We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Des Grands Vins
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fleurie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We spent four nights in Fleurie to attend a wedding locally, and had a very enjoyable stay at the Grand Hotel des Vins.

Fleurie is a small village, with a few essential shops, and the hotel is next to the sports facilities and the local camp site, within easy (5 minutes) walk of the centre.

The rooms are very comfortable, although a little small, ours was on the first floor with a small balcony overlooking the front of the hotel, it is quiet both externally and internally so we slept very well, and generally the hotel is extremely well maintained and run by the owners, who are pleased to help in any way they can, both with service and advice.

There are several good restaurants in the area, including L’Auberge du Cep, which has just re-opened with new owners and chef, (excellent but rather expensive), but as luck would have it, we were there during the Vendage – the grape harvest and fermentation time, so as most of the restaurants are in wineries, they were closed. For Sunday dinner we couldn’t find anywhere local and were saved by the hotel (which doesn’t have a restaurant) serving pasta and sauces at €9 each. Highly recommended in the circumstances. Breakfast was typically French, but more than adequate, with a coffee machine available for general use.

Unlike other reviewers, we had no problems with the Wi-Fi, which worked both with phones and tablets,

We would recommend the hotel for a stay in the region, and also, as it is only a few minutes from the main A6 Autoroute du Soleil as an overnight break on the way south. Unfortunately this would mean you would miss out on most of the beautiful countryside around Fleurie, but it may persuade you to return later for a longer break.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briangb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

The hotel is located in a rural setting, just a short drive or walk from the center of Fleurie. It is a member of the Logis de France chain; I've generally had good luck with their properties which is one of the reasons I chose to stay here. My room was on the ground floor. It was very plainly decorated, but it was clean and I was only staying for one night. The room came with a mini-bar/refrigerator, flat screen TV and a small table with two side chairs. Rooms on the upper floor were more expensive and were perhaps larger. The window opened up on a small decorative pond. The bathroom was spacious and had a bathtub. An adequate breakfast is available for an extra charge. Staff were friendly and helpful. Free WiFi worked well. Grounds are very nice ... in fact there is a small swimming pool (which I did not use). Lots of parking on site, and it's free.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank explorer630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

There is much to like about the Hotel des Grands Vins in Fleurie. It occupies a slightly elevated position outside the town (an easy walk through narrow roads) and therefore has a nice view over the vineyards. The staff are welcoming and took care of check-in very efficiently. The hotel does not have a restaurant so they provided an excellent recommendation for dinner in Chenas, an easy 5km drive away to eat at “Les Platanes de Chenas”. Our first floor room, although small, was clean. The bathrooms have a traditional French layout with a separate WC. An outdoor swimming pool is available but we didn’t try it as the weather wouldn’t co-operate. As such, the other pool filled with large koi carp was more interesting! An acceptable typical French breakfast costs EUR7.50 and you can buy several different types of local wine at the hotel if you want a nice souvenir (ask the owner for his recommendation). To balance all the positive comments, we had two small gripes that could be easily addressed at little cost – first, the shower head (in the bath, not separate) is positioned too low (well, maybe hobbits would find it OK). It would not take much to reposition the head 10cm higher (maybe with a longer connection) so that most normal people can fit under it. Even better, go to the local Castorama (hardware store) and spend a hundred euro per room to buy some new mixer taps to make it easier for people to control the flow and warmth of the water. Second, although the Wi-Fi is free and worked well in our room, like many other hotels it uses a log-on system to restrict access. I don’t have a problem with this if the system worked, but we had problems with our Mac Book Pro and iPad. PCs (Windows 8) worked fine. The hotel would do better by junking its access system (it’s in a rural location, so who is going to steal its bandwidth? And would this be a problem anyway?) to allow unrestricted access – and would save money by not having to print off logon credentials for guests and wasting time fixing all the logon problems that occur.

Room Tip: Most rooms seem OK. Choose one near the reception to assure Wi-Fi service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12Knocksinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Lovely out-of-the-way hotel five minutes walk from the centre of Fleurie. Beautifully kept, lovely proprietors, nice facilities include small pool, games area, and free wifi in rooms as well as lobby. The only downside is the absence of a restaurant, though a choice of restaurant is available just a few minutes away in Fleurie, and if, like us you arrive late and tired after a long drive you can stay in for a choice of fresh pasta and sauces that are quickly and well-prepared. Great choice of local wines, as one might expect from the name, and these are available to buy by the case, too, at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Front rooms have better view, rear rooms cooler and quieter (but all seem good)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y0rkshireRelish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Good hotel for a stopover or a short stay. Ten minutes from the village center and the 3 restaurants on the market-place.Spacious quiet rooms a bit outdated but clean.Breakfast ok. Easy free parking.
Splendid views when you walk uphill to the chapel of the madonna.For the real lazy guys: you can drive up too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrusselsGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Stayed here for one night whilst visiting our regular vineyard in Fleurie. The twin room was small but the beds were comfortable and the bathroom roomy although the shower head would not fix into the holder. Had a good buffet breakfast in the morning. The hotel is a short walk from the village centre where we enjoyed an excellent meal at Le Cep. The staff at the hotel speak little English but were helpful and polite. There is free wifi in the lobby area but you need a login code from the manager. Will return next year when we visit Fleurie again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BluestreakCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Recently spent three nights here with friends. Very comfortable rooms, although a little small, but everything that was needed. Comfortable beds and good sleep quality.
We did not eat here but did enjoy some of their fine French wine whilst sitting on the terrace in the sun and I have to say at very reasonable prices !! The danger is however that one then just orders another bottle....well it is holidays !!?
Could not use the pool, far too cold!!
Would definitely return even just for the wine !!

Room Tip: Front room amazing view, but back rooms much cooler allowing for better sleep quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salm0n1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fleurie
5.1 mi away
Le Moulin de Saint Verand
Le Moulin de Saint Verand
#1 of 1 in Saint-Verand
299 reviews
2.2 mi away
Les Maritonnes
Les Maritonnes
#1 of 1 in Romaneche-Thorins
374 reviews
2.6 mi away
Le Relais des Dix Crus Hotel
Le Relais des Dix Crus Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corcelles-en-Beaujolais
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel des Vignes
Hotel des Vignes
#2 of 2 in Julienas
146 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel-restaurant La Rose
Hotel-restaurant La Rose
#1 of 2 in Julienas
42 reviews
6.1 mi away
Chateau de la Barge
Chateau de la Barge
#2 of 3 in Charnay-les-Macon
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Des Grands Vins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Grands Vins

Address: rue de la Grappe Fleurie, 69820 Fleurie, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Fleurie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fleurie
Price Range: £67 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Des Grands Vins 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Des Grands Vins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing