We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my favourites” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Six Bells Village Pub & Restaurant

The Six Bells Village Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Penmark
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$37
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Six Bells Inn has all the character, charm & looks of a traditional village inn, situated in the picturesque village of Penmark. With it's roaring log fires and its warm and inviting interior, it is the perfect place to escape from the long winter months, It's large, bright and colourful beer gardens are the perfect place to enjoy the roaring sunshine too! The Six Bells is renowned for its great selection of award winning cask ales which include ever changing guest ones. Particularly from a number of local small 'micro breweries'. Alongside our beers we have a comprehensive list of wine wines, simply delectable by themselves or the perfect accompaniment to an evening meal. The Six Bells Inn pride themselves on a relaxed and friendly atmosphere creating a homely and welcoming pub time and time again.
Sully, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of my favourites”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

One of my favourite places to visit, always go with a few friends and have a good laugh. Been a good night everytime ive been

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SugarTooth4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    52
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch Dissapointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We were a party of 15 mixed adults and children, there to celebrate my daughters birthday and my elderly brothers' 80th birthday.
Firstly, despite the booking being made in advance, we were not informed that the original dining room we were expecting to use, was, on that day not available due to re-decorations being carried out. We dined in another part of the building usually used as a function room, adequate but very plain and nothing special for this occasion.
Food wise, was mostly Sunday roast, and they did accommodate the children with a separate but slightly predictable menu.
Those of us that had the Roast beef, were sadly disapointed with the thinly sliced chewy stringy portions, others that chose either Turkey or another alternative were satisfied but not too excited with taste or quality. The selection of veg was again not very inventive or special . We were not asked if we wanted any drinks, and had to go back and forth to the bar ourselves, disturbing one and all with chair movements, a 'wine waiter', would have been useful and an extra source of spending, as we could't be bothered.
All in All I am sorry to say that we will have to think about a return visit, especially as a party of 15. Also I did e.mail to confirm our booking and the numbers, but never received any acknowedgment.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank podsfrompenarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Excellent, service, food and lovely welcoming atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Nothing is two much trouble for the two landlords, we will keep going back time and time again. Fully recommend The Six Bells, Penmark to all.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pub that rings out good cheer and great beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Had a fantastic Christmas dinner at this restaurant. Even though it was a very busy night the staff still had time for each customer and made them feel wanted. The starter of Salmon and other fish was a little dish of perfection. Our main of Turkey with trimmings was superb. You can be sure we will book our next function here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Glyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely welcoming pub with good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We've visited 3 times in the last couple of months taking advantage do the Brit Stop scheme and staying overnight in the car park in our motorhome. We found the owners and staff very welcoming, the place has a nice atmosphere, the food is always tasty and very reasonably priced. We met friends there on our most recent visit and they have said they would definitely return.

We will definitely be visiting again

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaytutt6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Six Bells Village Pub & Restaurant also viewed

Barry, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Rhoose, Vale of Glamorgan
Barry, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Barry, Vale of Glamorgan
Barry, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to The Six Bells Village Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing