We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A completely "5 Blob" experience!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Millgate Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Masham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Everything about our stay in Millgate was perfect....apart from the weather, but we can't hold our perfect hosts, Sue and Andrew, responsible for that!! We had a lovely warm welcome on Friday afternoon with delicious home-made scones. Our bedroom, the Millgate, was beautifully decorated and very warm, cosy and quiet. The breakfast on both mornings was outstanding - the specials were great (Mark had the mushroom and cheese omelette and I had the American pancakes.) The mixed fresh fruit was a particular favourite of mine. We took the leftover home-baked rolls on our walk - delicious! (In fact, Sue filled them with cheese and marmalade which was even nicer!) Sue and Andrew really do run one of the best B&Bs in the world - we can vouch for that and we'll be back. Thank you for a lovely stay :-)

Room Tip: We were in the Millgate which is a big, lovely room and a very nice shower in the bathroom. Next tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatieScarlettLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear KatieScarlettLeeds

How wonderful that you had the full 5 blob experience at Millgate B&B. (For the uninitiated that means 5 stars on Tripadvisor!). You were such fun and we are thrilled that you had such a splendid time.

It was nice for us to share the experience of celebrating our Tripadvisor Travellers Choice Award 2014 - TOP 10 B&B's AND INNS IN THE WORLD.

You comments about the scones and breakfasts were really appreciated. I will make sure you get the Masham double en suite with the big bath next time you book with us. Feedback from our guests is really important to us and your feedback was lovely.

Hope to see you both again very soon.
Best wishes
Sue & Andrew Burrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 715 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

Myself and my husband stayed here on the night of 21st January 2014.......and what a time to arrive. Sue and Andrew were very excited and celebrating their Trip Advisor Award, No 9 in the World Bed and Breakfast category, another award to add to their growing list. Sue and Andrew gave us a lovely welcome into their home. Fresh scones tea and coffee were ready for our arrival, they were delicious. We stayed in the Millgate Double room and it was beautifully furbished. The shower room is excellent, we loved the shower. The bed is pure luxury, we slept soundly and comfortably all night. The breakfast was beautifully laid out, lots of choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, toast and freshly made, warm from the oven, HOMEMADE BREAD, ours were honey, walnut and fig rolls, absolutely delicious. We decided to have the Award winning Yorkshire breakfast and it is lovely. Sue and Andrew said that Calendar TV were coming to film them and asked if we would give a guest review, we were happy to do this. Their B and B is a beautiful little gem, Sue and Andrew are wonderful hosts and we will definitely be returning. Thank you Sue and Andrew for your hospitality x

Room Tip: The Millgate Double is a fabulous room and the bed is so comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tishwish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Tishwish
Thank you for your superb review of your brief but exciting stay at Millgate. Your comments were thoughtful and generous. So happy that you loved the brand new Millgate Double en suite. The bed is super comfy.

Who'd have thought that you would end up as a TV star being interviewed on camera about your first visit to Millgate B&B?

When you arrived, Andrew and I had only just found out that we were winners of Tripadvisors TOP 10 B&B's and INNS IN THE WORLD, EUROPE AND THE UK.

Thank you for staying to film your interview with Yorkshire TV. You are a natural star. The programme was seen in at least 4 regions in the North of England so you are really famous. We were delighted to share the celebrations with you both.

Next time you visit we will impose a media ban so that you can enjoy the peace and quiet.

Our all love and best wishes
Sue & Andrew Burrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Was bought a trip to this B and B as a gift for my birthday, with a ticket to the black sheep brewery. I write this review with some hesitation, not because of any faults but dont want too many people to discover it!!
On arrival we received a very warm welcome from the hosts and shown to our beautiful room and presented with our welcome scones.
The room was immaculately decorated, spotlessly clean and very spacious and comfortable. The bed was soft but very comfortable, we had a great nights sleep which is unusual for us.
The bathroom was also spotless and had a large, powerful shower.
The breakfast was delicious, and one of the best breakfasts we have had. The home made bread was accompanied by the choice of fruit, yoghurts, cereals, fruit juice and full "yorkshire" breakfast. I thoroughly recommend the full breakfast, the local butchers provide some lovely sausage and bacon and it is all cooked to perfection. The option of filter coffee rather than instant was a great start to the day.
Following breakfast we chatted with our hosts and were provided with some choices of local walks to do to walk off our calories and Sue kindly gave us some home made bread to take with us.
The accomodation , food and hospitality provided by Sue and Andrew is second to none, but dont tell too many people!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scarboroughtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Scarboroughtraveller

Well the cat is well and truly out of the bag. After reading your review visitors know all about the great facilities: the new Millgate room, the comfy bed, the powerful new Burlington shower, the complimentary scones and the locally sourced breakfasts and they have you to thank.

Thank you for this marvellous review. We are thrilled that we made a good impression and that your present was such a success.

Hopefully we shall be able to welcome you back to Masham soon. You have yet to visit Theakston's Brewery and maybe you would enjoy a walk through the breathtakingly beautiful Hackfall Woods.

All our best wishes to a lovely couple
Sue & Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We enjoyed a lovely stay here as a Christmas present, sue and Andrew made us feel very welcome, the scones were gorgeous and unexpected! Breakfast was beautifully made to order and the room was superb. Recommend this to anyone

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Heather M
Thank you for your review - you could have hardly got your coats off before writing it and it is very much appreciated.

We are very pleased that your Christmas present was a success. Thank you for the recommendation and for your lovely praise about the scones, your room and our breakfasts.

We hope that you will return to visit Masham soon and wish you both the very best.
Sue & Andrew Burrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed last weekend and found the accommodation, food and hospitality to be of a very high standard. Lovely large bedroom with period décor; snug and warm too. The shower room was excellent with large shower and good lighting. Sue and Andrew are wonderful hosts and create a hearty Yorkshire breakfast with the all important home-made bread (plus scones on arrival).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank razzybintheplacetobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear Razzybintheplacetobe

Thank you for your review. Your comments about the very high standards for our accommodation, food and hospitality and the excellent brand new shower room were very much appreciated.

Our brand new Millgate Superior Double with it's fabulous king sized bed has been a huge success and your feedback about the space and comfort of the room were lovely.

We are pleased that you highlighted the scones, the home-made bread and the Award Winning Breakfasts and hope that you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed having you both.

Kind regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My husband and I stayed the weekend before Christmas and Millgate was the perfect retreat from a chaotic life. Sue and Andrew made us feel extremely welcome and provided a wealth of local information, not to mention a fabulous breakfast with home made buns, local fare and copious amounts of tea and coffee. There is a feeling of total peace and serenity, quiet and calm. if you are hesitating about booking - don't!! get in quick!! Thanks sue and Andrew.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lottie009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Lottie009
We both want to thank you for the Magnificent accolade. We are flattered that you enjoyed the peace and quiet here in lovely Masham.

Andrew raised his eyebrows about the peace and serenity, quiet and calm and said he would like a bit of that for himself. I'm afraid that I work my darling husband rather hard behind the scenes so he has gone fishing for a few hours as I was feeling guilty.

Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to your return for some more R & R.
Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We have stayed for one night the day before our wedding! After a long drive from Aberdeen it was the perfect place to relax!!! Very welcoming and friendly hosts! Amazing deco and our room was fantastic !!! Fantastic breakfast!!!
We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Aga M
Congratulations on your wedding and a huge thank you for finding the time to write about your stay.You were so complimentary about everything.

We are delighted that you plan to visit Masham again. Our new Millgate double en suite is perfect for newly-weds. Andrew and I hope that you are enjoying married life and look forward to your return.
Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masham
1.1 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
23.0 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,035 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bank Villa
Bank Villa
#3 of 7 in Masham
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel Masham
0.1 mi away
The Bay Horse
The Bay Horse
#2 of 7 in Masham
418 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Fearby
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millgate Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millgate Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5 Millgate, Masham HG4 4EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Masham
Price Range: £68 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Millgate Bed & Breakfast we provide 3 lovely letting bedrooms for our guests with luxurious beds and high-quality bedding. Our Award Winning Breakfasts are cooked to order and served with freshly baked bread. Our guests receive all sorts of little extras; a sociable welcome with complimentary refreshments on arrival, chilled and filtered water and fresh milk for beverages, serviced rooms, conversation, views, a peaceful and quiet location, advice and guidance on the best places to visit, plus flat screen TV, Internet access etc. All presented in a unique, Grade 2 listed historic family home which is both characterful and idiosyncratic and run with painstaking attention to detail. Quite simply a joy to stay in which is why we receive Excellent reviews from our guests. Come and try Millgate for yourself. Walking distance to all the pubs and restaurants,yards from Masham's historic Market Place with its galleries, shops, cafes and restaurants and a short walk to Theakston and Black Sheep Breweries. Lovely riverside walks just off Millgate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Millgate Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millgate Bed & Breakfast Masham, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing