We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“buisness and time out” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kings Head Hotel Masham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kings Head Hotel Masham
Ranked #5 of 7 Masham B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“buisness and time out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

checked in was fantastic, room a little small then went to speak to a lady called Jill think she was the manager and she changed our room over to a up and down lodge and it was fantastic she was fantastic and very hands on and so help ful.

Room Tip: the court yard is fantastic great and can sit outside and have a coffee in a morning will defo go b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ann93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    216
    109
    54
    50
See reviews for
145
406
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

As its part of a chain, it's advertised as a hotel but as others on here have said its a large country inn with rooms, very good rooms, but missing the hotel touches. Fantastic location in the market square, with a small market taking place the day we arrived. All staff very helpful, with a new lady being trained, but not a problem. We arrived early, they saved our case offer suggestions, gave a time scale of went the room would be ready.
We had room 8 top floor overlooking square. Quite a climb if your not good with steps. Nice size room, though only a small double bed. Very characterful due to age of building, wobbly floor, furniture starting to look shabby rather than shabby chic. VERY warm, no heating on and window open, could be uncomfortable in the summer. This was early May. Basic hand wash and shower gel in bathroom, but large bath with overhead shower. No hair dryer (or iron) in room as advertised but one was brought up by reception when I rang. Brilliant powerful hair dryer with very long lead , not the usual hotel dryer.
We ate in the bar, good well priced menu. Well cooked, very helpful attentive staff.
Breakfast was serve your self to all apart from cooked food. Large selection, though having to make your own tea,coffee, toast ect involved lots of trips back and forwards, staff member (sorry can't remember her name) was very helpful. Made toast for several people and offered to make tea in a pot for an elderly couple who may have struggled carrying cups back and forwards. Cooked breakfast very tasty.

Within walking distance of both brewery's, black sheep well worth a visit. Lots of nice local shops, ice cream shop and fish shop seemed to be doing a brisk trade. St Mary's church also well worth a visit. Very old, check out the gravestones and the unusual inscription on the war memorial to 2 civilian couples who were killed in the war.

We hope to return to the Kings Head again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GorgeousGwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We dropped in about 3.00pm on a Sunday afternoon hoping for a quick bite. A friendly welcome soon had us seated and enjoying a drink from the extensive beer and wine selection. The extensive menu was varied and well priced and we soon chose a couple of gammon steaks, steak pie and a Chicken and Mango salad. The food was generally very good, especially the Sweet Potato Fries which were delicious. The only downside was that the Steak Pie contained several chunks of fatty meat. Service was excellent, swift and very friendly. I can certainly recommend the Kings Head!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night in room 28. The room was situated in the courtyard. Very spacious room with a large Kingsize bed. Bathroom had walkin shower and a bath. Clean warm and no noise from the outside. We had dinner in the restaruant which was perfect and reasonably priced. Breakfast was good and well worth the money. Dont book B/B if you are a light eater in the morning. Pay direct you can have a light breakfast for half the price you pay if you book B/B. Staff are friendly and helpfull. A good honest hotel well worth a visit and if I am in the area again this would be my choice.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Pleasant staff, representive of the town itself. We had Sunday dinner which was cooked beautifully but found the portion size to be a little small, good selection of ales, the room was warm, clean and comfortable, breakfast good with a continental buffet, would not hesitate booking again

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
france
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

"Faultless" is not a word I use very often and almost never in regard to a restaurant. My mother, sister and I had lunch there last week and really we could not have asked for anything better. The service is friendly and attentive (although I do wish the manager would not wear a huge bunch of keys on his belt) and the food was absolutely excellent. Wanting to hark back to my heydays in the '70s I chose the devilled whitebait to start - which used to usually arrive as a plate full of little eyeballs and crispy shards - arrived in a faux newspaper cone in a buckety thing (it was much better than I'm making it sound) and was absolutely delish - proper substantial whitebait, perfectly cooked and seasoned. The beef and - I think it was - Wensleydale pie was just so yummy, if it hadn't been so huge I would have ordered it twice. Really really good food at reasonable prices in a warm and cosy environment. And this wasn't just a one-off because we had also been there en-famille in January for my mother's birthday and it was just as good then.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed here again last week for 3 nights. The disabled room was as good as last time, spacious, clean, good wetroom, large bed & warm. The staff were efficient & friendly, especially the receptionist who checked us in & carried our bags. Unfortunately my partner had a health problem so we had to visit the drs. The same receptionist kindly went over to find out the best time for us to go. There was a different menu from last time which was certainly very extensive plus there were blackboard specials. The only problem we had was on the last night of the stay, we went down for dinner at 8.15 our usual time only to find no table set & the young waiter tried to persuade us to eat in the bar as they were expecting a large party of local shooters.They arrived soon afterwards to drink & then eat & the service for the few other diners fell way below the usual standard. Apparently this is a regular event, but had they told us about it earlier in the day we would have gone for dinner earlier & then we wouldn't have felt as if we were in the way.

Room Tip: The corn store is the accessible room for disabled, just across the yard at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank purpleofeastwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masham
1.0 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Fearby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millgate Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Bank Villa
Bank Villa
#2 of 7 in Masham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Head Hotel Masham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head Hotel Masham

Property: Kings Head Hotel Masham
Address: Kings Head Hotel Market Place, Masham HG4 4EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Masham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Head Hotel Masham 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kings Head Hotel Masham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Hotel Masham North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing