We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Experience!”
Review of Le Vivier

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lion-sur-mer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Vivier
Ranked #1 of 2 Lion-sur-mer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Fantastic Experience!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Marie & Pascal are outstanding hosts!
We booked cate Fleurie for our family (two teenagers) at Marie's recommendation. Perfect!
The property is historic, quaint and you feel truly at home. All the little things they do help make it special.

We launched our Normandy coast exploration from here working south. we were provided maps, recommendations (including where to eat) and a strong drink after a long day.

We slept with the windows open and the church bells will wake you up at 8:00. Not a bad alarm!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
67
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nakskov, Denmark
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My family of 4 spent 5 great nights with Marie and Pascal in their fantastic house very close to the grand beaches (Sword). Le Vivier is just more than a hotel, as you stay in a private perfectly renovated manor house which is also the home of Marie and Pascal and their 3 dogs. We had 2 great en-suite rooms and enjoyed Marie's tasty breakfast with homemade jelly and perfectly made coffee. This is a warm recomondation and my family is already planning to come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThFab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My daughter and I stayed at Le Vivier for four days in 2013. We had a two bedroom suite that was well-furnished. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom everything you'd want. We used Le Vivier as home base to visit the Normandy Beaches, Bayeux, Mont St. Michel, etc. The breakfasts were homemade and terrific. The proprietor, Marie Collet, made sure we knew where we were going and made dinner reservations for us each night. My daughter speaks fluent French, but Mme. Collet could also speak English well enough to be understood. All restaurants were superb. I'd give Le Vivier six stars if I could.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had a very emotional and also fantastic time during the d day anniversary visit. We arrived on the later ferry from Caen but were made to feel very welcome on our arrival. The breakfast in the morning was very good and due to us needing to be up early they started the breakfast early just for us. The decoration and standard of the accommodation was excellent and the only complaint is that we couldn't enjoy the local bars and restaurants even more. We will be returning to spend more time in the area at a more relaxed pace next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The first when you arrive and you see Marie is: you know, that this lovely lady loves what she is doing and running a b&b is just what she ever wanted. You feel this everywhere, in the art decorating the hous, the cleanlyness of the rooms, the rooms itself, the garden, the breakfast and at least the advices you get for what to see and what to eat. At the evening she always asked if this was well, "because it is very imnportant for me that my guests feel very well".
The house is perfect renovated, your can park your car inside the inner courtyyard, you can use the garden and there was a welcome-drink.
Important to know: Marie is speaking english very well (not common in france) and there are three lovely (well educated) dogs! Thanks for everything to Marie and Pascal. mm

Room Tip: you should n´know, that in one room the bathroom is just over the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mm_Around_the_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sollentuna, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had a fantastic stay with Marie&Pascal in a very charming and beautiful house that´s been nicely renovated recently.We are a family of four quite tall people and the suite was very spacious for us and so nicely decorated. We had great breakfasts served by Marie with homemade scones&jam and even panacotta with fresh strawberries.We really felt like guests in their beautiful home with great hospitality. Our son forgot an Ipone charger that Marie sent to us without no hesitation. The place is well situated for exploring Normandie and the D-day beaches.

AnnaMaria&family from Sweden

Room Tip: If you are a family the sutie La cote Fleurie is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amb52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here for the first few days of a driving holiday in France, and wouldn't have minded if we didn't get to leave. Beautiful house and gardens, lovely little town perfectly situated for exploring Normandy. Pascal looked after us very well.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donnchadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lion-sur-mer
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Lion sur Mer
Hotel de Lion sur Mer
#1 of 1 in Lion-sur-mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
2.6 mi away
Riva Bella Hotel
Riva Bella Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Beau Rivage
Le Beau Rivage
#1 of 2 in Luc-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Ouistreham
Ibis Styles Ouistreham
#1 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western La Mare O Poissons
2.7 mi away
La Villa Andry
La Villa Andry
#4 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Vivier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vivier

Property: Le Vivier
Address: 27 rue Bertin, 14780 Lion-sur-mer, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Lion-sur-mer
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lion-sur-mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a 19th century mansion fully restored, two steps from the beach in the center of the small seaside town of Lion sur Mer (15 km Caen) on a plot of 2000 m2 of walled, Mary Collet offers a double room (160/200) small sea view, bathroom with wc and spacious family suite and a double room (160/200) attached to an other room (2x90/200), spacious bathroom with toilet. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing