We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family function overtakes customers”

Brasserie Villa Cardinale
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Brasserie Villa Cardinale is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 8 Restaurants in Fleurie
Price range: US$29 - US$45
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: On the village square, beside the church of Flowered, difficult to be more in the middle of the Beaujolais wine that with the Villa Cardinale.Dès the first gleams of the sun on the slopes, it is there that it is necessary to come to taste good glass of a local vintage. the Cardinal Villa is an authentic bar beaujolais wine, animated and greedy as they are liked. On the beautiful terrace, but also in a cordial room with its tables and its wooden chairs way bar and its benches "brewery spirit", without forgetting the splendid wine cellar, only one envies comes us to mind: to prolong the pleasure of being here! Then, one benefits from a beautiful aperitif with glass from flowered before plunging in a map made up of good regional dishes. Honor with the soil and the fresh produce for a traditional kitchen of quality carried out starting from artisanal products: foie gras house, a delicious cake of chicken liver to the crayfish bisque, eggs meurette, a salad beaujolaise, of course, an andouillette, a quenelle of pike to the shellfish cream or a sausage roasted with the wine. Happiness, love of life, one finishes carefully with a fondant with the chocolate and his custard, creme brulee, a frozen nougat, pies house or a fresh fruit salad in summer. It goes without saying that the wine list is another wonder which accompanies all the meal, in particular with wines nature, flowered as well as the ten raw ones of the Beaujolais wine and the wines come besides.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family function overtakes customers”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

A family function took over most of dinning area & so no more clients accepted on a Sunday when we arrived in Fleurie. We were offered a coffee or a drink but no food was available. Disapointed & hungry.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank APRIL241979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    46
    19
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“passr your way”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Hello, we are going to family in this restaurant that seemed to say of this site very well! except that it was badly received, the meal was really trivial. I m expecting dishes delicious beaujolais has and I find myself a eat a sausage only menu that m as intrigue! the wine is more than too expensive! the waitresses not smiling! well not seen boss! change of ownership's well campground what front n being not regret!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Famcamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Basic, but value for money”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

we had a very nice meal here, and although pretty basic, we really enjoyed this. And the bill was very modest, so that's another positive. The wine was excellent and they had a good list of many Beaujolais wines and others. All in all, very good value for money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacob_van_Houdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A good visit”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We were delighted with the reception we got at this restaurant. The cleanliness and simple decor was good. The menu was simple but the food was well presented and tasty. The proprietor made us most welcome and was friendly, jovial and efficient throughout.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A traditional evening...”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

After realising the much touted Cafe des Sports had been renamed Brasserie Villa Cardinale, and the equally much touted Auberge/Le Cep in Fleurie had closed permanently as the owner had retired to a home, we tried an evening meal at the Villa Cardinale. Turned out to be one of the dying breed of traditional husband and wife run establishments, very friendly and relaxed, and not a place to go in a hurry, desite mention of swift service in another review. But the food was superb, if simply-cooked, with some of the best chips I have ever eaten ('chips' does not do justice to the curved pieces of fried potato in a light crispy shell that I enjoyed).

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Y0rkshireRelish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie Villa Cardinale also viewed

 
Romaneche-Thorins, Saone-et-Loire
 

Been to Brasserie Villa Cardinale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing