We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel”
Review of Hotel Bellavista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bellavista
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Valmadrera
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good hotel”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

It's a very nice hotel with great service. If you do not have a car, location could be a problem but otherwise is ok and parking is free. The hotel is also very clean, something that you don't always get in Italy. Breakfast is typical Italian so you can find plenty to eat but no vegetable or nuts.

As the other reviews say, there is no air conditioning and it's very noisy in the night with the window open. We stayed 3 nights and you could always hear the disco till 4 AM when the surfers start coming :) I had ear plugs but some of my friends could not sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hecuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    73
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
109
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is a beautifully located hotel with lots in it favour. Big room, very friendly/helpful staff, great breakfast with good coffee, free parking. Its a great base for exploring. Our room didnt have a bath but that seems normal in italy even in expensive hotels. It also didnt have aircon. The main downside for us may be an upside for some. We had a shared balcony, and given the heat and lack of aircon we had to have the doors to the balcony open all night. The first night we could hear the local disco till very late and the second night we got to listen to our balcony sharers chatting till the early hours and smell them smoking. So if this isnt to your liking i'd suggest asking for a different room. Then it would have been 5 stars for sure

Room Tip: good views at the front, but shared balcony with some
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_tcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I spent there 5 nights with husband and 2 friends. Bellavista hotel has really amazing view and nice service. It's driven by the family so the atmosphere is fantastic. We've booked rooms with lake-view and it was a good choice. The view was breathtaking.
Location of the hotel is also amazing. Only 45 km from Bergamo airport, 40 min by the train from Lecco to Milano (Lecco was only 3 km from the hotel), great place to travel around the lake and visit few cities like Bellagion, Varenna, Como. Have a nice holidays in Bellavista hotel!

Room Tip: Take the room with the lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WioletaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I spent a little less than a week in this hotel and found it really excellent. The room was comfortable and clean, the owners were welcoming and helpful (they speak English and didn't mind my using my bad Italian on them) and the location is excellent. The hotel is right next to the lake on a very quiet road and the view is really lovely - at the weekend a huge number of windsurfers are on the lake outside the hotel.

The owners' family have been there for a hundred and fifty years, but the hotel has been recently renovated and is modern and in good condition. The rooms are clean and most of them have an excellent view of the lake - I had booked a garden room but got a lake view one at no extra cost. The breakfast was good and there is a really excellent restaurant attached to the hotel which had been open in its current form for only a month when I was there - the food and service were excellent.

Unusually for the Lake Como area, the hotel is really easy to find and has plenty of parking. It is easy to get to all points on the lake from the hotel - I often drove up to Bellagio and took a ferry to Varenna or Menaggio instead of driving round the edge. The location is really ideal.

I intend to return to Como and I will definitely be staying in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Booking a lake view room is a good idea - the view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
269 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Central travel point to Bellagio, beside the mountains, water That is where the beauty ends. And service to mean does mean something. It was not typical of what we receive on any of our travels to Italy, Europe. The unfortunate part is, this hotel could be something unbelievably special, because of the location by the mountains, water, and views from the room. However, the quality of ammenities, including very uncomfortable bed, old fashioned TV, cheap furniture, soaps, towels, poor breakfast, extra fee for wifi, and lack of attention to detail overall brings the hotel down several ratings. Hotel staff did not go out of their way to help. Breakfast consisted of mostly packaged foods - cookies, pastry, dried toast. There was also some ham, boiled eggs, yoghurt, and toast that had been pre toasted and sitting there for who knows how long. There was juice, coffee. There were gardens on the property but the owners didn't want to show anyone the gardens. I would not recommend.

Room Tip: If you do stay, room facing the mountain, water. That's the only reason I would stay at this pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cana1Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I just stumbled upon this hotel while searching for something on Lake Como and I'm so glad I did! We spent a wonderful 3 nights here in May. The weather was perfect and the views from the patio right off our room simply breathtaking! We woke up one morning to see a bunch of windsurfers taking to the lake right in front of the hotel. We caught a bus just down the street to go to Bellagio, and came back by boat to Lecco, which is the nearest large town. It's an inexpensive half hour train ride from Milan to Lecco. There are several places to eat within walking distance of the hotel. The couple who owns the hotel are very helpful and gave us local tourist information and bus schedules, etc. The breakfast is adequate. I would definitely choose the patio rooms over the balcony rooms. The balconies are very small and there is only room for 2 people to stand. You can sit out on the patio and really enjoy the lake. This area is truly a photographers paradise! We just spent 3 weeks in the Greek islands and Italy and the Lecco area of Lake Como is now our new favorite place in Italy....that's saying something!

Room Tip: Choose a patio room. The up close views of the lake are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dib24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Need a room with an awesome view? This is it! Found off a tiny street (TURN RIGHT JUST BEFORE ENTERING A LONG TUNNEL) on your way from Milan or Lecco. You will find the family operators very accommodating and the rooms clean and comfortable. From here you can drive up either side of the eastern leg of Lake Como and find Belaggio or other little mountain towns. Be aware that these roads are very narrow and twisty. Perfect for motorcycles and small to medium size cars. You will not be disappointed with this hotel.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are great. Lower floor has very spacious terrace seating you share with others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCBM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valmadrera
14.8 mi away
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
#2 of 2 in Castiglione d'Intelvi
109 reviews
14.8 mi away
B&B Hotel Como
B&B Hotel Como
#9 of 32 in Como
251 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
NH Lecco Pontevecchio
2.7 mi away
Park Hotel Abbadia
Park Hotel Abbadia
#1 of 1 in Abbadia Lariana
170 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellavista

Property: Hotel Bellavista
Address: Via Pare' 87, 23868 Valmadrera, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Valmadrera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Valmadrera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bellavista 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Bellavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellavista Hotel Valmadrera
Hotel Bellavista Valmadrera, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing