We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Autumn Half Term at Millhouse - Like being at home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Millgate Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Masham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We popped up for a short break at Millhouse for some walking an beer tasting at the two local excellent breweries!

Susan and Andrew made us most welcome on arrival with freshly baked homemade scones still warm out of the oven. Millhouse is a delighful place to stay. The rooms are excellent, very comfortable and the house full of character. Breakfast was superb too. You could have your traditional English but Jim had a lovely Chorizo and Chilli Scrambled egg special with freshly baked bread which was excellent. Susan and Andrew are delightful hosts, very helpful with questions and queries and advice on places to eat and visit.

I will definitley be looking to stay at Millhouse again.

Vicky and Jim (Bedford).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear James S
A delightful review from a wonderful couple - Thank you.
You have written so eloquently about your stay and we really appreciate your thoughtful comments. Andrew is pleased with your mention for his Chorizo Scramble Special. He uses local rare breeds pork and smoked paprika and loads of other ingredients to make this amazing breakfast special.

Do come back to Millgate soon and be one of the first to try our brand new Millgate Double en suite.

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

524 - 530 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

We travelled to Masham on Fri afternoon, delayed by traffic, Sue gave us a ring to see if we were lost, and needed help finding them, this set the tone for a lovely weekend, nothing was too much trouble for this lovely couple. Andrew and Sue, were warm, witty, knowledgeable and very helpful without being intrusive. Sue`s baking was second to none, as previously commented on, her scones were superb and each morning there were different varieties of hot rolls, absolutely gorgeous, the breakfasts were the best we have ever had, served at a time convenient for ourselves, fresh, not greasy and lovely tasting, a special mention for Andrews spicy meatballs that we sampled at breakfast they were very very tasty, I even took some to the lads at my local golf club who loved them too. The room was spotlessly clean, warm and very comfortable, the bed was very comfy, the bathroom spotless and supplied with toiletries, Our hosts also went to the trouble of supplying fresh milk in a flask, so much better than plastic milk containers, we also returned home on fri night to a chocolate on each pillow, a nice little touch. The room was nice and warm without being stifling, very homely, the previous reviews of this b & b are very complimentary, this is indeed the case, it is one of the nicest we have stayed in, well done, Andrew and Sue, we really enjoyed our stay with you and hope to come back one day.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shepd1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Shep1928

Thank you - This really is a charming,warm and very flattering review. Andrew and I were delighted with your thoughtful comments about your stay at Millgate. The observations about the facilities and your thoughts about us were lovely.

We are delighted to have made such a good impression. We really loved having you both as guests and we are thrilled that you are going to return. We really enjoyed your company and look forward to your next visit.

Love and Best Wishes
Sue & Andrew Burrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We felt very welcome by Sue and Andrew in their lovely house. The bedrooms were very comfortable and their set up was ideal for our family. We loved the delicious breakfast in the "jail". We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Sophie K
It was so kind of you to take the time to write about your visit to Masham. Thank you. Having you and your lovely family to stay at Millgate was our pleasure. We value your highly recommended comment too.

You were our first guests from Switzerland and I am pleased that you enjoyed the Tresse au Beurre loaf I made for your breakfast.

KIndest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had a wonderful weekend, couldn't have been looked after any better. Everything was first class. Sue can certainly cook and bake. The scones on arrival were to die for. Breakfast was superb didn't need anything else to eat until the evening and when we came back in chocolates on pillow. The room was beautiful with tea coffee and biscuits any time you wanted them. Sue and Andrew really looked after us and made us feel very welcome. We have stayed in 5 star hotels who could learn lessons from them. We have already told friends at work about you and we will certainly be back to visit again, a weekend was certainly not enough

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Debbie K
We can't thank you enough for this review. Andrew and I are so happy to have made such a good impression. Your comments about the scone and breakfasts are greatly appreciated. The 5 star accolade was a real surprise.

Thank you for passing on your comments to friends at work.
The best news is that you are coming back to stay. Our new Millgate Double will be ready for your return should you wish to try it. (The brand new King Sized bed is soooo comfortable).

Love to you both
Sue & Andrew Burrell.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed at this wonderful bed & breakfast in September and you cannot fault it. The attention to detail such as fresh scones and preserves on arrival and the best breakfast I have had in a long time will have me returning again. The owners of this lovely place which is in the centre of the lovely village of Masham made us so welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellers700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Travellers700

Thank you very much for remembering us with this fantastic review. It really makes us feel happy to receive reviews from guests who tell us what they liked about their stay.

We are really pleased to hear that you loved the scones and breakfasts and that you are coming back to stay in lovely Masham again.

We are looking forward to your return

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

A wonderful B&B – 5 star luxury. We had a wonderful 3 nights at Millgate. The rooms have everything you need inc hair dryer, iron, tea & coffee making facilities with fresh milk. Comfortable beds too!

Sue and Andrew are lovely hosts. We were greeted with freshly baked scones – delicious. The breakfasts were lovely too – fruit, cereal, cooked breakfast and a special every day. Ours were pancakes and bacon, scrambled eggs with chorizo/pork mini meatballs and trout – freshly caught by Andrew. Also a different type of freshly baked roll every morning too!

Masham and the surrounding area is beautiful and so much to do. 3 days was not enough and we will definitely be back for a full week soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tilloj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Tiloj

What a 5 Star review - Thank you very much. So glad that your stay was a success. We really enjoyed having you all and we hope to see you again as there is loads to do and a week in Wensleydale is a real tonic.

The comments about your breakfasts and the scones are very much appreciated. I have been trying some new bread recipes this week and the feedback has been terrific. I will have more tasty speciality dishes to surprise you with when you return.

Loads of love to your family
Sue & Andrew Burrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Everything about our stay at Millgate was first class, from the initial enquiry to the superb breakfasts. Lovely warm welcome, with scones, comfortable room, and thoroughly nice hosts. Hugely recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank CMNYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear CMN Yorkshire

Thank you for your No 1 review of Millgate. We really appreciated the first class comments about your stay. We are very proud of our breakfasts and we are thrilled with the recommendation.

Do come back soon as there is so much to see and do and you are not too far away. Our new MIllgate double en suite is now available to book and it is a large room on the first floor with fabulous furniture and an amazing bed that you will love.

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masham
1.1 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
8.1 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel Masham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bank Villa
Bank Villa
#3 of 7 in Masham
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bay Horse
The Bay Horse
#2 of 7 in Masham
407 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Fearby
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millgate Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millgate Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5 Millgate, Masham HG4 4EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Masham
Price Range: £62 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Millgate Bed & Breakfast we provide 3 lovely letting bedrooms for our guests with luxurious beds and high-quality bedding. Our Award Winning Breakfasts are cooked to order and served with freshly baked bread. Our guests receive all sorts of little extras; a sociable welcome with complimentary refreshments on arrival, chilled and filtered water and fresh milk for beverages, serviced rooms, conversation, views, a peaceful and quiet location, advice and guidance on the best places to visit, plus flat screen TV, Internet access etc. All presented in a unique, Grade 2 listed historic family home which is both characterful and idiosyncratic and run with painstaking attention to detail. Quite simply a joy to stay in which is why we receive Excellent reviews from our guests. Come and try Millgate for yourself. Walking distance to all the pubs and restaurants,yards from Masham's historic Market Place with its galleries, shops, cafes and restaurants and a short walk to Theakston and Black Sheep Breweries. Lovely riverside walks just off Millgate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Millgate Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millgate Bed & Breakfast Masham, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing