We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Millgate Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Masham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Birthday surprise”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

I booked Millgate as a surprise night away for my partners 30th birthday. It had the best reviews and excellent recommendations. We were not disappointed. Sue was amazing, our fresh scones on arrival were so hot she burnt her fingers and boy does she know how to bake !! Great knowledge of Masham and surrounding towns and places to visit in Yorkshire. Fresh baked bread buns and locally sourced produce for breakfast were delicious. We even chilled our Champagne for our return. There was a comprehensive file of bars and restaurants with up to date menus as well as places to visit in the room . We booked the double en suite which was adorable very comfy bed. Excellent location right off the market square. We will definitely be visiting again and taking our friends.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank littlebrowndo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear LittleBrowndo
Your review of your stay at Millgate is wonderful and Andrew and I want to thank you for being so generous with your praise. We are pleased that you enjoyed celebrating in Masham and flattered that you are going to return with friends.

It is lovely when guests write so kindly about their experiences. Come back soon now you know where we are as your stay was not long enough to see everything Masham and Wensleydale has to offer.

Best wishes
Sue & Andrew.

P.S. I have found my oven gloves so no more burnt fingers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
54
524
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

At risk of repeating previous reviewers, the warm welcome with yummy scones, beautifully presented room and delicious Yorkshire cooked breakfast with homemade bread rolls hot from the oven just put the icing on the cake for our trip to Masham!! Well done Sue and Andrew, it was great to meet you! M&C.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestYorks74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear West Yorks 74
What a FAB review - Thank you from both of us. We are really pleased to have made such a good impression and we loved your review.

I was also impressed that you wasted no time posting the review of your short break in lovely Masham. We really do appreciate all our reviews and the kindness of our reviewers in sharing their experiences for the benefit of other visitors.

I hope we can welcome you back to Masham in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Sue & Andrew Burrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

All reviews on tripadvisor back up our experience of our stay at Millgate. Sue and Andrew really made us feel welcome with their conversation, cosy accommodation and delightful breakfasts. We felt very at home- so much so- that ended up taking the key back with us!

Room Tip: We had the twin room (the other 2 were booked up) which has a separate bathroom. Only a few metres a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Rachy W
How lovely to be called "Home from home" - Thank you. Andrew and I are very pleased that you felt so at ease in Millgate. Thank you for posting back the key.

We hope that you will come back and stay when the weather is brighter. The sun has been shining all day today and at the moment the sky is a glorious orange and red making the trees look golden.

Hope to see you both again in lovely Masham
Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I have never rated on TripAdvisor before but the Millgate deserves to be recognised. It was everything you could ask for.....super clean, super friendly, fab fresh local food, and nothing too much trouble. Sue and Andrew reserve all the accolades that are coming their way!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0sy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Rosy
For your first review this was wonderful - Thank you very much.
Andrew and I were delighted with your "super clean, super friendly, fab fresh local foods" comments.
We try very hard to make every guest feel welcomed and special and we love feedback like yours as it reassures us that we are doing the right thing.

Next time you are visiting Masham we hope to see you both back at Millgate.

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellerker, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Sue and Andrew are the perfect hosts, exceptional is not over the top for the service and food delivered at this B&B. We love Masham and generally stay at the Kings Head but couldnt get in and book the Millgate instead. We were not disappointed! The room was spotless, fresh flowers, scones on arrival and the breakfast specials second to none. We would highly recommend but suggest you book early as the recent award will make this B&B very popular. Thank you Sue and Andrew for a lovely stay and look forward to returning soon..

Room Tip: Try the Black Sheep restaurant for eating out, great food!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian210463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Julian
We have a lot to live up to after your marvellous review - Thank you very much.

Andrew and I appreciate the reviews that guests write after their stay for two reasons. The first is that guest reviews are a genuine response to their experience at Millgate and they help us by providing feedback. The second reason is that guest reviews help others to decide where to stay when coming to Masham for the first time.

Guest reviews have placed us in the top 10 B&B's and Inns in the world and we are very grateful Julian for your lovely feedback. We are delighted that you plan to return to Millgate B&B and look forward to your visit.

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Came up for my wife's 30th birthday. Welcomed very highly with home made scones and a black sheep hamper. Rooms were very high quality. Sue and Andrew were very knowledges of the area and great hosts. The breakfasts were great freshly made bread rolls with different flavours, different special each morning we were there. Breakfast filled you up.
Brilliant place and will return.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Jonathan
Thank you for your brilliant review and we are pleased to hear that you plan to return. You were such good company.

So glad you liked the Hamper filled with Black Sheep goodies that you asked us to prepare for L's Surprise Birthday. There is loads more for you see and do in and around Masham and we look forward to sharing our local knowledge on your next visit.

Sue & Andrew Burrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Superb weekend at millgate house. Excellent welcome, superb facilities, excellent attention to detail and great recommendations for local attractions.
The breakfast is sublime - from freshly baked artisan bread to local produce to daily specials all cooked to order.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicandoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Nic and Oli
Thank you for your amazing review. You have kindly highlighted everything at Millgate B&B that you loved and we are both very grateful.

We are particularly proud of the "Sublime" accolade for breakfast. We really enjoy thinking of different Breakfast specials and take care to use only the best locally sourced ingredients for our Award winning breakfasts and the freshly baked rolls we serve to guests each morning.

Do come back again soon as there are so many wonderful walks in the area for you to try.

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masham
1.1 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
8.1 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel Masham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bank Villa
Bank Villa
#3 of 7 in Masham
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bay Horse
The Bay Horse
#2 of 7 in Masham
381 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Fearby
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millgate Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millgate Bed & Breakfast

Property: Millgate Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5 Millgate, Masham HG4 4EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Masham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Millgate Bed & Breakfast we provide 3 lovely letting bedrooms for our guests with luxurious beds and high-quality bedding. Our Award Winning Breakfasts are cooked to order and served with freshly baked bread. Our guests receive all sorts of little extras; a sociable welcome with complimentary refreshments on arrival, chilled and filtered water and fresh milk for beverages, serviced rooms, conversation, views, a peaceful and quiet location, advice and guidance on the best places to visit, plus flat screen TV, Internet access etc. All presented in a unique, Grade 2 listed historic family home which is both characterful and idiosyncratic and run with painstaking attention to detail. Quite simply a joy to stay in which is why we receive Excellent reviews from our guests. Come and try Millgate for yourself. Walking distance to all the pubs and restaurants,yards from Masham's historic Market Place with its galleries, shops, cafes and restaurants and a short walk to Theakston and Black Sheep Breweries. Lovely riverside walks just off Millgate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Millgate Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millgate Bed & Breakfast Masham, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing