We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks to Sue and Andrew for a wonderful stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millgate Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Millgate Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Masham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kesgrave, United Kingdom
1 review
“Thanks to Sue and Andrew for a wonderful stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

As frequent visitors to Masham we had rather assumed that this lovely Yorkshire Dales village had already revealed all of its myriad delights to us – this week’s visit happily proved us wrong. Located just off the main village square, Millgate B&B is ideally appointed and with a warm welcoming atmosphere (we were greeted with homemade scones on our arrival), friendly and attentive hosts, a comfortable room and individually prepared breakfasts (including freshly baked bread each morning) one really couldn’t ask for more.
Just when we thought it wasn’t possible Masham, for us at least, just got even better.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
As frequent visitors to Masham we had rather assumed that this lovely Yorkshire Dales village had already revealed all of its myriad delights to us – this week’s visit happily proved us wrong. Located just off the main village square, Millgate B&B is ideally appointed and with a warm welcoming atmosphere (we were greeted with homemade scones on our arrival), friendly and attentive hosts, a comfortable room and individually prepared breakfasts (including freshly baked bread each morning) one really couldn’t ask for more.
Just when we thought it wasn’t possible Masham, for us at least, just got even better.

Dear JulianC
Thank you for your review. We are both delighted that we helped you to discover some more of the wonderful things to do in and around Masham and that you enjoyed your stay at Millgate.
We would love to have you both to stay again as you were excellent company.

Thank you for the compliments about the scones and the breakfasts.
Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    631
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
52
485
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Biddenham, null, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We popped up for a short break at Millhouse for some walking an beer tasting at the two local excellent breweries!

Susan and Andrew made us most welcome on arrival with freshly baked homemade scones still warm out of the oven. Millhouse is a delighful place to stay. The rooms are excellent, very comfortable and the house full of character. Breakfast was superb too. You could have your traditional English but Jim had a lovely Chorizo and Chilli Scrambled egg special with freshly baked bread which was excellent. Susan and Andrew are delightful hosts, very helpful with questions and queries and advice on places to eat and visit.

I will definitley be looking to stay at Millhouse again.

Vicky and Jim (Bedford).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear James S
A delightful review from a wonderful couple - Thank you.
You have written so eloquently about your stay and we really appreciate your thoughtful comments. Andrew is pleased with your mention for his Chorizo Scramble Special. He uses local rare breeds pork and smoked paprika and loads of other ingredients to make this amazing breakfast special.

Do come back to Millgate soon and be one of the first to try our brand new Millgate Double en suite.

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We travelled to Masham on Fri afternoon, delayed by traffic, Sue gave us a ring to see if we were lost, and needed help finding them, this set the tone for a lovely weekend, nothing was too much trouble for this lovely couple. Andrew and Sue, were warm, witty, knowledgeable and very helpful without being intrusive. Sue`s baking was second to none, as previously commented on, her scones were superb and each morning there were different varieties of hot rolls, absolutely gorgeous, the breakfasts were the best we have ever had, served at a time convenient for ourselves, fresh, not greasy and lovely tasting, a special mention for Andrews spicy meatballs that we sampled at breakfast they were very very tasty, I even took some to the lads at my local golf club who loved them too. The room was spotlessly clean, warm and very comfortable, the bed was very comfy, the bathroom spotless and supplied with toiletries, Our hosts also went to the trouble of supplying fresh milk in a flask, so much better than plastic milk containers, we also returned home on fri night to a chocolate on each pillow, a nice little touch. The room was nice and warm without being stifling, very homely, the previous reviews of this b & b are very complimentary, this is indeed the case, it is one of the nicest we have stayed in, well done, Andrew and Sue, we really enjoyed our stay with you and hope to come back one day.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shepd1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Shep1928

Thank you - This really is a charming,warm and very flattering review. Andrew and I were delighted with your thoughtful comments about your stay at Millgate. The observations about the facilities and your thoughts about us were lovely.

We are delighted to have made such a good impression. We really loved having you both as guests and we are thrilled that you are going to return. We really enjoyed your company and look forward to your next visit.

Love and Best Wishes
Sue & Andrew Burrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vevey, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We felt very welcome by Sue and Andrew in their lovely house. The bedrooms were very comfortable and their set up was ideal for our family. We loved the delicious breakfast in the "jail". We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Sophie K
It was so kind of you to take the time to write about your visit to Masham. Thank you. Having you and your lovely family to stay at Millgate was our pleasure. We value your highly recommended comment too.

You were our first guests from Switzerland and I am pleased that you enjoyed the Tresse au Beurre loaf I made for your breakfast.

KIndest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had a wonderful weekend, couldn't have been looked after any better. Everything was first class. Sue can certainly cook and bake. The scones on arrival were to die for. Breakfast was superb didn't need anything else to eat until the evening and when we came back in chocolates on pillow. The room was beautiful with tea coffee and biscuits any time you wanted them. Sue and Andrew really looked after us and made us feel very welcome. We have stayed in 5 star hotels who could learn lessons from them. We have already told friends at work about you and we will certainly be back to visit again, a weekend was certainly not enough

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Debbie K
We can't thank you enough for this review. Andrew and I are so happy to have made such a good impression. Your comments about the scone and breakfasts are greatly appreciated. The 5 star accolade was a real surprise.

Thank you for passing on your comments to friends at work.
The best news is that you are coming back to stay. Our new Millgate Double will be ready for your return should you wish to try it. (The brand new King Sized bed is soooo comfortable).

Love to you both
Sue & Andrew Burrell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed at this wonderful bed & breakfast in September and you cannot fault it. The attention to detail such as fresh scones and preserves on arrival and the best breakfast I have had in a long time will have me returning again. The owners of this lovely place which is in the centre of the lovely village of Masham made us so welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellers700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Travellers700

Thank you very much for remembering us with this fantastic review. It really makes us feel happy to receive reviews from guests who tell us what they liked about their stay.

We are really pleased to hear that you loved the scones and breakfasts and that you are coming back to stay in lovely Masham again.

We are looking forward to your return

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hemel hempstead
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

A wonderful B&B – 5 star luxury. We had a wonderful 3 nights at Millgate. The rooms have everything you need inc hair dryer, iron, tea & coffee making facilities with fresh milk. Comfortable beds too!

Sue and Andrew are lovely hosts. We were greeted with freshly baked scones – delicious. The breakfasts were lovely too – fruit, cereal, cooked breakfast and a special every day. Ours were pancakes and bacon, scrambled eggs with chorizo/pork mini meatballs and trout – freshly caught by Andrew. Also a different type of freshly baked roll every morning too!

Masham and the surrounding area is beautiful and so much to do. 3 days was not enough and we will definitely be back for a full week soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tilloj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Tiloj

What a 5 Star review - Thank you very much. So glad that your stay was a success. We really enjoyed having you all and we hope to see you again as there is loads to do and a week in Wensleydale is a real tonic.

The comments about your breakfasts and the scones are very much appreciated. I have been trying some new bread recipes this week and the feedback has been terrific. I will have more tasty speciality dishes to surprise you with when you return.

Loads of love to your family
Sue & Andrew Burrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masham
1.1 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
18.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Fearby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel Masham
0.2 mi away
Bank Villa
Bank Villa
#2 of 7 in Masham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millgate Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millgate Bed & Breakfast

Property: Millgate Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5 Millgate, Masham HG4 4EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Masham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Millgate Bed & Breakfast we provide 3 lovely letting bedrooms for our guests with luxurious beds and high-quality bedding. Our Award Winning Breakfasts are cooked to order and served with freshly baked bread. Our guests receive all sorts of little extras; a sociable welcome with complimentary refreshments on arrival, chilled and filtered water and fresh milk for beverages, serviced rooms, conversation, views, a peaceful and quiet location, advice and guidance on the best places to visit, plus flat screen TV, Internet access etc. All presented in a unique, Grade 2 listed historic family home which is both characterful and idiosyncratic and run with painstaking attention to detail. Quite simply a joy to stay in which is why we receive 100% Excellent reviews from our guests. Come and try Millgate for yourself. Walking distance to all the pubs and restaurants,yards from Masham's historic Market Place with its galleries, shops, cafes and restaurants and a short walk to Theakston and Black Sheep Breweries. Lovely riverside walks just off Millgate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Millgate Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millgate Bed & Breakfast Masham, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing