We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab place”
Review of Theakston Brewery

Theakston Brewery
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Masham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: T&R Theakston Ltd is one of the oldest family breweries in Yorkshire and home of the legendary Old Peculier Ale. Visit this historical brewery in the beautiful Yorkshire Dales town of Masham. Experience first hand the craft and skill that goes into brewing our beers, the brewing process is built on almost two centuries of tradition, passed down through five generations of the Theakston family.2013 is a very special year as not only are we celebrating the 186th year of our company's foundation in 1827,but also ten years since we bought the brewery back from Scottish Courage and once again became a family owned independent brewery. Have a pint of our legendary beer in the Brewery Tap - The Black Bull in Paradise, names after the original inn, the Black Bull, where Robert Theakston first brewed our legendary ale and also the site where our brewery stands, once known as Paradise Fields. We always have six differnent Theakston Ales available on tap including our famous Old Peculier served from wooden casks. There is plenty to do and see including the Cooper’s shop where the cooper crafts the wooden barrels – one of the last remaining working cooperages in the country. Leave plenty of time to browse the gift shop full of ‘Peculier’ souvenirs and other Yorkshire delights.
Twyford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fab place”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We took the brewery tour and it was great to hear about the history of this long running brewery and how the beer is made. The bar is also very nice and cosy with 6 theakston ales on tap all the time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dazzaanddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    94
    17
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
SHEFFIELD
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great visit”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We visited this historic brewery today whilst staying overnight in Masham.
It was a really good visit...interesting, well presented and easy to access.
The guide was excellent...knew his stuff and talked well.
The tasters at the end were great too.
It's a great place to visit...highly recommend .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MRSHSHEFFIELD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auchterhouse, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A great example of a traditional craft brewery, well worth a visit”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Very fortunate to be given a tour of the brewery by Simon Theakston, one of the two brothers of the current generation of the Theakston family who still own the brewery.

This is craft brewing at its best and the choice of ales in the adjacent pub meant our group spent and hour and a half sampling before the tour. Excellent gift shop as well.

Simon joined us for dinner at the family owned White Bear hotel nearby, where we were all staying.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank cuillin2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a Tuesday morning!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Excellent attraction, very informative tour with a guide who knew his stuff, ending with a tasting in their own bar. Each participant could have one pint, two halves or three thirds ( think you could have wine or soft drink instead.) Me and my husband had the thirds so could taste all six of the beers. No pressure to buy anything from the well stocked shop.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank caz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent tour”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

What a fab tour special thanks to Stuart, Katie and Lynne who made the visit informative and welcoming. The tour lasts about 50 minutes and is very manageable with care. The pint at the end sat in a lovely courtyard setting made it all the more worthwhile. The shop is well stocked and the girls will help you put a package together like they did for us. Thank you to all of you we would certainly recommend the visit to others.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Boovyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Theakston Brewery also viewed

Middleham, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Theakston Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing