff at the hotel are very friendly, and while the rooms are small they are clean and comfortable and good value for money. The breakfast is excellent. Wifi is free with a code obtainable from the reception.

Highly recommended for Canadian visitors to Normandy given it's location.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank battlefieldhistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Our holiday started in the City of Paris and for Canada's Birthday we decided to travel to Courseulles sur Mer in Normandy,Canadians call it Juno Beach. We managed to get the last room for one night and were advised the dining room was just closing.
To our great surprise the lady who booked us in advised us to pick something from the menu and the meal would be prepared for us,she even advised us to goto our room and freshen up and she would call us.
In a short time we received a call to come down our meals were ready.
In my years of travel,I must admit,this was a first,to be taken care of so well,and not to have to leave to search for a open cafe in a small town late at night.
The hotel is older,but the room was clean and comfortable and it had such wonderful charm.
The staff were excellent,the young lady who served us our meal was quite pleasant.
You can see the seaside from the hotel,and the Canadian Juno Beach Center is just a few minutes walk.
We would not hesitate to return to this hotel,it certainly represents wonderful French Hospitality.
And one other thing,the local people assemble at the cafe/dining area in front of the hotel,
and chat away,we do not speak French,but did enjoy a little joking around with the locals,it was just so nice,we will always remember this experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nasoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

I live in Normandy where one of the local specialities is Moules Frites (mussels and chips / fries). I have eaten Moules in dozens of restaurants throughout the region but no where have they been better than the Hotel de Paris. For the perfect moules in a typically local setting, friendly service and great value - this place will take some beating.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank NormandyBattleTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courseulles-sur-Mer
0.1 mi away
La Cremaillere
La Cremaillere
#1 of 2 in Courseulles-sur-Mer
1,152 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Saint Aubin
Hotel Restaurant Le Saint Aubin
#1 of 4 in Saint-Aubin-Sur-Mer
191 reviews
4.4 mi away
Domaine de la Ranconniere et de Mathan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Le Beau Rivage
Le Beau Rivage
#1 of 2 in Luc-sur-Mer
269 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel de Normandie
Hotel de Normandie
#6 of 6 in Arromanches-les-Bains
268 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel de Lion sur Mer
Hotel de Lion sur Mer
#1 of 1 in Lion-sur-mer
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Paris

Address: Place du 6 Juin, 14470 Courseulles-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Courseulles-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Courseulles-sur-Mer
Price Range: £42 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Paris 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'hôtel de Paris is situated near the sea, 15minutes from caen and 2hours from Paris. Sea side resort, Courseulles is in the center of the landing beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing