We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Of Those Hidden Values”
Review of Hotel Bellavista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bellavista
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Valmadrera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Absolutely great stay at this small hotel on Lake Como. Room a great value with truly unbeatable views. The personal service friendly and as attentive I've ever experienced. Worth the minimal extra driving time to bypass best known cities in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EchoBravo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2013

our hosts were lovely and looked after us very well. The Lake view room was very comfortable and the winter/spring was lovely to leave the door open for a cool breeze. Breakfast was well appointed and we could not have wished for more.

Bellagio is a 20km journey up the road and well worth the trip... a little hair-raising on the narrow roads, and better done in a smaller car. Worth it once you get there though. Beautiful.

Room Tip: Definitely pay more for the lake view room and try booking direct as when we were leaving they say t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This is an amazing hotel that is worth every penny if you have the lakeview rooms. And it's well and beyond its three stars, especially by European standards too.

I've been to the big chains in Italy and the personalised service of this hotel (ran by a husband and wife team - just like Faulty Towers but saner and more organised!) is just that extra mile.

They even gave me a lift to the local restaurant 500 metres away when it was cold and rainy for me to do the schlep.

The rooms are big and the bathrooms are big too (really makes a difference in comparison to the chain hotels I have been to) and the bed was sturdy, pillows firm and the heaters worked well(it was freezing in Easter). Also got an Easter egg - nice touch.

Only downside is that you will need a car to get around the area. Lecco is a bit of a very quiet town. Charming, but less action. And dont get me started on the public transportation. The local restaurant is a good one - even gluten free - which is a pleasant surprise in provincial Italy. (I struggled to find one in the big cities!)

This is a perfect spot for a couples vacation. Just don't forget the keys to the car!
And don't forget to ask a lakeview room on the first floor - the balcony is a cordoned off big patio that you can walk around in and chill with a bottle of vino.

Room Tip: 1st floor lake view rooms - the corner one I had was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlondon186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our road trip through Europe. We came her from Luzern Switzerland. It was easy to find with our GPS. What a wonderful place. It's away from the town and the view is breath taking. The rooms was good size, clean and with two balconies (one in the bedroom and the other in the bathroom). The views of Italian mountains are the best! The breakfast was typical European, but good. The hosts are helpful and very cordial. We loved this place, will recommend it for our family and friends and would most definately stay again.

Room Tip: Definately book a Lakeview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Located in Valmedrera across the lake from Lecco, the hotel is absolutely far above it's Three Star rating making it an outstanding value. Rooms are spotlessly clean and simply but comfortably furnished with most rooms having a fantastic lake view with mountain background. The hotel is family operated and everyone makes you feel right at home! The breakfast is great and personal service is also great. Free WIFI is also available. A local restaraunt and gelatto shop is walking distance from the hotel; Lecco is 5-8 minutes away by car or taxi and has a train station with a 30 minute connection to Milan; you can also take a Lake Como cruise form Lecco to Belliago. If you want to relax or explore -this place is perfect!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitleya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We happened upon the Bellavista after a long trip to Lake Como from Austria. My wife just happened to see it off the road -- and it is off the road. We pulled up and were welcomed as if we were long missing relatives. We got help with getting in and were set with a clean and comfortable room with a large patio overlooking the lake. The place is Italian even down to the shutters. The breakfast was as expected and the family very helpful. We could tell a long story about leaving our passports behind in the room safe and how caring these people were, but let's just say they are wonderful. We also were grateful for the hints on how to get out to Bellagio and dinner. Two thumbs up.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the lake is a real plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maconthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and had a restful time. The Owners Christina and Carlos Rusconi along with son Alberto and Nonna all make you welcome and feel at home. We asked for a balcony which wasn't available the first night so we stayed in a nice room with en suite and windows. Then moved the next day. Unfortunately our new room was above the breakfast room and as such we could hear all that went on. Especially the dinner he owners had with friends... at least is didn't go all nite... :).. I had hired a Moto Guzzi for the 5 days and Carlos was most accommodating allowing me to park the bike in their garage even put a drip tray for the leak the bike had..(that's another story).. Breakfasts were good and with a range of things on offer..My partner loves her coffee and recommends you ask them to start up the espresso machine as they do the coffee out of a "machine" and it wasn't good at all.
The new room was light and airy with view out two full length doors to the lake and a window onto the Terrace that serves just 5 rooms. not ours though. The hotel was spotless and no doubt for the fact of Nonna being in charge :). And she was always siting by the door when we came back..
Another nice thing the hotel / region do is put out a motorcycle ride book that Carlos presented me at breaky the first morning. So I ticked of about half of them :)... this is free and welcome itro to the region.

We were most happy with the friendly and helpful Family run hotel Bellavista and will be reccomending to all my bike mates. this is not to say that they don't cater for the steel cage bound.. as most of the other guests were. It is just nice to well catered for...

Oh and if Guten / celiac is a prob then you will be suprised how more switched on the Italians are now and it is law now that they have to supply GF meals.. unfortunately this usually means another salad... BUT.. low and behold the restaurant near the hotel did GF pizza. the first my wife has had in years.. pity it wasn't cooked through...sigh.. I will review that elsewhere...

Room Tip: try for one of the 5 that have the terrace or a higher room on north side as noise can be an issue f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alpal21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valmadrera
1.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Griso Lecco
9 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
955 reviews
1.7 mi away
NH Lecco Pontevecchio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Hotel Engadina
Hotel Engadina
#8 of 32 in Como
275 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
834 reviews
14.8 mi away
B&B Hotel Como
B&B Hotel Como
#9 of 32 in Como
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellavista

Address: Via Pare' 87, 23868 Valmadrera, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Valmadrera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Valmadrera
Price Range: £62 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bellavista 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Bellavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellavista Hotel Valmadrera
Hotel Bellavista Valmadrera, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing