We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good place !”
Review of The Bay Horse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bay Horse
Ranked #2 of 7 Masham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Just booked in for one night whilst visiting the local Breweries . Heard good reports and we weren't disappointed with this great old fashioned friendly pub / hotel.
A friendly welcome & nice room - superb breakfast- really good value a fantastic base to visit the surrounding area- will defiantly return - as soon as possible ! Visited the local Abbey & Middleham great walks all around the area .

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jonnyPoultonLeFylde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

stopped at the bay horse during a trip around North Yorkshire with my husband and found this on a KGB deal and as most say, its a pub used by locals so dont stop in a pub if you want peace and quiet!!! common sense alert!
we found the food excellent, and log fires lovely and welcome after walking and everyone very friendly.
we stayed in room 2, which was a lovely room with a MASSIVE comfy bed, we slept well. clean and tidy with lots of nice touches.
my only criticism would be the staircase up to the rooms, first impressions count..... lightbulbs out, dustwebs. and dead flies and rubbish on the windowledge dont look good....sort that out and all is well.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alassieformlacashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a wonderful stay at the Bay Horse.
Very helpful, friendly people who work there. Room was fine, would have benefited from an expelair in the bathroom maybe to remove some of the stream from the shower. Yes, you could hear the jukebox but to balance that the music was good! Seriously, this is a pub with rooms so please enjoy it for what it is.
The food both at breakfast and when we ate both evenings was excellent and served Yorkshire potions so, you have been warned!
We enjoyed our stay very much and will definitely return. Thank you all at the The Bay Horse.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed for two nights and really enjoyed our time here, lovely room, and great breakfast. Enjoyed the pub too, good beer, good food and atmosphere. I don't understand why people complain of noise from the bar when staying in a pub, that's what happens in a pub, it's part of the character. We stayed in Room 1 just over the bar and had no problem sleeping. Thanks to Vanessa and all the staff for a lovely couple of days.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I booked this hotel through KGB on a deal. Great little find. The room was cosy and warm. The breakfast was more than adequate and the evening meal was plentiful and well cooked. A proper real ale pub in the heart of north Yorkshire.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We had a 2 evening stay on a KGB deal, with breakfasts on both mornings and dinner on the second night. The pub is cosy and full of character, 2 fires burning away all day and the beer and food were really enjoyable. We had room1 which had a nice big bed, en-suite with a sloping floor (more character) but it was just above the jukebox and the bar. Thankfully having read previous reviews we knew to take earplugs and slept well as a result. The dinner was really good and our stay was very relaxing. Its not swanky, just very good value.

Room Tip: room 1 is a good size, but take earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrgtg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay at The Bay Horse & would definitely visit again. The rooms have been hastily refurbished, so some bits need a bit more tlc, but they comfy & clean, with a lovley en suite shower room & complimentary biscuits & water. We booked in for dinner on the Friday night with it being Valentines & although the menu was quite restricted - the food was very nice. We had dinner as part of our package on the 2nd night and can highly recommend the battered king prawns - certainly the best i have had.
The only downside to our stay was the very loud music - you couldn't actually have a conversation - but had to shout and even though we were on the top floor, we could still hear it.
Turn the music down a bit & you have a great pub / eating place with friendly staff & welcoming fires.

Room Tip: All rooms look to be of a good standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alansmith867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masham
1.0 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
8.2 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
475 reviews
15.4 mi away
The General Tarleton Inn
The General Tarleton Inn
#1 of 1 in Ferrensby
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel Masham
2.1 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Fearby
589 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millgate Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Horse

Address: 5 Silver Street, Masham HG4 4DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Masham
Price Range: £50 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bay Horse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Masham, The Bay Horse is an ideal base to stay if you wish to enjoy the beauty of both what we have on our doorstep as well as the stunning surrounding areas. At The Bay Horse, Masham you will get, a community local pub, that has a fantastic range of real ales, locally sourced food and great, genuine hospitality - we're not a hotel, we're a quality local pub, with well-appointed rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Bay Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Horse Masham, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing