We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historically atmospheric Hotel with many un-historic annexes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vadstena Klosterhotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vadstena
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Historically atmospheric Hotel with many un-historic annexes”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Our family of 3 stayed here for 5 nights. It was to be our luxury splurge of a 4 centred 2 week Swedish and Danish trip. We registered in the main hotel building which oozed old world charm and style but found that our room was in an annex 8 minutes on foot away. The room was a good size and decorated with care but lacked the special character and "boutique" feel I had hoped for. We were pretty much fobbed off when we tried to change rooms- although the reception staff were very pleasant. Breakfast was very good and waiting staff really kind. The location on the shore of the lake and next to the castle and part of Saint Brigitte monastery was really unique. However, 5 days was maybe too long!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachie132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    59
    39
    13
    4
See reviews for
33
80
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

It was the second time we stayed at Vadstena Abbey Hotel, but certainly not the last. The atmosphere of medieval monastery environment from the XII-XIII century with the St. Birgitta Church nearby was simply stunning. We enjoyed Shakespeare summer theatre on the grass courtyard outside the hotel and a good dinner at their beautiful Restaurant Monastic, where the monks used to sleep before. Everything in the oldest parts of the hotel, i.e. St. Birgitta convent from the 1300s and Birger Jarl palace from the 1200s, was very tastefully arranged, with old furniture and an abundance of fresh flowers and green plants, which was very relaxing. From our room no. 304 we had a nice view of the Lake Vättern. We could even stroll along the lake into the rural parts of Östergötland and a nice sand beach. Vadstena is a wonderful place to be!

Room Tip: Rooms with view of the lake are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth_Oijermark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed in the monastery which is lovely and the rooms are large. There is no elevator in this building. The trees outside our window nearly blocked the view of the lake. The restaurant experience was horrible. We had reservations and when we arrived there were 3 screaming kids. Since it was a birthday celebration for us, we decided to walk by the lake and return later. About 45 minutes later we stood for 10 minutes just waiting to be seen and seated. Then we waited for another 45 minutes, after we received the menu for someone to take our order and bring us water. Even then we had to "waive them down". After another 30 minutes we had to "waive them down" again for our wine. Finally after another 45 minutes we got our dinners, which were not that great. We do not recommend this restaurant. We think this hotel is overpriced (as well as the museum on the premises). The next night we stayed at Gyllene Uttern Hotel in Granna on Lake Vattern and had a wonderful experience. We were immediately seated and waited on and had a delicious dinner. The dining room was 3 times more busy than at the Klosterhotel restaurant. Choose the Gyllene Uttern Hotel instead and drive to visit the historic sites in Vadstena.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed for a long weekend in the end of July 2013, and we were lucky and got a suite with a jacuzzi and four poster bed - not bad. The hotel staff was nice, and the historic environment was actually the reason we went there in the first place. Fascinating to have dinner in a vaulted hall dating from the 14th century, and the food was great too. We opted for a three course dinner and wine package which was very well composed.

The historic town of Vadstena is very picturesque with old houses and narrow streets, and also a good selection of small shops and restaurants. A guided tour in Vadstena Castle and in the old monestary of S:t Birgitta is highly recommended - very interesting and nicely performed by the guides.

All in all, a very nice long weekend as the weather was pleasant as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swedish_Blacksmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanersborg, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

As has been written before the hotel is divided into several houses, but all of them are within a walking distance to the city centre.

We stayed in "Slottsflygeln" in a double room. The room itself was neatly decorated with an older style which made you feel the historical atmosphere that the whole town itself presents to you. The room was quite nice and there were coffee- and tea making fascilities in the room. However there were some flaws that you don't expect to find in a 4-star hotel. One of the lamps in the room didn't work. We should have informed the reception about this, but forgot about it since the bright sommer evenings don't make it hard reading in bed anyway (and there was also another lamp). Maybe they would have fixed it quickly. The part that I think should be improved was cleaning. The daily cleaning was ok, but in the bathroom I found dust on the mouldings. There was also spots of mould in the shower. This doesn't mean the world, but it should be better than this when it's a 4-star hotel.

I must agree with some of the other reviews here, the place is quite nice but it is overpriced due to the condition of it. It looks posher than it is on the surface.

Breakfastbuffet was quite nice. Not very large, but you could find something you like. There was a possibility to make your own orange juice. There could however have been some labels explaining what was on the table (especially for foreign guests as the maid didn't seem to be able to speak English).

If you're eating at their hotelrestaurant make sure to make a reservation before you do. We thought that since the biggest holidayseason was over we could easily get a table without it so we went there around 7:30 where the headwaitress told us that she couldn't tell us when she could have a table ready but that we had to wait at least 30 min. for one. We ended up going someplace else.

Summary:

+
Central location
Nice receptionstaff

-
Overpriced
Long-term cleaning

Would I stay again? Yes, I could definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lothloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The surrondings are just lovely, the little town of Vadstena is indeed worth a visit. The rooms in the old nunnery was held in an old style, but I prefer the toilet to stand still while sitting on it, not tipping from side to side... The breakfastroom was grand, but they did not know how to make scrambeld eggs - not eatable (six at the table tried and faild...) + for the orange-press and the variety of herring. Nice bread. There is no elevator in the old building, so stay in one of the other houses if you got a lot to carry or if your legs don`t work as well as you like them to... One of the beds made noises even when lying quite still - a bit annoying. Nice with wooden floors (I`m not fond of carpets), and the room was quite big with a very nice wiew over the lake.

Room Tip: Stairs only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid66_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

An astonishing historical surrounding and building offers genuine 4-star quality and tranquil rooms. The rooms in the old monastery are spacious with interior that match the house history and equipped with modern and discreet facilities such as TV, outstanding bedside reading lamps and a functional bathroom. The floor is of antic (?) wooden planks giving you a warm and comfy feeling. The lobby is one of its kind. You have a genuine castle interior with possibilities to be by yourself though the presence of other guests. The Internet W-lan works here and requires no password.

The hotel restaurant offered star quality food and wine with matching prices. The staff where initiative, personal and observant above average. The breakfast room is like a monestry dining hall. The buffet was grandious though the hours where stricter than usually 7-9. That also applies to check out time that is 10.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vadstena
0.7 mi away
Starby Hotel, Conference & Spa
7.8 mi away
Hotell Nostalgi
Hotell Nostalgi
#1 of 3 in Motala
57 reviews
8.0 mi away
Best Western Motala Stadshotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Slottsgarden
Hotel Slottsgarden
#5 of 7 in Vadstena
11 reviews
8.9 mi away
Borghamns Vandrarhem
Borghamns Vandrarhem
#4 of 7 in Vadstena
7 reviews
0.4 mi away
STF Vandrarhem Vadstena
STF Vandrarhem Vadstena
#5 of 6 in Vadstena
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vadstena Klosterhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vadstena Klosterhotel

Property: Vadstena Klosterhotel
Address: Box 193, Vadstena 592 24, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Ostergotland County > Vadstena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vadstena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vadstena Klosterhotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Vadstena Klosterhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing