We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Bear”

The Public Bar at the White Bear
Ranked #4 of 16 Restaurants in Masham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$23
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Beautiful Bear”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Great, traditional stone pub with a public bar that welcomes dogs and a smarter lounge area which is where we ate despite only wanting a light lunch. Excellent sandwiches enjoyed by all in our party - despite our favoured Theakstone tipple being off (would've thought they could have been swiftly restocked given the brewery is in the town...). Their loss as we went next door to the rival Black Sheep brewery for a sample of their cycling themed summer brew :-)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Farnham_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    103
    37
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Solid, no-frills pub dining”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We popped in after discovering that The Black Sheep only served dinner surrounding the weekends and were not disappointed. The steak and ale pie and the seafood pie were both excellent and the ale selection was par for the course in Masham (which is to say excellent as well).

We have a 4- and a 1-year-old; we were well-accomodated and both were treated nicely by the staff.

There's a nice patio out front, off the street, though we opted to stay in.

Would go again, nice dinner and nice introduction to Masham.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Lovely specials board with a great selection of dishes. Nicely presented with some unusual touches. Ate here twice during our stay, the battered fish selection was delicious as was the roast. Dinner. True Yorkshire puddings and lots of crackling served with our choices. Lovely patio are where if the sun is shining you can enjoy al fresco dining. Excellent service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shamwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Great welcome, very friendly service, we dined out with five friends who all chose different meals from the menu all enjoyed their meals. Great choice of wines and lovely Theakstons Black Bull, I can happily recommend this pub/ restaurant to all :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Evening Meal”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

was busy when we arrived, only 2 tables left in restaurant, so we were lucky, service was excellent so was the food, booking is a must to avoid disappointment staff warm n friendly too

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Public Bar at the White Bear also viewed

Masham, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Public Bar at the White Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing